We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caldera Villa, we will never forget”
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Budapest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Caldera Villa, we will never forget”
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We spent 7 night in this little fantastic hotel.
When we arrived late night nobody was in the hotel,only Sam,who was helping us to take down our lagguages,and he is a very kind person.The room what we get was a small room with galery,which I didn't like so much...
In the first morning I tell to Monica( she is organizing the things there) my problem,and she was very very helpful,and gave us a fantastic,beautiful room,with private balcony.
The view is absolutly fantastic,and the hotel too,we are very happy that we were staying here.
And this is the moment to say thank you for the staff.They are absolutly great people with big heart.We miss so much Monica's breakfast,Magda's frappe,but first of all they kindness.
They were part to be our holiday 100%.So,THANK YOUUUUU:))))
We will return again,we promise.
So,if you wanna stay in a beautiful hotel,with fantastic view,and to meet nice people,choose this hotel:)

Sisi&Gabor

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    97
    55
    26
    17
See reviews for
27
233
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed at Caldera Villas and it was by far the best stay!! Caldera villas is a multi-level complex of cave villas with beautiful small verandas and a breath taking view! Although pools are not very common in Oia, due to space and architectural considerations, there is a small one in Caldera villas which is well versed with the complex and can be very inviting for a relaxing afternoon.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
The location is trully ideal because it is isolated by stairs providing a quiet and relaxing stay. At the same time, it is right in the center of Oia, where one can walk in the night, find stores, and all sorts of restaurants and cafes.
The stairs could be a bit tricky but keep in mind that they are part of Oia's history and landscape.
If you are planning to stay in Oia there is no need for a car, but I would certainly advise devoting some time to explore the island.

  • Liked — VIEW!!!
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MyIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london and tunis
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We planned to stay in Santorini for 4 days so we split them into 2 days in Kamari beach and 2 others in Oia as we heard lots of great things about Oia. When we start prospecting Oia's hotels, we found a very nice hotel called Residence Suite Resort, so we tried to book.Once done, we received the confirmation of our booking , and the problems started: we found out that on the confimation booking form , it was written Caldera villas and not Residence Suites, so my boyfriend tried several times to call the hotel, after 48h we finally got someone on the line that explained us that Residence Suite Resorts was fully booked and that Caldera Villas was part of the same group.We did not appreciate at all that the staff put us in another hotel without even asking our permission!! When we went on the Caldera villas' website, the hotel looked nice , we booked a junior suite so we had no doubt our stay will be great!!
Unfortunately once in Oia bus terminal, we started getting angry.In fact, in the booking form, it was written that the check-in had to be done in Oia bus terminal, once there, we had to manage the very agressive mood of a woman (in charge of the check-in).She was not polite and very not in the mood,we were feeling she could not bear our questions and was always repling to us in a very impolite way.Then they charged us 30 Euros deposit for the suite's key!!!! We were very surprised as we went to great hotels in Greece and it was the first time we face such a lack of confidence from a hotel.Then we had to wait in the heat for a guy to come to pick up our luggages, we tought he would come with a car; no he came alone,so my boyfriend had to carry on the luggage with him, then we started walking and walking for 7-10 min under to sun, until we discovered our hotel: the hotel was called Caldera villas Annex!!!!! so we found each other in an Annex of a hotel we did not even book !!! First shock: the location, we had to go down 70 stairs to reach our room that was located at the bottom on the entire hill,like it was the farthest room of the hotel, we had a very tiny terrasse ,just close by our neighbour's terrasse, altought the view was nice on the Caldera, we were just so scared and annoyed to see all the way we will need to go up and down each day to leave and come back to our hotel.The guy then required us 2 euros per luggage!!!! whereas we were already paying 200 euros per night!!!
The room was weird, quite old, with 2 level, I was honestly scared each time I was getting downstairs to the toilets and to drink something in the kitchen as it was dark and the stairs of the flat were dangerous, we could not even cancel our stay as they already charged us at that time , the full amount from our credit card, I can tell you that we are 24 and 26, and each time, it was such a mess to leave the hotel,the stairs were soooo scarying and annoying, especially in the night, there were no light at all , and worse, our unique window was directly on the way up and down of the donkies, so each morning we were waking up with their noise!!!! The breakfast was just very bad, the orange juice was disgusting and the service was very poor, there was not even internet access whereas in the website they were saying it was .The pool was a joke!! like very tiny and like a little bath, I did not put a feet in this pool, whereas in Oia the sea is quite far, so you must have a pool to get refreshed after a long walk.I really do not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Caldera view
  • Disliked — the location,the stairs, the staff(the woman of the check-in in Oia Bus Terminal)
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelatbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2008

we spent 3 nights at caldera villas. views were absolutely beautiful. the staff, all 3 of them were fabulous. The breakfasts were very nice. there is no actual front desk, that would be up 100 steep steps. Monica, who runs the hotel is very friendly and helpful. I think she leaves at 5pm, so there is nobody around all night. i thought i was going to drop, the first time i went up the stairs. we actually left in the morning and came home late in the evening. not showering to go to dinner because we didn't want to deal with the stairs. this is OIA!! most accomodations are exacly the same. i think oia is very overated. i agree with reviewer. i also would prefer either kamari beach, or many of the other towns. the views for the most part are all great. Caldera villas is a great choice if you want complete seclusion, a quiet sleepy town and good excercise. just know what you are getting.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank littlenikusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

My husband and I were booked at the Caldera Villas for 4 nights but had to check out after the first night. The views of the caldera were beautiful, but other than that the hotel website was extremely misleading. The problems were:
1. Extremely dangerous stairs... and LOTS of them.. to get to the hotel. Even the way DOWN was scary. My husband and I are 27 years old and in good shape and we were drenched with sweat by the time walked up the steps and coming down was a dangerous endeavor. Once the sun went down it got worse. The steps had NO LIGHTS, NO HANDRAILS, and were incredibly uneven.
2. NO POOL... Don't let the website fool you. Although the site makes it look like there is a beautiful, refreshing pool what greeted us was nothing more than an oversized hot tub. When we saw it we asked where the pool was. Upon finding out that was it we tested the water. It was dirty and warm. Not what we were promised. There was no part of the pool that could have been more than 3 feet deep. The staff did not seem at all surprised with our complaints as if they had heard this many times before.
3. The rooms were decent, however the bathrooms did not have the "sanitary" ribbon as all decent European hotels have after they have been cleaned. The linens did seem clean and the room was equipped with a small kitchenette. We did need to use a ladder to get to the actual bed, as it was a loft. At this point, what did another couple of steps matter!?

The staff at the hotel was very nice and helpful, even as we were leaving. They did try to find us another hotel. There are a few hotels owned by the same people and they tried to set us up with one of those. The other hotels seemed to have worse cleanliness issues than Caldera Villas. Also, at this point we felt so burnt by the false advertisement that we declined to switch.

We ended up getting a BEAUTIFUL hotel, directly on the sea for a fraction of the price that Caldera Villas was charging. Oia is ONE NARROW strip of restaurants and touristy shops. The sunsets are beautiful, but Oia isn't anything that can't be done in a half-day trip. Stay in Kamari (20 minutes from Oia)... pay less and get more.

  • Liked — Staff/ Leaving
  • Disliked — Dangerous location and lack of pool
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ecb543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralumiha, receptionist at Caldera Villas, responded to this review, 14 July 2008
Hello
We are the staff who is working at this hotel and seeing your long letter that is basically is complaining about everything I have to say something to defend our hotel.
We appreciated that you didn’t complain about the staff but still ,I will have to do some specifications.
1.So in the first place we are talking about CAVE APARTMENTS who are situated on top of the mountain ,everywhere you will go in Oia you will find stairs and this is why we are famous for we are at 1200 feet above the sea level .
2.Indeed we have a small pool it will be pretty hard on top of the mountain to have an Olympic size pool ,but you are not right when you are saying that it was dirty ….even in your picture everybody can see that no way that pool was dirty or that hot as you say end of June the temperature is around 27 degrees.
3.Thank you for not complaining to much about the cleanliness, we will try to imply to our management about the sanitary ribbons.
I have no doubt that in Kamary you will find much cheaper hotels but we are talking about a very touristy area with a lot of noisy clubs and crowded places and Oia that is famous for privacy and breath taking views and quiet place.
We regret deeply that we couldn’t make you stay with us and we couldn’t make you happy but we are happy that you were able to eventuality find a much nicer place than us and want to remind you that reading about the place you will go will help you a lot ,in order not to get disappointed.
All the best to you ,and lots of perfect vacantion..
Caldera Villas Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2008

We travelled in Greece often but - first time in Santorini. Every offer in the hotel is excellent from the smile and welcome to the standard of services,2007 was the first year of the new management and as Sofia told us during winter the hotel will be renovated .I cant wait to come in 2008 and see the final results of the renovation.All rooms have amazing view over the cliff and the hot springs in this upmarket part of the City and are supremely comfortable and housekeeping is first class.
The reception staff, especially Sofia just seems to help you with anything and you will see their goodwill in everything they do. For example i hade in-room breakfast everyday that i ordered to be delivered at 09.15 and they arrived exactly at 09.15 every morning. You should try yourself once you go and if i had a hotel; first thing i would to is to hire Sofia! Caldera villas is located very well for it's neighbourhood restaurants and shopping. My daughters missed Caldera villas like they missed home, when we left oia , santorini. Thanks to all the staff, especially Sofia.Bottom line, Caldera villas is an outstanding hotel in very good location. Service was flawless. You'll enjoy your stay here.
Love and best wishes, Eve

  • Liked — Simple,unfussy,stylish and elegant
  • Disliked — That i had to leave
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eveboros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeheins
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2008

There is a wonderful feeling about this small boutique hotel that puts you in the heart of a oia residential and commercial neighborhood.It is just a few blocks from major attractions and great restaurants and bars .I have been all over the world living in accommodations ranging from 1 star to 6 star. I have to say that this property is the best value for my money when I had to pay for regular rates, around $150 a night (special offer for last minute bookings). First of all this small hotel has lots of charm and character.The appartments where better than what the web site shows,the decoration was beautiful .
The views of the Caldera are just truly amazing,the apartments are perfectly positioned over the caldera with views from every room. Fabulous memories for us. The free breakfasts are delicious. The Staff went out of its way always to make sure that our needs are met.They helped me decide where to travel, fed me well every morning, kept my bags while I traveled to other cities, and kept my room spotlessly. Sofia at the reception told me that a new company took over the management of the hotel in April 2007 and they are focused in good quality service ,plus they are renovating the hotel . We had some funny conversations because most of the guests are international, trying to understand different kinds of english or Greek! They hotel has an airport service which i would highly recommend . The hotel is pleasing for any age and I would very highly recommend it to anyone who goes the Santorini.

  • Liked — Friendliness and quiet and the amazing view
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeheins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#38 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing