We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic - highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in a "Cave Suite with Caldera View" and it was gorgeous. We had two balconies; one totally private and secluded and the second semi-private - both with incredible and uninterrupted views over the Caldera. Our room was huge and had a large bathroom and a separate area with a big bath from which you could see the sea. The private balcony was off the bedroom area and so we were able to sleep with the doors onto this balcony open, looking out to sea and listening to the waves. Overall, great value for money in Oia. It is true that there are a few steep steps to negotiate to get down to the hotel, but this was the same with about half of the other hotels in Oia and it didn't cause us any problems (there were always porters to carry your suitcases etc.). The breakfast was not amazing, but was adequate and when things ran out the staff were happy to bring more on request. We never tried using the hotel for restaurant recommendations/bookings, so can't really comment on this aspect of the service. The transfers provided throughthe hotel were slightly more expensive than other options and we ended up waiting a lot for other guests to arrive for the transfer (note that the transfers are not private). However, overall the transfers were pretty easy and worth the extra 5 euros or so. The pool isn't huge, but is not as small as other reviews suggest and we actually never used it - we opted to hire a 4x4 for 30 euro for 24 hours and head out to beaches around the island instead - highly recommend this. Also recommend the fish tavernas in Ammoudi Bay - we ended up down there for dinner every night of our stay! If we were to visit Oia again we would definitely go back to Caldera Villas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    94
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
27
225
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect, views wherever you are. The Hotel is let down by the customer service. The reception is right by the breakfast counter so anything you ask is overheard by those choosing their food. The staff are not very helpful and forgot several times when we made a request. Room service always seems to occur when you arrive back to your room after a day out - about 4.00pm. Twice we had to delay our showers and wait on the balcony whilst this was done. Small complaints and if staff were more welcoming and concerned that you enjoyed your stay this would be a really good hote.

Room Tip: Arrange a transfer as it is very difficult to find the hotel especially if you arrive late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank val186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very good view in the hotel. We just want to stay on the hotel instead of going out. I got big room but it is not in main building. The veiw from my room' baclony is very nice.
Very nice staff.
This hotel is not good for senoir because you need to reach main street by 60 steps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

we traveled there this May. The location of Caldera was wonderful. Amazing sea view and near main shopping street. Very convenient! The room is big and clean. Very large bathroom.
Free breakfast and free juice/water during office time. Most important, the price is cheap!
However, the hotel was built on the cliff, so you have to walk many steps down to the room. There is no Wi-Fi service inside the room. (balcony and reception are ok)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 922yichunh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Beautiful place to stay with breathtaking view on caldera. Nice, spacious room with big bathroom, small fridge and kettle. Very good breakfast served on the terrace. Hotel is located on the lover level of the village - 78 steps down, you will need for sure help with luggage. Room very clean and nice decorated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for one special night. I chose the honeymoon suite and the experience was beyond my expectations. The place perfect, the room clean, modern, with amazing view to the caldera and private a balcony. I need also to mention that the staff has been very polite. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I travel to 2-3 country's every year and never same country, this hotel so far been the best hotel that I stayed in. Very clean and beautiful, breakfast is very good, and the view priceless and staff very very friendly and helpful, and girls at the receptionist she is most beautiful girl I have ever seen and kindness and helpful. don't miss this experience, believe me.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good, and smell very fresh. this village is very small and quite, if you are part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turistey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#38 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#34 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing