We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing place we stayed in a month of Greek island hopping!!”
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The most amazing place we stayed in a month of Greek island hopping!!”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My wife and I spent the month of September in Greece - three nights in a great hotel in Athens - views of the Hill of Wolves AND the Acropolis -, four in a brilliant hotel on Hydra, eight days in another brilliant pace on Mykonos, three in a good hotel on Paros BUT #1 Old Oia Houses was by far the best - of a great group of hotels. The owner, Vassilis, was wonderfully friendly and helpful, as was Petros, the restaurant manager. Our cleaner, Anna, was an absolute joy and kept the place absolutely spotless. We even fell for Figo, V's dog, who was there to greet us almost daily.
The views are absolutely marvellous. Oia is the gem of Santorini - and Old Oia Houses are the jewel in Oia's crown!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padurafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    51
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
136
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We weren't disappointed, even after all the great reviews! Old Oia Houses is a fabulous place to stay for the character and view, and the location in Oia is great. The owner, Gill was very helpful. He and his wife also run Lotza restaurant. We were a minute away from the sunset viewing area. We spent a lot of time at our room (no. 1) as it was so scenic.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oziMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Really love Old Oia Houses ... it made our Santorini experience unforgettable!!

Good bits:
- Waking up to the view of the Caldera each morning - I have never in my life seen a view like that - truly breathtaking
- The privacy of the terrace - you sense the hoards of tourists arriving in Oia, but thanks to the terrace you can avoid them and still enjoy the beauty of Santorini
- Wonderful Anna who brought us fresh bread each morning

Some bad bits:
- There was a lot of mould in the cupboard of the back bedroom of the triple-share - not healthy and room smelled awful when the door was closed
- Our shower (in the double room) was a 'shoilet' - handheld shower right next to the toilet (i.e. no curtain etc to separate from toilet). Noticed my parents and sister had a proper shower in the triple room next door, so I was able to pop around whenever I needed to use it ...
- the door at the top of the steps was tricky to open with the key provided

But overall - great value for money given how expensive Santorini is .... would also recommend Lotza restaurant - food was delicious and view also spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank its_about_glamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Wonderful location on the side of the cliff overlooking the Caldera. We stayed in a traditional cave house close to restaurants and shops and sunset viewing areas. We were made very welcome by owners and Anna who cleaned our house each day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0leJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Old Oia Houses was a great value on Santorini. We discovered this place after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were very pleased. About one and a half months before leaving for Greece, I contacted Old Oia Houses from their website and inquired about a house with a Caldera view. They responded almost immediately that they had one available and that I could reserve it by replying to their email … that’s it, no deposit or credit card required. They only requested that I re-confirm our reservation about two weeks before our departure for Greece and that I pay in cash upon arrival. When I re-confirmed, they sent me directions to the Lotza restaurant, where we were to check-in. When we arrived, we were shown our house, which was a short walk from Lotza Restaurant. Our house was one of about five units within a larger building and we had a patio, small kitchen with refrigerator and burner, bedroom, and a nice-sized bathroom with shower. Our house faced the caldera and we had a beautiful sunset every evening; in fact, many people came to our part of the town to watch the sunset. We opted not to have breakfast delivered to our house in the morning, but to go to the adjacent Oia Mare complex, which is apparently owned by the same people, and to have breakfast on their patio. We were also allowed to use the swimming pool at Oia Mare, which was a bonus!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mawllms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Santorini and Oia in particular was a place I always dreamt of going to. Finding the right hotel therefor was very important to me. Old oia houses had everything we were looking for; a stunning view from our balcony where you feel as though you are at the top of the world, a beautiful, traditional, clean studio all to ourselves as well as the privacy of our own space. It fulfilled all our needs and its most attractive asset? - unbelievable value; the rate per night was extremely reasonable compared to other hotels we looked up in Oia which offered the same facilities. The owners were extremely friendly and polite and when we faced a problem with one of the cash machines the owners were more than willing to solve our problem and make sure we were satisfied with everything . Moreover, sweet anna the cleaner brought us fresh bread every morning and made sure our room was always clean as well as helping us with any other enquiries we had. Old Oia Houses definitely is the place to be in Oia and has managed to keep the traditional element alive whilst supporting all the modern needs such as air-conditioning and a basic equipped kitchenette. We had the experience of a lifetime in Oia primarily thanks to Old Oia Houses which sent us off with a promise to return again next summer!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I recently returned from our honeymoon in Europe. We planned to stay with Old Oia houses three nights and reserved a honeymoon suite( specific house with spirial staircase, rooftop deck) through my internet research We arrived at the restaurant and were taken by Anna (housekeeper) to our room. The cave house was more like a studio than a house (#5). We went back to the restaurant to chat with the owner about this small accommodation for the last days of our honeymoon. A manager at the restaurant after calling the owners (not in OIa, in FIra and Athens) stated that since there was a mistake in the reservation (honeymoon suite) we could stay for free. My husband agreed to pay but was told it was free because of their mistake. Despite the tiny studio bat cave, the evening on the small balcony was amazing and private!! the bread we were brought in the morning was unique and a nice gesture!!
day 2: we get a message in the mornng from Anna that the BOss wanted to talk to us in the restaurant. We trekked up the stairs only to meet the restaurant manager (not owner) who told us that we now had to pay for the room because it was our mistake not theirs, they had to switch our room at the last minute, etc. He was mean, inflexible, and kept saying "what is the problem?." My husband was irate as he offered to pay for the room the day before, however, was told that was not appropriate as the hotel made a mistake. now, it was flipped and we were hassled to pay the three nights with the man threatening to call the police if we did not (when we told him what was decided the day before by another "manager").. The lack of honesty as well as disrespect to us as a honeymooning couple willing to pay for a much smaller room than promised was huge. We paid the first night, then stayed at best western for the rest of the time (which had a pool, larger cave room, and modern bathroom, only 9 rooms in the whole place). The larger cave houses from OOH are probably great, however, please beware of the poor customer service and the hotel's ability to change your reservation anytime. There seems to be some shady business going on with the OOH and restaurant as the owners were never around or available to speak to, only messages sent through restaurant workers.
view was great, experience with the hotel was awful..you also have to walk about 5 minutes to view the sunset as OOH are on the caldera/volcano view side.

The accomodation was very small compared to other houses I viewed while in Oia and on the internet. So beware of the house you are requesting. They are all numbered, however, no system of viewing the number of the house before arriving in OIa. .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soulsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oia Mansion
Oia Mansion
#39 of 56 in Oia
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.0 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
0.0 mi away
Chroma Suites
Chroma Suites
#14 of 34 in Oia
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Property: Old Oia Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Oia's Houses)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing