We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel,wonderfull staff”
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Leon
1 review
“Classy hotel,wonderfull staff”
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Stayed for ten nights.I have stayed several times in this hotel and it was great all the time. I usually book a junior or honeymoon Suite, either of which is an excellent room.This time we booked a Junior Suite and were UPGRADED to a honeymoon suite.The rooms are very comfortable and quiet with a magic open view to the hot springs,volcano thirassia island ,and the rest of santorini . Location is great as it is just near to the main church square.The restaurants just above the hotel are great (Ambrosia,and skala ). The staff were superb throughout the stay be it granting a late checkout , recommending a good restaurant or obtaining tickets for the evening trip to the volcano.Way above and beyond the call of duty both prior to our visit and while we were there.Our airline delivered our luggage late, and the girls at the front desk were exceptionally helpful in following up with the airline and making sure it was delivered as promptly as possible.(Sam the porter picked up our luggage from the bus station and brought it all the way to the hotel).The whole experience was much enhanced by the friendly staff who are not arrogant at all like many other hotels. If you can afford it, then Caldera villas is absolutely the place to stay!

  • Liked — location,staff,views
  • Disliked — I can't think of a single complaint and am very picky.‏
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pepinaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    106
    61
    29
    24
See reviews for
31
253
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
spain
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We booked Caldera villas based on recommendation of an excellent travel agent and reviews on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to find that everything was at least as good as promised, and sometimes better.The hotel has a home-away-from-home feel and the staff were very friendly and went well out of their way to be accomodating.The Hotel was our base for touring around the island and I always looked forward to going back there - the staff are fantastic; very helpful, very friendly and very good speakers of English.We had a health problem during our stay and all the staff was at its best in order to help us.In addition, we also had problem with one of the other hotels we would be staying in, and they contacted them and sort out the problem.They were superb. The rooms are vibrant and comfortable .The location is fantastic,especially for eating,shopping and strolling,and was one of the main reasons we fell in love with Santorini.I would definitely recommend this hotel and its location with no hesitation. We loved Santorini and are keen to return, if we do, we will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Liked — The location ,view ,peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rosabahia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We are back home from "Caldera Villas" two weeks now, and we are trying to get used to not being able to count how many cruise liners are in the caldera!!!
We miss too the sound of the donkey bells as they made their way up from the little harbour below, passing our private balcony. During the sundrenched days they toiled endlessly with the heavy & the light, the young & the old to the clifftop above where the smooth worn white marbled tiny streets of Oia took over their burden and eased their load..Their only annoyence on the journey back down was the barking from an occasional dog!!

Get the picture!!!

Here in Caldera Villas we met the friendliest of staff, including Sam, Anna & Monica, all of whom went out of their way to promote a lovely atmosphere in this building.
The pool although small was clean and refreshing, but the view here is magnificent.
Oh God how I wish I was back there now as I look out on this cold Irish Autumn day with the wind blowing, the leaves falling and nothing but the long cold winter to look forward to when we are still waiting to have a Summer!!!!

We were presented with a complimentary bottle of wine as the staff/management discovered that we were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary.Thank You again for that lovely surprise.
As it was the end of the season we managed to get a really good rate on the room. A lovely split level apartment with jacuzzi bath, and a view to die for.

I have no problem in recommending "Caldera Villas" and wish
continued success to all involved.

  • Liked — The view, the price, the staff
  • Disliked — The steep steps but the view was worth the pain!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Palestine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We stayed at Caldera Villas for 3 nights in Sept. You must first check in in the bus station in the town's main square and get your key from the Ecorama kiosk. They sent a wonderful person to carry your bags to your room but he can only carry 1 bag at once, so you had to wait for him to carry your other one or take it yourself.

The cave rooms are way below the main street in Oia (92 steps down). Being younger and in not bad shape these stairs were exhausting and we planned our outings around not having to go up and down all day. So just be prepared for the stairs. Also, some of the lights along the path are out so bring a small light with you at night.

The room itself was a little rustic but i guess in Oia these are all cave rooms and they want you to have that experience. The bathroom smelled like sewer gas most of the time (not sure if that's a probelm everywhere in Oia).

The view from the shared balcony was amazing and the breakfast was adequate. There really isnt much of a pool but we weren't there to use the pool anyway.

The one shining aspect of this hotel was the staff. Our first room wasnt exactly what we had in mind, but Monica upgraded us at not extra charge to a much better room. Sam was also very helpful with the baggage. He woke up at 5am the morning we left to carry my wife's luggage up the stairs and waited to ensure that we got our transfer to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHe1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2008

This hotel was perfect for any couple wanting luxury at an somewhat affordable price with a great location right above the caldera. Now MOST hotels in Oia are built on cliffs so know that you will have to walk up and down some steep stairs to get to the town but this hotel has a bellman to help with luggage, very friendly staff, a small but nice clean pool and authentic "cave like" rooms with the softest beds we came across in Europe.

Make sure to take the stairs down to the locals swimming spot and jump off the little pier into the aqua blue caldera.

We actually enjoyed the hike up the stairs as it gave us a chance to get some exercise and burn off all the yummy food. Ask for a room closer to the check in office ... some have balconies. Either way, for the price this hotel is fabulous!

  • Liked — views of caldera and accomodating staff
  • Disliked — some rooms were not as nice as others ... we saw 3 before choosing ours
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karmalizedlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We spent 7 night in this little fantastic hotel.
When we arrived late night nobody was in the hotel,only Sam,who was helping us to take down our lagguages,and he is a very kind person.The room what we get was a small room with galery,which I didn't like so much...
In the first morning I tell to Monica( she is organizing the things there) my problem,and she was very very helpful,and gave us a fantastic,beautiful room,with private balcony.
The view is absolutly fantastic,and the hotel too,we are very happy that we were staying here.
And this is the moment to say thank you for the staff.They are absolutly great people with big heart.We miss so much Monica's breakfast,Magda's frappe,but first of all they kindness.
They were part to be our holiday 100%.So,THANK YOUUUUU:))))
We will return again,we promise.
So,if you wanna stay in a beautiful hotel,with fantastic view,and to meet nice people,choose this hotel:)

Sisi&Gabor

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed at Caldera Villas and it was by far the best stay!! Caldera villas is a multi-level complex of cave villas with beautiful small verandas and a breath taking view! Although pools are not very common in Oia, due to space and architectural considerations, there is a small one in Caldera villas which is well versed with the complex and can be very inviting for a relaxing afternoon.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
The location is trully ideal because it is isolated by stairs providing a quiet and relaxing stay. At the same time, it is right in the center of Oia, where one can walk in the night, find stores, and all sorts of restaurants and cafes.
The stairs could be a bit tricky but keep in mind that they are part of Oia's history and landscape.
If you are planning to stay in Oia there is no need for a car, but I would certainly advise devoting some time to explore the island.

  • Liked — VIEW!!!
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MyIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#46 of 56 in Oia
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing