We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed at Old oia house for 6 nights in October. Being the end of tourist season it was great. Not so many people walking around, very quiet and comfortable stay. We spent many nights on the terrace sipping wine and enjoying the fabulous view. We would recomend this place to anyone seeking total relaxation and experience Santorini at it's best....again think of going in low season if possible you will not regret it.
Tammy and John from Canada
Many thanks to Jill and Vassil

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondieQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at OOH and we could not have made a better choice. It was even more then we could have imagined. We stayed in the "Venetian House" which is one of their larger rooms off of the main walkway and we were very comfortable. The view from our verandahs was priceless and we could not get enough of it, it was peaceful and beautiful. The location has to be one of the best in Oia as it was in the center of all. Restaurants, shopping, cafes (free wi-fi at the cafe to the left with purchase of a coffee), ATM's, etc all right out your door. The owners Gil and Vasilis are very nice people and do their best to make sure you are comfortable. We did have a couple minor issues come up, but we understand that some things don't always go as planned and we tend to "go with the flow". As others have stated, this is not 4 or 5 star accomodations, but it definitely gives you what we were looking for - a close to authentic Greek experience with views you could not pay enough for - we would stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to be able to come back to Santorini. So, if you want to be in the center of it all, have comfortable accomadations, a view beyond description, and rates that are so reasonable - do yourself a favor - stay at OOH. Thank you for helping to make my dream trip to Santorini something I will treasure always.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed 3 nights in one of the larger houses on our honeymoon. If luxury, a posh pool and silly prices (and watching TV !!!) are your thing then you should look elsewhere. If, on the other hand, staying in a lovely old house with the best view in Oia is more important, then book one of these houses, a haven from the hustle and bustle of Oia just a few yards away from your front door. We had a wonderful time.
One tip - the prices are negotiable off-season.

Mike and Julia

PS.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank argyle_mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Staying on Santorini, I wanted a Caldera view and this was one of the most afforable options available. The view from the private balony was absolutely breathtaking. We stayed for three nights and could easily have spent a week.

The room was simple, but clean. The tv only has Greek channels, but why would you watch tv when you have Oia just outside your door? I was glad of our light packs, since it is quite a steep climb down to the accomodation from the street.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jzantuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel is a great bet if you are looking for a place on the caldera. It is the least expensive that I came up with, yet outside your door is the main (shopping) street of Oia and from your balcony are the beautiful views of the cliffs of the caldera and the sea below. The kitchen was sufficiently equipped (even a Bodum for coffee) and some breakfast fixings were included. Fresh bakery bread delivered to the door in the mornings. The staff was wonderful, even offering to take responsibility for mailing us a lost item ( we luckily found the item and didn't need their assistance). It was almost impossible to stop photographing the views from the balcony so bring a large memory card.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricksharottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We had a fantastic stay at our “apartment” overseen by Old Oia Houses. It was located right off the main walking street. Our balcony, where we had breakfast every morning and dessert at night, had a spectacular view of Oia and the Caldera. These aren’t luxury accommodations – the apartment was simple, but absolutely charming. Wood shutters darkened the room, and a set of shelves and a small wardrobe provided an adequate amount of storage space. The “kitchen” consisted of a sink, a small (but powerful) refrigerator w/freezer, dishes, a drying rack, and an electric kettle. There was a small burner that could be plugged in, but I wouldn’t plan on trying to make too much on it. I found it a bit disgusting that there was no hot water in the kitchen for washing dishes, though. Air conditioning worked well. No English language tv stations and no phones in the room. Bathroom was acceptable, though a shower curtain would have been a welcome addition. We were asked to turn on the hot water heater only when showering and to turn it off afterwards. The fresh bread delivered each morning was tasty and coffee/tea, juice, and spreads were provided. That plus yogurt and fruit we bought ourselves made for a wonderful breakfast – made even better by the breathtaking view.

We strongly recommend that future guests make arrangements for checking out upon arrival. We had a terrible experience, which I will not elaborate on since it was resolved, but it was entirely avoidable if Gil had discussed our departure plans with us when we first arrived. Also, try to pack as lightly as possible. It’s a long walk from the parking area to the apartments on cobblestone streets and up and down stairs!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We decided to come to Santorini - and stay in Oia in particular - on the recommendation of my bro & sis-in-law , who first visited here 30 years ago, and came again two summers ago with their two teenaged daughters. We could not have been happier with the destination, nor happier with our choice of accommodations at the Old Oia Houses. Many people describe the village of Oia as the most fabulous place they have visited on the planet, and I would be hard-pressed to argue with that. 'OOH' is located in the middle of it all, a few steps away from the motor-less walkway filled with cafes, tavernas, restaurants, shops and endless surreal vistas of other portions of the island, the 'caldera' (water-filled volcano crater), and the crystalline Mediterranean. Though not plush or fancy, our little villa was cozy, well appointed and a great value, and we were always happy to return 'home' after one of our many Santorini excursions, of which there are countless. You can't go wrong in choosing Santorini for a holiday, nor OOH as home-base in Oia…unless you're looking for 5-star. If you can, come in April, May, June or September; avoid July and August re. crowds and heat. Mid-to-late April, you will find the island awash is blankets of blooms. Again, surreal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liveventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#32 of 58 in Oia
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.7 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#48 of 58 in Oia
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Address: Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Oia's Houses)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#6 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £35 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing