We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location... What a view!”
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location... What a view!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel in May 2013 and had a great time. We booked a honeymoon suite with a perfect Caldera view. We could spend the whole day just enjoying the view from the balcony.

The bed is perfect (firm!), the shower is incredibly good.

The breakfast was average although the view from the breakfast area is breathtaking.

The staffs are really helpful.

The hotel is well located and you can find very good restaurants just going 'upstairs'.


The hotel is well located and you can find very good restaurants just going 'upstairs'.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb lots of stairs, let them know so they find you a room at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drilama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    104
    60
    27
    23
See reviews for
31
249
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a special anniversary in Oct '13. What a special place. We had one of the honeymoon suites - gorgeous, characterful, romantic. Our own balcony overlooking the caldera - a lovely view to wake to, & to sip wine with in the evening. Mania & her team fabulous hosts, with all the little finishing touches (towels sculpted into swans etc). & couldn't have been more perfect. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LawrenceLogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in Caldera Villas in Oia from 2nd to 9th October 2013 and had a wonderful time there. The view over the Aegean Sea was the most beautiful we ever saw. The rooms and the furnishes were typically white, modern and styled from the bottom of the heart. The breakfast was very good and personal needs were met. Coffee, juices and cake were available all day. We found an absolutely silent atmosphere in this hotel, no rush and stress. Complete relaxation was announced. Mania, Ana-Maria and Marian have made sure that you could feel save and comfortable and could enjoy the holidays. Thank you very much. We´ll see you again next year! Regina & Paul

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The villas are located in a prime location in Oia, just off the main path that runs throughout the town along the ridge. This puts it in a great place for relaxing and enjoying the views throughout the day but also getting into the main tourist areas including shops, restaurants etc.

The staff were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We stayed in two rooms through our stay (our primary room wasn't available on the first night). I recommend asking for one of the modernized villas that have new showers, good AC and TVs etc. The room just off the pool area is not great (bed is hard, shower is hard to use because you need to hold the shower head up, and also you get woken by breakfast being eaten outside by the pool area in the morning).

Breakfast was simple & sufficient. Pool was dirty and Wi-Fi coverage throughout the hotel could be improved. In order to get a signal you need to get next to the access point in reception.

Also, if you find climbing steep stairs a problem then this is probably not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with the new showers Ask for a room that is not near the pool, further dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James19812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was reading some other reviews here and notice some people complaining about location (half way down from cliffs), space, luxury.

I have to confess, when I got there I was expecting more. My wife was the one that booked the place. We paid double comparing to our most expensive hotel in Greece. But let's face it: We are in the middle of the ocean, right inside a vulcan and there are cliffs everywhere!

If you want to stay in Oia, this is a great place to stay: right behind the main plaza, perfect view, just couple steps from sunset. At night you can walk and see the beautiful people walking around.

The rooms are nice, different from everything you know, like caves, very nice.

The only thing that I didn't like at the beginning is that everything outside is so tight. The balcony, the pool, chairs... you can't talk to each other without other people listen to it. But that is Santorini, it is different.

Overall I enjoyed the place, had a decent breakfast and the service was good as well.

The advice is, if you don't want to spend too much, stay in Fira. You will have also a great view and will probably spend less.

Room Tip: Everything is so tight outside the rooms. The rooms with balcony could make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTravellerBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

To be fair, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was fine. The shower was excellent. The view was beautiful, but the view is beautiful from anywhere in Oia. That said, we paid Four Seasons prices for Motel 6 accommodations, but at least Motel 6 is relatively safe.

There is no way to adequately describe the hazardous access and egress to this property. You descend about 65 uneven, rocky and - in places - crumbling steps and landings to get to the pool area of the property, which is also the reception area. These are not even or smooth steps, and they are slightly pitched towards the sea. They are actually part of the public access "road" for the mules and donkeys that carry loads up and down the cliffs, so you also have to navigate around a bit of manure which can be slippery. There is some lighting at night, but we found it necessary to use a small flashlight after dark. THERE IS NO HANDRAIL ON THESE STEPS. So getting to our "honeymoon suite" was not pleasant. After the pool area we had to negotiate another 35 or so steps, but these were on hotel property and at least even. No handrail there, either, and steep.

Once at our suite, we at least anticipated comfort and amenities. The bed was comfortable. There were NO amenities - the refrigerator was completely empty, not even a bottle of water. There was a hot pot with cups and saucers, but no spoons, tea, coffee, or anything else. A generic cleanser was in a dispenser on the wall of the shower, and the bathroom tissue was dispensed institutional-style in 2-square sheets. There was no shampoo, no lotion, no body wash, no facial tissue. There was no place to hang a towel after use. There was a place to hang clothes, but no place to put your folded clothes. We pushed the clusters of decorative seashells from the only shelf in the place (sculpted into the wall) for our shirts, socks, underwear, etc.

Our "suite" consisted of one room with a bathtub on one side and a floor lamp on the other. The second room was the bedroom with a bed, 2 chairs, and a low table. The balcony was small but did hold 2 chairs and a small table. Wires hung from above the door, and gave the whole place an unfinished look.

You do not see the sunset from any location at this hotel or any of the others on the caldera, but you do see a lovely, limited view of the sea.

I would not stay there again, nor would I stay in any of the "traditional" cave villas. There's not much traditional about spending a weekend in a concrete bunker no matter how lovely the view may be. Stay in Oia, definitely, but ignore all of the tourist hype about "traditional cave houses".

Room Tip: If you decide to try this hotel, don't allow them to put you in a room below the pool level. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoFudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalderaVillas, Public Relations Manager at Caldera Villas, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guests,
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the treatment you received from our staff and that you enjoyed the breakfast and the view but, at the same time, we are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet all your expectations.
As regards the accommodation conditions we offer, we can assure you that our hotel complies with the Greek public standard established in accordance with the service level provided. Also, according to the proactive environmental policy that we are striving to apply, we use the best quality biodegradable toilet paper and Eco-friendly bathroom essentials.
Concerning the access to our hotel, we apologize for the inconvenience you encountered in reaching it. Still, what makes Oia the most picturesque village of Santorini, are precisely the narrow, cobbled and steep streets,steps and passage ways inviting those seeking peace and quiet. We also regret that you did not enjoy the layout of our Cycladic style built cave houses. Nevertheless, we are doing our best in combining modern facilities with the traditional design in the unique setting of out village.After all as they say When in Rome do as the Roman do
( meaning it is polite, and possibly also advantageous, to abide by the customs of a society when one is a visitor) .
Regarding the view available from our facility, we wish to emphasize Caldera Villas Hotel, although located within a very short walking distance from the sunset cliff side – faces the volcano and offers “ wide open caldera and Aegean Sea views” – as advertised in all web sites. We thank you very much for your comment and we assure you that we would be very happy welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just a word of caution; this hotel is situated half way down the cliff and requires a good effort to go up to the walking path. But the view makes it all worthwhile. We made arrangements to be picked up since we were arriving past midnight. There was no problems with that. Driver was very informative and made the 40 minutes ride from port very enjoyable. There was help to bring the luggage back to the room. You also have to walk at least 5-7 minutes from where you park the car to the hotel. Our room was a cave room. Liked the ambiance, but the seating area outside our room was not large enough. I would recommend rooms 113 114 instead. Breakfast was average. Greek cheeses olives and jam was good. But serving tang tasting orange juice was not acceptable. Boutique hotel like this should have a really wonderful breakfast. It was ok. The view certainly made up for it. Manya was great. Always smiling and willing to help. The office is closed around 9pm. Luckily we didn't require and assistance pass that point. Location is fantastic. As soon as you climb up to the main walking path, you are in the middle of action. Swimming pool is tiny, we didn't use it. We definitely would go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistyrain97229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#45 of 56 in Oia
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.6 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#46 of 56 in Oia
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing