We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views and location”
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous views and location”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in May. Great location. The view was beautiful from the room and from the common area. the room was in great shape, a cute little cave with our own private balcony. There was a nice pool area, the pool was a bit small but it was in great shape and very refreshing. The staff was super friendly. There was an all day water/tea/coffee bar inside. Breakfast was super great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen441985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    106
    61
    29
    24
See reviews for
31
253
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved Caldera Villas. We had a Cave Suite for 3 persons with an incredible private terrace, excellent views and was well decorated. We were central to all of the great restaurants and shops nearby which made meandering around Oia so fun. As a couple of girls from NYC in our early 30's, we could not have asked for a more chic, peaceful and affordable place to sleep after a long day of hiking, shopping or swimming.

Yes, the stairs are steep and I would not recommend them for people who are not reasonably fit or well balanced. You absolutely want to pay extra for the transfer if you are flying into or out of Santorini even if you are fit, as carrying luggage down cobblestone steps does not look easy and I am glad we sprung for the transfer. I do think the Villas could use some more high-end toiletry amenities (shampoo, conditioner, body lotion) but we did appreciate the votive candles around the room and unexpected little perks like a fridge and wine glasses. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

For travelers that are accustomed to a boutique hotel experience I think the Caldera Villas is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: we had room 20 which had it's own kitchen and 2 double beds which was perfect for me and my frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is more on par with a hostel than an actual hotel or even a bed and breakfast. We were going to stay for 3 nights but only stayed for one and then switched hotels (to Canaves Oia). The views are amazing, but most places in Santorini have them. Check in is at the Best Western down the street. Your bags are then transferred to the "front desk/breakfast area". The rooms are located on very steep and slippery paths that are also shared by the numerous donkeys that traverse the island. A constant odor of donkey dung hangs outside. The rooms are okay in size, but lack proper ventilation and amenities (no shampoo). The staff did not know anything about the surrounding area and could not recommend any restaurants or places to see. We did not eat the breakfast "buffet" but by the look of the jelly and cereal on the counter at 2pm, I'm glad we didn't. The pool is very small and the deck around it can only accommodate a few chairs. A loud group of people had taken over this area and prevented us from enjoying the pool. There is no bar or restaurant on site. There is a small refrigerator in the rooms so you can BYOB. The hotel is okay if you lower your expectations down to a hostel type of level. I feel bad for the poor kid that had to constantly lug 110lbs of luggage up and down the donkey paths all day but the place is not on the same level as the surrounding hotels. D

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalderaVillas, Public Relations Manager at Caldera Villas, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Client thank you for taking time for expressing your opinion and the same time we are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations but i am afraid it was a wrong choice that you ve made from the very beginning when you actually made the booking.The room that you had booked had the standards that you ve actually paid,and it was one of the best rooms in our hotel .The other 5 star hotel that you are referring to, a simple category room costs double the price of superior room in our hotel the in the best case,sometimes even three times up.A wise choice would be directly directly to book something that was on your normal price range and not something half of your daily budget since you know your expectations are higher.As for the air ventilation,in the specific room there is a huge double balcony door ,a big window right next to it ,and a very strong air condition.Additionally concerning the buffet breakfast that you are referring,i am sorry but there is no breakfast at 2 pm, the breakfast finishes at 11:00 ,and what you describe as jelly is home made marmalade,and organic cereal in plexiglass containers .As regards to the bathroom essentials i am afraid that you did not had a proper look at the bottle on the shower wall since its indicated that it is for body and Hair ( a special liquid of fine quality )We thank you for your comments that allow us to continually improve our services.Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in a "Cave Suite with Caldera View" and it was gorgeous. We had two balconies; one totally private and secluded and the second semi-private - both with incredible and uninterrupted views over the Caldera. Our room was huge and had a large bathroom and a separate area with a big bath from which you could see the sea. The private balcony was off the bedroom area and so we were able to sleep with the doors onto this balcony open, looking out to sea and listening to the waves. Overall, great value for money in Oia. It is true that there are a few steep steps to negotiate to get down to the hotel, but this was the same with about half of the other hotels in Oia and it didn't cause us any problems (there were always porters to carry your suitcases etc.). The breakfast was not amazing, but was adequate and when things ran out the staff were happy to bring more on request. We never tried using the hotel for restaurant recommendations/bookings, so can't really comment on this aspect of the service. The transfers provided throughthe hotel were slightly more expensive than other options and we ended up waiting a lot for other guests to arrive for the transfer (note that the transfers are not private). However, overall the transfers were pretty easy and worth the extra 5 euros or so. The pool isn't huge, but is not as small as other reviews suggest and we actually never used it - we opted to hire a 4x4 for 30 euro for 24 hours and head out to beaches around the island instead - highly recommend this. Also recommend the fish tavernas in Ammoudi Bay - we ended up down there for dinner every night of our stay! If we were to visit Oia again we would definitely go back to Caldera Villas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect, views wherever you are. The Hotel is let down by the customer service. The reception is right by the breakfast counter so anything you ask is overheard by those choosing their food. The staff are not very helpful and forgot several times when we made a request. Room service always seems to occur when you arrive back to your room after a day out - about 4.00pm. Twice we had to delay our showers and wait on the balcony whilst this was done. Small complaints and if staff were more welcoming and concerned that you enjoyed your stay this would be a really good hote.

Room Tip: Arrange a transfer as it is very difficult to find the hotel especially if you arrive late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very good view in the hotel. We just want to stay on the hotel instead of going out. I got big room but it is not in main building. The veiw from my room' baclony is very nice.
Very nice staff.
This hotel is not good for senoir because you need to reach main street by 60 steps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

we traveled there this May. The location of Caldera was wonderful. Amazing sea view and near main shopping street. Very convenient! The room is big and clean. Very large bathroom.
Free breakfast and free juice/water during office time. Most important, the price is cheap!
However, the hotel was built on the cliff, so you have to walk many steps down to the room. There is no Wi-Fi service inside the room. (balcony and reception are ok)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 922yichunh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#46 of 56 in Oia
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing