We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views & wonderful service but ...”
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We booked a honeymoon suite and had very high expectations after reading so many wonderful reviews. However we were sorely disappointed. Yes, the views are spectacular and the host is great. But the suite we had was at the very bottom of the cliff. It took approximately 58 steps to get from our room to the pool/reception area and another 66 very steep and uneven "stairs" to get to the main street. Ok, we don't really mind the exercise but the 'suite' looked dingy and old. Jacuzzi in the bathroom hadn't been used for a long time, I guess because when we tried it on, there were black residues pumping out from the outlets. After that, we just gave up using the jacuzzi. So we used the shower instead. Water leaked from underneath the tub after showering and the floor was very wet. Not much bathroom toiletries were provided also. The shampoo and shower gel was a "all-in-one" in a pump. Overall, we would advise anyone who is booking the hotel to book the rooms as advertised in their website and be prepared. Most importantly, wear shoes with good grip because we have seen people falling down.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lady-GeneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Caldera Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I hit Santorini on our honeymoon and we were pleased as punch to have stayed here. The staff was fabulous and the views were amazing. They provided breakfast every day which was delicious, and the room was spacious and clean. There was a pool (which was a must) and there were ample loungers for sunbathing. It was also in a great central location in the village which was good for accessing the whole area.
The only negative was that it was down the cliff a few minutes from the main street in Oia, which basically all the hotels are anyway. The steps can be steep and uneven, but we felt that it added to the charm of being in Santorini. It certainly gave us a great workout before heading to the main street for dinner or drinks! It was part of the fun for us, but beware of this (for ANY hotel in Santorini) if you have trouble with the your walking or climbing.

Overall though, you will be happy you chose this hotel if you decide to visit Santorini. Its located in Oia which is the best village to stay in on the island!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandAshley529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Caldera Villas are in the most beautiful part of Santorini, Oia (think every picture you've seen of Santorini... it's taken in Oia). The rooms are 'caves', meaning built into the rock. This was exactly what we were looking for, simple white traditional Greek rooms. However this does have some draw backs. As stated by others, there are lots of stairs (make sure you are greeted to take your bags down or up) and they can be rather slippery as they are traditional (meaning older).
We struggled to think if we would recommend these villas, first and foremost the view is stunning, the pool is lovely and Elena and Sam, our hosts were wonderful and very accommodating.
However there are a few things that you need to consider, one plumbing is not to western standards. We could handle tissues in a bin rather than the toilet itself however there was a very strong smell coming from the drains. We found this in two places in Oia so I couldn't tell if it was the location of the fact the same company ran both.
The other issue was the 'honeymoon' villa. There are actually several on the property with two of the being down the very bottom. These rooms are dark and gloomy and other guests have to walk through your 'private' balcony to get to their rooms. There is only one room that looks like the pictures of the honeymoon suit. If you like it, confirm it's the room you'll end up in.... we didn't. We asked to be moved and ended up above the reception in a two bedroom or more likely one bedroom with a lounge (with a double bed in it). I really liked this room, it's view, it's private balcony and it's layout was better than others. I think it was room #3.
So in summary, if something could be done about the drains and the pictures online weren't so misleading (each room is different... take pictures of them all!) I would give this 5/5.

Room Tip: Confirm the picture online is of the room you are booking.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wonderlusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Ok. So here is the deal. There are stairs. I booked this a few months ago and thought well the people who have written these reviews are probably not in the best of shape, and can't handle a few stairs. I was wrong, my apologies. There are about 65 steps to get to the hotel. However, they are big (so you have like two steps in between them) and they are not in good condition. Meaning, they are slippery (really have worn down from so much wear) they are jagged, there is nothing to hold on to when going down. At night I found myself wearing my most safe shoes, rather than my fashionable ones just so I wouldn't fall in the dark. However, once you get past the stairs, it is worth it. The view, the most incredible view I have ever seen, and that is saying a lot from the places I've been. The cave houses are not the best for people who are 6ft and over (myself and my boyf), however, we made do for our three nights. You should stay in Oia, I think better than Fira. And cmon, you won't be in the room too much, most time will be spent out and about, or just staring at the view for hours and hours (with wine, of course).

Room Tip: You might need to hunch over to get your hair wet in the shower
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KikiNYC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We have recently got back from these villas after staying here for 3 nights to celebrate the first part of our honeymoon before before moving nearer to the beach in Kamari for the rest of our stay.
We have an excellent time here, the villa we stayed in was located looking right over the Caldera- magnificent views. Our villa was very clean when we arrived and cleaned/towels changed every day. The owner was always on hand to help with any queries we may have.
There is a small pool which is ideal for cooling of in as it was very hot when we stayed,d. In Oia there are lots of restaurants, few bars and little boutiques. Expect to pay on average 50 euros for 2 course meal with local wine here. Cocktails about 10 euros each. V pretty town and well worth visiting if coming to Santorini.
We went to the view the sunset one evening, which is recommended. It gets very busy here but if you get there early can get a good spot, stunning views!
The only downside to these villas are they are located down about 100 plus steps which are very steep, especially when trying to carry luggage, but Sam who works is very helpful and will carry them for you!! We found these a struggle and we are both in late 20's, so bear this in mind if wanting to stay here as you need to active/fit especially when dealing with a 30 degree temperature in July time!! Due to the steps we only really ventured out of the villas for lunch and then again for the evening meal. If we were going to Oia again we would try and find some villa's with not as many steps!! But due to the location not sure if this is easy to be found! Overall would recommend staying here for a couples holiday, but only for a few nights!! Not really suitable for kids.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyhardisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The hotel is situated low down on the mountain as many are in Santorini. The stairs ( if you can actually call them that ) are in the worse condition of any other we saw on Santorini. I saw 3 people slip and fall, somehow I managed not to, but it was a HUGE concern. The hotel management need to attend to this, as well as the stink of sour in the bathroom. The room was full of air freshener devices. I notified the cleaning staff after the second day that they were not longer working. The staff, particularly Helena and Sam , were wonderful and are the hotels finest assets.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

From the moment we arrived the energy&enthusiasm of Helena was contagious&never altered during our week stay. All staff ready to help at anytime with friendly smiles&generousity. We had the honeymoon suite&were constantly in awe of the scenery from our room/balcony..completely breathtaking, but you must be ok with steps by the dozen & very steep! Pool area rather small&no immediate beach, but Katheros is accessible by foot(30mins) or scooter/quad bike/car...and path from Oia to Fira is now closed indefinitely due to rockfall&tourist falling to his death on donkey!!!!
Plenty of choices for restaurants&of course the sunsets are a highlight(but beware of all the cruise passengers&find a quiet spot)
Experience of a lifetime..dong miss it!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#46 of 56 in Oia
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#32 of 56 in Oia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £64 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing