We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Dali
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was our second time to santorini ( last time 15 years ago as student backpackers in fira ).Well Oia is the real thing. This beautifil boutique hotel has sparkling clean rooms at a great price ( we ve booked rather early sincy they had an early bird discount ) ,and view that you have to see in order to believe.Right in front of your eyes you have all the volcanic islands plus thirassia.We ve booked a cave suite and it worth every penny.Great minimalistic deco,total peace and quiet and right in the heart of Oia.A few steps from the main church yard.
All the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help us out arranging our travel plans.Go ahead and book the arrival transfer through the hotel,i am glad we did.At the airport it was chaotic plus they help you out by carrying your luggage down to the hotel.All in all we loved our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    94
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
27
225
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limassol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We ve just been back from a 6 day stay in this lovely hotel.This was a part of our 10 day stay in Greece and it was just perfect.We had a lovely room,with the most comfortable bed facing the volcano ( we could see it right from our bed ).We also booked also the catamaran day excursion which was great.We met some very nice people on the pool area ,just sitting and chatting for ever.The woman at the check in point offered us a nice bottle of greek wine,since she saw from the registration form that it was my wifes birthday.I saw the previous comments with a lot of interest and can say is that in oia village you must definitely wear sensible footware.I saw a lot of couples trying to balance throughout the steps in oia wearing high heel shoes.Once you wear flat shoes then you dont need to worry.Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

The rooms were very clean but there is no storage it is all very modern and clean and they clean your room everyday, the pool is not really a swimming pool as it is very small .
The breakfast was fine and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. however as other reviewers have mentioned the steps to the hotel are very dangerous and really need to be levelled off i am glad there was no rain when we were there as it it would be very slippy, I went to many place in Oia and these are the worse steps, owners please sort this out. I would not recommend this hotel if you are older as the steps would be a nightmare for you

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noopster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Caldera Villas in early May. Sam the porter was very helpful with our bags. The room had a fantastic view of the Caldera and the decor was freshly painted. Breakfasts were excellent; good quality food and plenty of it. My only concerns would be: 1. Steps down to the hotel are steep and slippery - be careful! 2. The room had no storage place for clothes - a chest of drawers would have been useful. 3. Pool is very small and really only for sitting in. If you like swimming, there's a beach about half a mile away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austinallegro1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had gone for the first part of our honeymoon to Santorini and stayed at Caldera Villas for the entire 6 days back in Sept 2011. Arrived around midnight and our driver was there waiting for us to take us to the hotel. Sammy was also there to carry all of our luggage down to our room (#8) at this time. We learned that Sammy was the resident maintenance go-to and carries all the guests' luggage up and down the extremely steep stairs.
The stairs - ladies please ensure that you bring flat shoes to wear! The hotel is located below the rim of the caldera and is very steep. The stairs are made of stone so please be careful as they are steep and uneven. They ARE manageable but thank goodness Sammy was there to carry our luggage when we checked out!
Check in was super quick and Elena was there to greet us. She is THE sweetest person you will meet - always making sure we were comfortable and happy!
We woke up the next morning to the most spectacular views. We booked the Junior Suite so we had our private sun loungers where we could take in the incredible views of the caldera.
The room was always cleaned spotlessly and breakfast was wonderfully made by Elena everyday.
The hotel was located pretty central in Oia which made walking around a breeze.
I would absolutely come back to stay here again - this was a trip of a lifetime and staying at the the Caldera Villas with their cave-style bathrooms gave it a real authentic Greek feel.

Room Tip: Get at least the Junior Suite to get the sun loungers and your private section of the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I read the reviews and ignored the ones about the steep stairs. I've been to Santorini many times so thought it was an over exaggeration by a few princesses. I offer my sincerest apologies to those people. Those stairs are the worst on the entire island. They don't even provide a handrail for stability and the stairs are more slippery than the sea you might fall into if you trip. Atrocious and it really affected our time at the villas. Being trapped in paradise is still being trapped. I nearly went mental. And I ended up rolling my ankle on those steps.

Having to plan to get back to the hotel before dark is not something I like to be doing on holiday and yet we were forced to because of the stairs. Needless to say we complained and were offered other more suitable accommodation - which was still down stairs but very reasonable considering it was Santorini.

My partner and I were are in our late 20's and very fit, and we looked like a cartoon trying to get down those stairs without a fatality. I don't know how others have done it - and we were at the top of the hotel! I can't imagine what it's like getting down to the bottom.

As far as the room went it was nice enough, spectacular view but it wasn't five star. The seal on the fridge was broken and the spa had a massive crack. The Bulgarian cleaning lady was a star. I had a nice chat with her but all in all the location of this hotel really lets it down.

I plead with the owners to look into the safety of the hotel. Get some lighting and handrails AT THE VERY LEAST! Falling into the ocean off a Santorini cliff is not my idea of adventure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MforMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The views from this hotel are amazing. Just beautiful. The rooms themselves are actually pretty basic but nicely decorated. The bathrooms not so much and very dark. The steps are a bit of a trek but a great way to keep fit. The pool is small but nice and relaxing. By far the best part of our stay was the staff. Elena was a superstar. She's totally mental but was so kind and generous. She made the best breakfasts and would give us little treats such as fresh strawberries whilst we sat by the pool. She even loaned us her own beach umbrella to save us having to buy one.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#38 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.2 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#33 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing