We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC VIEW”
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Oia
CHERTSEY SURREY KT16 8LA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC VIEW”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Just returned from three days at Caldera Villas.
A bit pricey,but otherwise an enjoyable visit.
We were a bit surprised that the soap in the bathroom and shower was from dispensers .
The staff were marvellous,particularly Elena and Sam.
Inevitably access from the street was not easy-by way of steep stairs.
The view from our balcony (and even when lying in bed) was fantastic.
The buffet service breakfast was excellent,but only available from 9.00 am,which,if you are an early riser reduces the day.

Room Tip: Near the top if you find the stairs difficult-the hotel is on several tiers. The swimming pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HUNTERCHERTSEYSURREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    101
    59
    26
    18
See reviews for
30
240
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

if your a whiner and feel the need to complain about insignificant things then stay somewere else....beacuse this beautiful place has no room for negativity, it is the most peaceful and gorgeous place i have ever stayed. The staff make you feel as if you are at home with family.They go out of there way to make you feel at ease. Had such a great time there and will take a lifetime of memories home with us. HIghly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: junior sweet ...nice view ...nice terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhak07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at Caldera Villas for 2 nights in Oia. We can't say enough about this place! It's not a hotel, it's a traditional cave villa. To address the issues that others have commented about in defense of this hotel:

1.) The Steps: first and foremost you are traveling to an island where everything is perched on a cliff. If you are hesitant about climbing down old cobblestone steps this probably isn't the right vacation for you. In order to get the best views of the Caldera and the village sprawl you have to travel down, plus it is quiet and private away from the publix foot path. Besides, Sammy is meets you at the top and brings down all your luggage for you and will bring it back up at check out.

2.) The Pool: yes, the pool is small but all of them arel. Again you're on a cliff, there just isn't a lot of flat space for a pool. However this pool was big enough for us all to enjoy and it added to the ambiance of the villas. Somehow all the guests that were staying with us were out going and friendly and it created a fun family-like environment. There are plenty of nooks and crannies to lay out in privacy, but it was fun to share the pool area.

3.) The Villa and Amenities: again, this is a traditional villa. It is not a high end modern hotel. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment that was spacious and comfortable and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay in Oia. Large bathroom, comfortable beds, functioning air condition, kitchen amenities, TV with living room area. There was nothing to want.

The hotel manager Elenna was wonderful and amazing. This is her home and she considers her guests family. She is more than accomodating, giving great advice and conversation and is dissapointed if she can't make you a from scratch omlette in the morning. She's an excellent cook and hostess and the whole stay was just breathtaking and amazing.

To sum it up, if you're someone looking to really enjoy what Oia has to offer than please look into the Villas. If you are looking for stuffy, up tight, boring and a dime a dozen than this is not your place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Magnificent views, huge WOW factor. However... I should have been informed at booking stage that there would be 122 steps up-down from the street and 60 steps up-down from reception-breakfast. Totally unsuitable for anyone over 50 years old or over 65 kilos weight, unless you own a helicopter..
Excellent staff, very clean, very exciting, but I nearly left my bones there...

Room Tip: Don't go if you have a problem with steps!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Yes, there are 70 steep steps to go down before you reach the reception but if you want the best view of the Caldera, that's part of the game and it's worth every drop of sweat (plus, if you stay long enough, you'll be thankful for the butt of steel it will give you). First, you will meet Sammy who will help you with your luggage. And then, right after you are stunned by the view of the Calderas, you will meet Elena, a wonderful host with crazy energy and great cooking skills that she might share with you if she has time.
Each room is unique and all the ones I have seen were very comfortable. Like I said in a previous review, in order to fully appreciate a new country, you need to leave your usual standards home and get over the lack of king-sized beds and designer bathrooms because you will miss out on too many things that are worth so much more than the comfort at the Hilton. And honestly, if you are not completely taken by the view in front of you, I just don't think we can be friends.

Room Tip: They all have a spectacular view but the bigger ones are near the reception (but might be less quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amblouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We just returned from staying three nights at the Caldera Villas. All I can say is that this small hotel offers tranquility, great value for the money has excellent views over the caldera and nice rooms. The staff is exceptionally dedicated and caring (thanks, Elena) and we felt being home right from the first minute we entered. There is a good mix of travellers (couples, familie, backpackers) and some privacy is given by the arrangement of the rooms, it is never crowded. There is even a small pool, the breakfast is fresh and tasty. I don't see the point why spending more money for a luxury hotel when you have it all at Caldera Villas, I even doubt there are better views over the Caldera than at this small juwel. We will definitely go back and recommend it further.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suiza_salsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We booked a honeymoon suite and had very high expectations after reading so many wonderful reviews. However we were sorely disappointed. Yes, the views are spectacular and the host is great. But the suite we had was at the very bottom of the cliff. It took approximately 58 steps to get from our room to the pool/reception area and another 66 very steep and uneven "stairs" to get to the main street. Ok, we don't really mind the exercise but the 'suite' looked dingy and old. Jacuzzi in the bathroom hadn't been used for a long time, I guess because when we tried it on, there were black residues pumping out from the outlets. After that, we just gave up using the jacuzzi. So we used the shower instead. Water leaked from underneath the tub after showering and the floor was very wet. Not much bathroom toiletries were provided also. The shampoo and shower gel was a "all-in-one" in a pump. Overall, we would advise anyone who is booking the hotel to book the rooms as advertised in their website and be prepared. Most importantly, wear shoes with good grip because we have seen people falling down.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lady-GeneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#44 of 56 in Oia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#39 of 56 in Oia
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 56 in Oia
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing