We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room with spectatular view”
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful room with spectatular view”
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Old Oia Houses was one of the highlights of our stay in Europe and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Santorini.

The room itself is lovely, with pristine white double bed opening up to a private balcony. The view out to sea and to the island from the balcony is spectacular. The balcony has a small table and chairs so you can eat all your meals looking out to the view.

The room has lots of windows and wood panelling and flooring, making it light and bright. It is spacious and clean and fully equipped with everything you will need during your stay. It has air con for those hotter island days.

There is a kitchenette, equipped with a hotplate, fridge and a sink. Perfect for preparing a few little treats to eat on the balcony! The bathroom is located on the floor above, up quite a steep staircase. It is spacious and clean. There is another balcony, at the very top shared between the other rooms. We didn’t see anyone else the entire time we were there. Again, the view was amazing.

Each morning, the house maid, Anna, leaves fresh bread at your door. Butter, spreads, water, honey and juice are all supplied for you. Anna was lovely and very helpful. The house was spotless.

Vasilis kindly provided some advice about renting cars on the island and Gill was equally helpful. You do need to go to their restaurant, near the top of the hill, to get the key and check in. The hotel itself is not far from there, just a bit of a hike if you have heavy luggage. But there are steps and hills everywhere - that is what is expected in Santorini. The food at the restaurant is also good, one of the better places we ate at.

Given the beautiful room and the view, the price was more than reasonable. We would stay here again without hesitation. In fact, some of our relatives saw photos of the room and the view, and now want to visit Santorini and stay at Old Oia Houses!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    50
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
134
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We actually found this organization of classic old Greek homes on Trip Advisor and were stoked to deal directly with the owners versus a large corporation. After emailing to inquire about availability of houses, we heard back very rapidly and were offered a length-of-stay discount. The owners (Gille & Vasillis) were extremely pleasant to deal with!

When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to be picked up the airport by a shuttle, and though we had to pay for it, we were exhausted and happy to comply at that point. We met Gille at the restaurant she and her husband own; she took us on to the house stayed at and we were absolutely blown away by the view- our little house was directly on the cliff-side and had a patio overlooking the caldera (in fact, the view from our patio was so good that confused tourist, thinking it was a shop, kept trying to come through the gate to take photos from the patio- thankfully there was a gate and we were able to block it with the potted plant).

It was an extremely cute and quaint one bedroom + bathroom, and we were surprised to see it had been recently painted. There was a decent set of dishes, enough that we were able to eat our breakfast there every morning, and equipment for making coffee. Fresh bread is also brought by every morning by the "bread girl" as we affectionately called her.

We were delighted with our stay here and wish we would have spent our second week here instead of moving on to Mykonos, but we'll know for next time! We did not pay for than 90 Euro per night, which we still feel was an incredible deal (though the Greek economy was kind of in the pits at the time). The food in Oia is amazing, though pricey, however, we found if you wander down to the end of the village (opposite end of the place to view the sunset) you can buy fruit, yogurt, honey, etc. for a reasonable cost.

The sunsets will definitely take your breath away, and are well worth watching. There is a restaurant that makes amazing Greek desserts (truly incredible!) directly off the stairs where everyone will be sitting watching the sunset. If you get here early, you can actually sit at the restaurant to watch the sunset, and enjoy the delightful cinnamon chocolate lava cakes- it was truly heavenly!

Also, we went on a great boat tour- most of the little travel agent offices on the edge of town will offer you a decent deal (~20-25 Euros per person). They take you out on what appears to be a giant pirate ship and you'll visit the island with the volcano on it, swim in the hot spring heated portion of the ocean directly off the island, and visit a tiny Greek island which has a great view from the top (if you dare to hike the stairs to the top- it wasn't actually that far, and well worth it!). This was a really fun day, and well worth it!

We climbed the stairs from the waterfront (where we ate and went swimming often) back up to our place in Oia quite a few times, but we indulged in the donkey ride (about 5-7 Euro) once and it was a blast! We were laughing so hard, we were in tears by the time we reached the top....

Wish we could go back today...I don't think we could have imagined a better honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steamworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Oia (pronounced "ear") is located at the northern tip of Santorini and Old Oia Houses are within a few hundred metres of the island's end. The accommodation is provided by Gill, an English lady living the dream. Communication with her was easy and immediate. The bus dropped us off close to Gill's restaurant, where we met her and were taken to our accommodation. Our unit was perched about halfway down the side of the hill overlooking the caldera. It was on the main pathway to the sunset viewing spot and right next to one of the famous blue-domed churches, so the path was very crowded at sunset, and photographers opening our gate and walking on to our patio to take a better shot were a bit obnoxious. Those minor issues aside, the room was spacious and clean, although very light in the morning. The bed was hard but not lumpy. The bathroom was not too thrilling, but we managed. Hated the local practice of putting used toilet paper in the small bin in the bathroom! Breakfast was missable - a long bread roll with butter and honey or jam, plus tea and coffee making facilities placed on our patio each morning. Our room opened on to a spacious patio with table/umbrella and chairs and spectacular view of the caldera. We spent a lot of time just sitting and watching the activity below, with cruise ships coming and going and boats of all types moving about the water. The cleaner comes in every day. The day after our arrival she spent more than an hour in our room. We asked her not to come on the following days (except to remove the toilet paper!) and she seemed pleased about that. There are plenty of restaurants close by, but the cafes about 800 metres south towards Fira are cheaper. Between Old Oia Houses and Delfini Villas, where our friends stayed, is a wide paved path lined with cafes and shops. Don't miss this walk, and check out some of the most upmarket souvenir shops in Greece. They were better than anything we saw in Athens. We thought Oia was crowded, but an American lady assured us she had never seen the place so quiet! Three nights was definitely enough. Santorini is not cheap, so we though 95 euros was reasonable. Our friends at Delfini paid 125 euros for better accommodation with shared pool (which we used) so it's clear you get what you pay for. For the traveller who is happy with no-frills accommodation in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crowsnestGnarabup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed at Old oia house for 6 nights in October. Being the end of tourist season it was great. Not so many people walking around, very quiet and comfortable stay. We spent many nights on the terrace sipping wine and enjoying the fabulous view. We would recomend this place to anyone seeking total relaxation and experience Santorini at it's best....again think of going in low season if possible you will not regret it.
Tammy and John from Canada
Many thanks to Jill and Vassil

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at OOH and we could not have made a better choice. It was even more then we could have imagined. We stayed in the "Venetian House" which is one of their larger rooms off of the main walkway and we were very comfortable. The view from our verandahs was priceless and we could not get enough of it, it was peaceful and beautiful. The location has to be one of the best in Oia as it was in the center of all. Restaurants, shopping, cafes (free wi-fi at the cafe to the left with purchase of a coffee), ATM's, etc all right out your door. The owners Gil and Vasilis are very nice people and do their best to make sure you are comfortable. We did have a couple minor issues come up, but we understand that some things don't always go as planned and we tend to "go with the flow". As others have stated, this is not 4 or 5 star accomodations, but it definitely gives you what we were looking for - a close to authentic Greek experience with views you could not pay enough for - we would stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to be able to come back to Santorini. So, if you want to be in the center of it all, have comfortable accomadations, a view beyond description, and rates that are so reasonable - do yourself a favor - stay at OOH. Thank you for helping to make my dream trip to Santorini something I will treasure always.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed 3 nights in one of the larger houses on our honeymoon. If luxury, a posh pool and silly prices (and watching TV !!!) are your thing then you should look elsewhere. If, on the other hand, staying in a lovely old house with the best view in Oia is more important, then book one of these houses, a haven from the hustle and bustle of Oia just a few yards away from your front door. We had a wonderful time.
One tip - the prices are negotiable off-season.

Mike and Julia

PS.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argyle_mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Staying on Santorini, I wanted a Caldera view and this was one of the most afforable options available. The view from the private balony was absolutely breathtaking. We stayed for three nights and could easily have spent a week.

The room was simple, but clean. The tv only has Greek channels, but why would you watch tv when you have Oia just outside your door? I was glad of our light packs, since it is quite a steep climb down to the accomodation from the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jzantuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#41 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.0 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#46 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#35 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.6 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Amoudi Villas
Amoudi Villas
#50 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Property: Old Oia Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Oia's Houses)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing