We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Oia
vidra
1 review
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

Santorini,Oia,Caldera Villas ..what can not be said about this part of Greece other then it's a wonderful escape from the reality. Our first trip to this part of Greece after hearing so much about it for so many years was in fact well worth it. Choosing where to stay was our biggest concern.The balcony in our room, with a view of Volcano and the sea it was like to be in heaven. Absolutely incredible!!!! I loved all our journey at Caldera Villas. The breakfast with a magnificent view of the island, to have a wonderful morning looking at the blue water of the sea, and with the staff offering good and fresh coffee and fruits. My family gathered in our balcony and celebrated my birthday with a good Greek wine.It was a wonderful decision .Well worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank octavianpiciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    94
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
27
225
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cristian
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Caldera villas and it was great. The suite was spotless,nice decorated and relaxing, the bed huge and comfy and the breakfast fantastically filling.We stayed there for 8 nights.The crew and the service are outstading from the person at the front desk until the cleaning ladies are all very friendly.Always serve you with a smile just like a family member or an old friend.The location of the hotel is perfect. Very quiet and yet very close to the action,right in the heart of the village with views over to the volcano/hot springs etc that you can hardly believe, you can also see all ships ( ferries/cruise boats etc ) moving in and out the island.
I’ve been in many great hotels in different countries, but this one I can recommend 100%. Thers no doubt about it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariectan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

All our thanks to the staff - Caldera Villas is a remarkable hotel - yes, exactly like the pictures on their website - but more wonderful are the attentive, friendly and simply fantastic staff. We were upgraded for our first three nights of our staff, and yes, overlooked the sunsets - we felt like kings.Pictures cannot do justice to the spectacular beauty of the place! Every single morning that we were there we woke up in awe of the view off of our stunning balcony. I reccomend this place to EVERYONE thinking about going to Greece! Thank you Caldera Villas for a very memorable holiday!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lidiastan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

My friend and I stayed at the caldera villas in june this year and decided to return again for a second visit as we had thoroughly enjoyed ourselves the last time.Return trips makes you nervous sometimes as you often wonder whether the stay will be as good as you remembered it to be or whether the hotel will have crept into a gentle decline.We were blown away by how amazing this hotel is.The location / setting of the hotel is breath-taking and the suites comfortable .You can not describe it with words. A truly amazing experience, amazing views over the cliff, staff were great (Valentina - who works at the front desk is a great member of staff ), food was fantastic at the nearby restaurants (skala, and petros), spa treatments we so relaxing at the nearby spa that they co-operated-(the santorini premium spa is a must) , the beach and armeni bay just under the hotel are beautiful,its like having your own private beach.
We would both wholeheartedly recommend Caldera villas. Truly a trip and a honeymoon to remember

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montsecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

It is a pleasure to add to a long list of great reviews of Caldera villas . Caldera villas was one of the most hospitable places we have stayed in.What a lovely hotel! I am not even sure it can be cataloged as a hotel because it is so beautiful, so nice,so homey, so great, so out of what one normally would think of as a standard hotel. Granted, it is a boutique hotel so that alone marks a difference. Located right on the cliff in a Quiet area right in the heart of the town. The staff was wonderful. Everyone of them were so accomodating, friendly. Exceptional service was provided. They provided some great recommendations for restaurants, coffee shops,galleries and they go out of their way to make you comfortable, provide directions, suggestions, book taxis and in general will do anything in their power to help.. My mother and I felt safe day or night!A place with people you can definately trust, staying in this hotel is a guarantee of good times.Caldera villas is quite a find. We travel extensively and like to stay in smaller, more personal hotels and this one more than fit the bill. We will return to santorini, we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana68kuala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

This was a very good hotel with views that can't be beat! Staff picked us up at the airport on Santorini and drove us to Oia's bus square where we were met by more staff - all there to help us with luggage down the winding steps along the cliff to the hotel. We stayed in room number 10, which unlike some rooms, has a privat little balconey in addition to the patio we shared with the two other rooms on that level.
Here's the breakdown: staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the pool was much smaller than it looks on the website but still great, the room was very clean and spacious, but had a couple of quirks. Because the hotel is basically carved into the cliffside of the caldera, there aren't many (if any windows), which I know others have critisized. But if you've gone all the way to one of the world's most awe-inspiring locations to sit in the hotel room and look out a window you shouldn't come in the first place. The one piece of advice I'd give the hotel management is to invest in shower curtains. Without them, you have to shower very strategically not to get the entire bathroom soaked. But that is truly my only complaint.
I know others here have said it's too bad that high quality placeds like the Marriot and Hilton aren't there, they were probably disapointed not to find a McDonald's or a Starbucks either in Oia. This is a great and unique hotel with a helpful staff and jaw-dropping views. It is definitely worth the splurge, which is still far less than many similarly located hotels. If you have trouble walking up stairs, however, start practicing well in advance...it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingfisher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We just returned from a week at Caldera villas.Our first impressions were excellent. It was easy to find, and beautiful once you stepped through the main door.
As we reached the hotel and we saw that spectacullar view our jaws literally dropped.It was beyond beautiful. I had the pleasure of staying in the honeymoon suite ,which a 1 bedroom suite ,with amazing panoramic ocean view to the volcanic islands is worth a million bucks, and essentially fully equipped with everything and anything that you might need during your stay.Our kitchen was fully equipped with all type of cooking utensils. We stopped by the local mini market near the hotel and fully stocked our fridge so that we did not have to leave the unit, and we didn’t! Our suite was so comfortable that we had a hard time leaving.Our balcony with table and chairs provided a great spot to enjoy our morning coffee or a card game during sunset.
The first thing you notice out there is the lack of crowds in a the place that is spotless with loads of charm and character.
There is no need to race to the pool and secure a spot. It is peaceful and reflects the tone of Oia village ,elegance, tranquil santorini, beautiful facilities and views.
This place is pricey as all hotels on the cliff ( you can always stay on the other side of oia with half price but it doesnt worth,you miss the view-we ve visited a couple of hotels on the other side and i am happy i ve choosen this one )- well worth it in my estimation.
The service that we received during our stay was over the top. All the staff From the girls at the front desk to Sam the pool attendant, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful and happy to make our holidays a wonderful memory. I can't say enought about this lovely hotel, you have to stay there to appreciate the wonderful service, the beautifull view and the great location,right in the center of the village . It was definately a dream getaway for us. We will certainly return one day very soon. So very sad we had to leave...
Alexa and Nick

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexashiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#37 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#33 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing