We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view for an affordable price”
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Staying on Santorini, I wanted a Caldera view and this was one of the most afforable options available. The view from the private balony was absolutely breathtaking. We stayed for three nights and could easily have spent a week.

The room was simple, but clean. The tv only has Greek channels, but why would you watch tv when you have Oia just outside your door? I was glad of our light packs, since it is quite a steep climb down to the accomodation from the street.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jzantuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Old Oia Houses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel is a great bet if you are looking for a place on the caldera. It is the least expensive that I came up with, yet outside your door is the main (shopping) street of Oia and from your balcony are the beautiful views of the cliffs of the caldera and the sea below. The kitchen was sufficiently equipped (even a Bodum for coffee) and some breakfast fixings were included. Fresh bakery bread delivered to the door in the mornings. The staff was wonderful, even offering to take responsibility for mailing us a lost item ( we luckily found the item and didn't need their assistance). It was almost impossible to stop photographing the views from the balcony so bring a large memory card.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricksharottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We had a fantastic stay at our “apartment” overseen by Old Oia Houses. It was located right off the main walking street. Our balcony, where we had breakfast every morning and dessert at night, had a spectacular view of Oia and the Caldera. These aren’t luxury accommodations – the apartment was simple, but absolutely charming. Wood shutters darkened the room, and a set of shelves and a small wardrobe provided an adequate amount of storage space. The “kitchen” consisted of a sink, a small (but powerful) refrigerator w/freezer, dishes, a drying rack, and an electric kettle. There was a small burner that could be plugged in, but I wouldn’t plan on trying to make too much on it. I found it a bit disgusting that there was no hot water in the kitchen for washing dishes, though. Air conditioning worked well. No English language tv stations and no phones in the room. Bathroom was acceptable, though a shower curtain would have been a welcome addition. We were asked to turn on the hot water heater only when showering and to turn it off afterwards. The fresh bread delivered each morning was tasty and coffee/tea, juice, and spreads were provided. That plus yogurt and fruit we bought ourselves made for a wonderful breakfast – made even better by the breathtaking view.

We strongly recommend that future guests make arrangements for checking out upon arrival. We had a terrible experience, which I will not elaborate on since it was resolved, but it was entirely avoidable if Gil had discussed our departure plans with us when we first arrived. Also, try to pack as lightly as possible. It’s a long walk from the parking area to the apartments on cobblestone streets and up and down stairs!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We decided to come to Santorini - and stay in Oia in particular - on the recommendation of my bro & sis-in-law , who first visited here 30 years ago, and came again two summers ago with their two teenaged daughters. We could not have been happier with the destination, nor happier with our choice of accommodations at the Old Oia Houses. Many people describe the village of Oia as the most fabulous place they have visited on the planet, and I would be hard-pressed to argue with that. 'OOH' is located in the middle of it all, a few steps away from the motor-less walkway filled with cafes, tavernas, restaurants, shops and endless surreal vistas of other portions of the island, the 'caldera' (water-filled volcano crater), and the crystalline Mediterranean. Though not plush or fancy, our little villa was cozy, well appointed and a great value, and we were always happy to return 'home' after one of our many Santorini excursions, of which there are countless. You can't go wrong in choosing Santorini for a holiday, nor OOH as home-base in Oia…unless you're looking for 5-star. If you can, come in April, May, June or September; avoid July and August re. crowds and heat. Mid-to-late April, you will find the island awash is blankets of blooms. Again, surreal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liveventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My wife and I spent the month of September in Greece - three nights in a great hotel in Athens - views of the Hill of Wolves AND the Acropolis -, four in a brilliant hotel on Hydra, eight days in another brilliant pace on Mykonos, three in a good hotel on Paros BUT #1 Old Oia Houses was by far the best - of a great group of hotels. The owner, Vassilis, was wonderfully friendly and helpful, as was Petros, the restaurant manager. Our cleaner, Anna, was an absolute joy and kept the place absolutely spotless. We even fell for Figo, V's dog, who was there to greet us almost daily.
The views are absolutely marvellous. Oia is the gem of Santorini - and Old Oia Houses are the jewel in Oia's crown!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padurafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We weren't disappointed, even after all the great reviews! Old Oia Houses is a fabulous place to stay for the character and view, and the location in Oia is great. The owner, Gill was very helpful. He and his wife also run Lotza restaurant. We were a minute away from the sunset viewing area. We spent a lot of time at our room (no. 1) as it was so scenic.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oziMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Really love Old Oia Houses ... it made our Santorini experience unforgettable!!

Good bits:
- Waking up to the view of the Caldera each morning - I have never in my life seen a view like that - truly breathtaking
- The privacy of the terrace - you sense the hoards of tourists arriving in Oia, but thanks to the terrace you can avoid them and still enjoy the beauty of Santorini
- Wonderful Anna who brought us fresh bread each morning

Some bad bits:
- There was a lot of mould in the cupboard of the back bedroom of the triple-share - not healthy and room smelled awful when the door was closed
- Our shower (in the double room) was a 'shoilet' - handheld shower right next to the toilet (i.e. no curtain etc to separate from toilet). Noticed my parents and sister had a proper shower in the triple room next door, so I was able to pop around whenever I needed to use it ...
- the door at the top of the steps was tricky to open with the key provided

But overall - great value for money given how expensive Santorini is .... would also recommend Lotza restaurant - food was delicious and view also spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank its_about_glamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.0 mi away
Oia Mansion
Oia Mansion
#39 of 56 in Oia
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
0.6 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.0 mi away
Chroma Suites
Chroma Suites
#18 of 34 in Oia
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Address: Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Oia's Houses)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing