We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful”
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Oia
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Blissful”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Caldera villas is a beautiful small hotel in Oia, with absolutely breathtaking views. All rooms have a balcony with a sea view or a small terrace. The pool is small but all you need to enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy87043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    106
    61
    29
    24
See reviews for
31
253
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Our stay was amazing. The accommodations and hospitality was lovely. Superb breakfast each morning with magnificent view overlooking the caldera We look forward to coming back for another stay.

Karlageorge2012

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. Santorini is the most beautiful place I have ever seen! The views from our villa were absolutely breathtaking - I have never seen anything so phenomenal. Our villa was number 8 with a semi private balcony. Staff were friendly and helpful. The staff carried our bags down the steep and slippery stairs which was really lucky as we definitely couldn't have done it. The accommodation included complimentary breakfast each morning. The villas had a private pool which overlooks the amazing Oia cliff faces. Absolutely cannot fault our stay here...highly recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, ask for a room with a semi private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Beautiful hotel, room, pool area, views, and surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sight_Seeker_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My wife and I honeymooned in August of 2011 for about 6 days. We stayed at Caldera Villas and I am so thankful we did. The hotel could not have been a greater choice when it came to price, location, hospitality,or overall experience. After traveling for more than a full day straight my wife and I arrived in the tiny airport in Santorini and because it was the middle of the night we had no idea where we had arrived. While we followed the rest of the travelers to the parking lot we assured ourselves we had made the right choice when selecting a destination half way around the world requiring FIVE plane rides. We came to the shuttle which would hopefully give us some guidance and possibly a opportunity to sleep and were reassured by the sight of another couple looking more out of place than ourselves. We boarded and traveled the dark, ever-winding road to Oia where the Caldera Villas is located. Our shuttled stopped at a little square surrounded by shops and a couple atm machines. We followed the other couple off the shuttle and walked to the only building where lights remained on. We realized this was the office in which we would check in and after exploring Santorini and the hotels which cover the cliff faces it became clear that it is customary to check in at a central-to-transit location rather than the hotel itself. This office handled many different hotels as well as day trip booking. Once checked in we were met by Sammy. Sammy is great, no other way to put it. When on honeymoon you don't want to live out of a backpack, well my wife and I at least didn't want to so we packed suitcases. We figured we would be staying around a week, no reason not to bring the big bags. The problem is, Oia, nay Santorini in general is the opposite of flat. And while the terrain isn't flat, it's made more interesting by the amount of uneven stairs and ledges paving nearly every inch of the island. In the middle of the night, being in a foreign land, exhausted by endless travel, the last thing you want to do is grab a map and try and find your way to a hotel that is hidden in the side of a cliff, parked 100 hundred or so steps beneath the main street. This is a situation where Sammy becomes your best friend. He without invitation grabbed both our large suitcases and started off for the hotel. Since there was two couples, Sammy took the ladies bags and the two remaining suitcases were the burden of us grooms. We traveled in and out of the nameless streets until Sammy paused...The pause was short, but followed by a couple heaves and the two suitcases were now on his 5'2" frame and he proceeded to venture down the crazy steep stairs. We followed trying not to break out necks in the process. After a lot of stairs we arrived at the hotel. In the dead of night the views of the Caldera (water and coastline) were blacked out but our travels immediately became worth it with the sight of the pool lighting the hotel. We were led to our room and the rest became memories for a lifetime. Excuse all the hyperbole but seriously Caldera Villas and Santorini in general could not have been much better. For a cheap hotel room, we were treated like royalty by Elena the hostess. She is an amazing woman, and refused to rest until she made sure every guest was taken care of. Every morning she demanded to make something for us, even if we just wanted to hang out she would be disappointed not to be providing us with something. I planned on writing a short review but have found myself dragging on writing a full history of our trip. I promise I will stop. To put it plainly, Cladera Villas was perfect for us. We didn't expect 5 star service and amenities such as massage and work out facilities. Instead we wanted an relaxing stay in a paradise never before seen with some helpful hints from our hosts. We received more than we could have asked for. Elena and Sammy were amazing as well as the rest of the staff at Caldera Villas. I regret nothing other than having to leave. Also thanks to the couple from Spain who helped board buses and boats during a volcano excursion, you guys were awesome. Final thing, rent an ATV/scooter and explore the island. No question, the best 45 euros spent on the entire honeymoon.

Room Tip: Any room. Junior Suite was more than expected and very good value. Private balcony, quiet rooms, IN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I travel with my girlfriend in the first days of June of 2012, we stayed at the Calderas Villas; beautiful boutique hotel locate in Oia, Santorini. We spend four full days and three nights. The service was excellent in all levels starting Marian He took our bags from the tourist office down to the hotel and then at the reception we were received kindly and giving us suggestions for our stay Anka was very helpful and very courteous. Our room had a spectacular view with beautiful balcony, very good finishes in the bathroom and thru the room, we were very please with all the accommodations. We recommend to all friends to stay at the Caldera Villas at Oia. This boutique hotels is all you need to relax and enjoy your time in Oia.

Room Tip: look for update pictures and review of the hotel before book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jccv009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Hotel is located in the very center of Oia village, just walking less than 1 minute down the steps along the cliff. The view is facing inside Caldera, the view is stunning - there is no question with this. I stayed in standard studio, there is kitchen and living room, to go to bedroom you have to climb up the ladders which you have to be very careful because the roof of bedroom is NOT high. Just watch out for the head ! :) If you come with big luggage, don't worry, there is a staff to lift it for you to your room and also upon check-out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#46 of 56 in Oia
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing