We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for an average hotel!”
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We were booked in a different hotel when we decided to cancel that one and booked with Caldera Villas instead. It was a bit pricey considering that the room wasn't really anything special. Beware! the steps going down to the hotel are very steep and are not for people with disabilities. Make sure to pack light or just carry a backpack instead of a wheeled luggage. One of us was carrying a huge luggage. Good thing Sam (the very nice porter) was there to help! As for our room, we were given the traditional cave-style bedroom with a little kitchen and some utensils if you want to fix your own breakfast. But we never really felt like cooking so we just had breakfast served at the lounge area near the pool. Small and very cramped bathroom. It had a small pool for quick dips. I wish it could have been bigger. But hey, it's better than nothing! Although I can't deny the fact that the view from the hotel is grand & breath-taking! It's facing the sea and the volcanoes which was awesome! Overall, our stay was fine. Clean rooms and friendly staff. My only main complaint is that it's too much for a simple hotel. There are better accommodations nearby that had the same rooms and view for less!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2009

Hi guys , just wanted to offer a word of advise . Don't spend your hard earned cash at this Hotel.It's terrible....
And now some details....
1.The hotel is hiding the poor rooms quality and poor cleaning services behind the "Authenticity" of Greek traditions. I am a seasoned traveler and therefore I can tell you that you can't hide conning people behind any tradition
2.Rooms are cramped , with plaster coming down in some areas , the bed is highly unconfortable , the linens cheap (tradition as well) , the TV set is 12 years old , 20 Euro , 25 cm wide , the Bathrooms......!!!!!!!!.....TERRIBLE.....you have never seen cramped toilets like that , it was almost impossible to sit down , there is no bathtub , instead you get a shower without a cabin , with water pouring down on everything when you are taking a shower (traditions again!!! , or so they say)
3.Swimming pool , small but understandable on the steep hills of Santorini
4.View.Great
5.Service.Bad.
6.Location.Good
7.Price.Let's take a minute and discuss it.......170 Euro/night for a room with no windows , with the only light and air source being the Door.If you wanted air and light you had to keep the door open.The better room were 260 Euro/night and were just slightly better.So....what do we have here.......let's see.....prices up to Marriott,Sofitel,Hilton hotels in prime downtown locations.......services down to a 2 star hotel.....
And now, a small explanation for the above......it's not their fault....these type of problems are present everywhere there isn't eough competition.You will say that there are houndred of hotels in Santorini and you will be right....but there are no major players....and you know why?......cause the current hotels are affraid they will go under as soon as a Sheraton,or Westin,or a Marriott will arrive.....so they did their best in "convincing" the local authorities that the "big guys" will spoil "traditions".....and if you have red all of the above you already know what these are..........

P.S....All of the above apply to all of Greece and all of Turkey.....but Greece is more expensive

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alex1234Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Our cave apartment had a private balcony overlooking the Caldera(not all are so blessed) as well as sun loungers on the more communal terrace.
The pool may not be olympic but its postion is beautiful: you can soak and gaze down at the Caldera.
The service was very good and Sam, who carried our bags to and from the hotel, is a real star. The other staff are friendly too and , for Oia, this is very reasonably priced. I've stayed in two other places in Oia and this one is definitely the best yet.
I wish I was there now having a cold glass of wine while gazing down at the Caldera below !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhCrikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

For what we paid for our room, around 200 Euro compared to similarly located hotels, we got a deal. Things to know (so at least you're not surprised).

- The pool, which looks large and clean in the photos was about the size of a large area rug. More like a very large non-hot, hot tub. It was also didn't seem very clean (very cloudy).

- We stayed in one of the rooms at the level of the reception desk (in fact right next to it). There were NO windows, unless you count the window in the door. Which was about 2 foot by 2 foot. I literally felt locked into a cave.

- Because our room was right next to the reception desk (feet away) I was afraid to leave it unlocked, in case someone may accidentally mistake it for the reception area (same color door).

- The bathroom was so small, you almost had to hike your shorts down in one area, and then shimmy over to toilet in another area:) And the door did not close properly. And there was no separate shower stall. We had to move the garbage can into the sink before taking a shower so we'd have a place to stand (and to keep the garbage can from getting wet).

- We had difficulty getting an internet connection.

That said ... the view WAS very, very nice.

We spent one night at this hotel (to have one night with a caldera view). And the rest at the Anemo Milos, which has views to the oceans (though not the caldera) - and was almost a third of the price (with much larger rooms, large very clean pool, and run by a very nice family with an attached restaurant and where the owner himself made the baclava one night - and it was excellent).

Caldera Villa was much less personal than Anemo Milos, more "commercial" ...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Althera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

The views from the rooms and swimming are wounderful.
Getting there and away is a mission , a lot of steep steps which take out the air .

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rangIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Hotel has spectacular views of the Caldera and islands. In fact its location is perfect. You get a great view along the coastline of Santorini. Hotel is clean and the staff were very friendly. Free WiFi is available in the reception area. Lots of steps to walk, however Santorini is not the place to go to if you don't do steps! The hotel & views are well worth it. It's also close to supermarket where you can get supplies & shops. Would stay again here anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights in Caldera Villas. What a marvellous view! The place is very beautiful and romantic. He asked me one night under the fullmoon of August, to marry him. We are now married, planning to go back for at least one week. The staff helped us ,arranged our boat trip to the volcano and a bus tour to visit the island.Monica (tha receptionist)was always there to answer to all our questions. Sam carried the luggage early in the morning when we had to go. Marlena and Magda (if I remember well the names) kept the rooms very clean. We are still talking about these days with our friends, really missing the place, waiting for next September to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 58 in Oia
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#48 of 58 in Oia
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#33 of 58 in Oia
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.6 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £166 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing