We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whatever you do, dont trust the photos!!!”
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whatever you do, dont trust the photos!!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We found this accommodation online and after viewing the photos and referring to trip advisor we thought it looked very beautiful & sounded great.
We booked a Junior Suite & were happy to pay for what we thought was stunning accommodation.
On arrival Elena showed us into a Standard Studio. Being weary travellers we were confused. We questioned ourselves & then Elena who, after some discussion, put us in a more spacious room. Elena implied that she was putting us in a better room than what we paid for when in fact she was putting us in the room that we had booked and paid for!! Not good!!!!
In a nutshell this property is very poorly appointed, the rooms felt sparse, no kettle provided, broken CD player, table lamp on floor, no shower screen, really really musty bedroom, sheets that dont fit the bed. The kitchinette facility is a joke and the private terrace is not private.
This place really lacks attention to detail. For the price we paid I feel ripped off.
When booking please notice that there are no photos shown of the standard studio interior. The double bed is in a loft & is incredibly small. There is not a private balcony or terrace!
I believe Caldera Villas website is incredibly misleading! The staff possibly also, which is sad.
Two positives though were the incredible views & great location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Midnight71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalderaVillas, Guest Relations Manager at Caldera Villas, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
Dear Midnight71,

We regret to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and whilst we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met.

However, we would like to draw your attention and explain some points you are mentioning in your comment.

Our website has informative purposes. Since all our rooms are “cave houses”, due to historical and architectural layouts of Oia village, we don’t have two (2) similar rooms in our hotel. Please notice, it is not possible to post all the photos of all the rooms, we always guarantee the room type, but never exact room form the picture.

We always encourage our guests to report or discuss with us any concerns they might have while they are in the hotel, in order to assist in any way we can and resolve any issues, prior to departure. We regret to hear you found the time to declare some matters here and your disappointments here, on TripAdvisor, but you could not contact our Staff during all your stay.

We would welcome the opportunity to have you as guests of our hotel in the future.

Caldera Villas
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    97
    55
    26
    17
See reviews for
27
233
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Were booked to stay at Best Western Museum Spa. Found out when we got there that it was not a sea view property as we were led to believe in numerous e-mails to the Management company, Ecorama. Plus second room had no AC and beds were infact benches! They offered to move us to Caldera Villas which was sea view if we were prepared to pay more. Had no choice as we had pre-paid for the Best Western. Rooms smelled musty (I had difficulty breathing with the strong mildewy smell), Bathtub was cracked and leaked, poor lighting, the pool was murky. No shower curtain in stand-up shower in our kids room so there was water all over the bathroom. Railings on the decks were rusty and some deck chairs were broken. Felt sorry for the staff as they tried to keep guests happy in these lousy conditions as Management blamed them for unsatisfied guests! Access to the property is also very difficult down steep steps. We ended up moving after one night to a much nicer property a few doors down for less than what Caldera was charging. Breakfast was cheap and minimal. We were in Greece for over 2 weeks and stayed at several beautiful hotels/guest houses. This was a real let down for our last 4 days in this absolutely beautiful little village.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanyonVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalderaVillas, Guest Relations Manager at Caldera Villas, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
Dear CanyonVancouver,

We were expecting for your rough comment, since you warned us that as a result of charged early departure cancelation fees (which were applied correctly), you will denigrate our hotels image in public.

Please allow us to draw your attention and to explain some points that you have raised in your comment.

Our Reservations Department did all their best to serve you and to help you to find the most appropriate accommodation, after, you decided to change the accommodation due to misunderstanding (we have carefully investigated of our email correspondence and we would like to underline, that we have never confirmed to you the sea view from our Junior Suite), in Museum SPA Wellness hotel. On the contrary you have a confirmation for a Standard Junior Suite without balcony (since you didn’t wish to pay extra).

As an alternative accommodation, you were offered to move to Caldera Villas, without being charged cancelation fees from Museum SPA Wellness hotel. Although accommodation in Caldera Villas is more expensive and instead of one (1) room, you were accommodated in two (2) separate rooms, you were pleased to pay a small difference in the price, on which, after seeing Caldera Villas, you agreed.

Caldera Villas is a “cave house” accommodation, by definition, the rooms are caves in the rocks. During your stay in Santorini, we have no doubts that you could observe, how humid is the air on the Island, due to the fact that Santorini is a small Island in the middle of the Aegean Sea. We cannot compare the regular hotel rooms all around the world to our unique “cave house” accommodation. Rooms are aired every day and re-painted numerous times during the season, in order to offer to our guests the best comfort.

Regarding your comment for our bathroom, please notice, the crack in the Jacuzzi was noticed only after your check-out. However it was at the front, on a decorative plastic and could not cause any leaking while using it.

Caldera Villas offers enriched continental breakfast. Our continental breakfast includes:
Filter coffee, tea, orange juice, milk, serials with dried fruits, yogurt, two types of jam, honey, sugar, fresh black and white bread, butter, fresh vegetables (tomatoes, pepper, cucumbers, olives), feta cheese, regular cheese, eggs, spinach pies, cakes and fresh fruits according to the season.

Obviously, after finding different, less expensive accommodation (after spending a lot of your precious vacation time, looking around for a last minute offers) you showed your unhappiness with our hotel. We are sorry we could not satisfy your needs and desires, however, our staff tried all their best as they do for every and each of our guests.

Caldera Villas
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed three nights in Caldera Villas in one of their smallest rooms in July. We hadn't pre-booked, but we got it in the last minute with the help of a local travel agancy. The first impression we got of it was astonishing! The view is amazing and the staff is very friendly and made us feel like at home.

The location is perhaps difficult for people with difficulties walking in stairs, but the about 50 steps down is definitely worth taking.

We would definitely stay here again and we can recommend it as a honey moon hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My fiance and I, along with another couple, just returned from an amazing trip to the Greek Islands. These cute apartments were recommended to us by friends that spent their honeymoon in Greece 20 years ago. I was sold by the description of the place based on how it was back then. Well it’s even better now. There was no pool back then but there is now so even though the pics don’t show it, it’s there. While small in size, there is a deep end it more than served its purpose during the 90 degree days in Santorini. The views from all levels of the complex are ridiculously beautiful and it’s right in the midst of all the shops and restaurants of Oia. At night, there is a nice cool breeze but if that’s not enough, there are air-conditioners in every room. A couple of minor glitches would be 1) you could have an unlucky draw and get a room without a shower curtain in the bathroom and 2) due to it not being a typical hotel there is no restaurant/bar on the premises but as I stated earlier, it’s steps away from all of the restaurants you will need. Plus you can stock up your in-room refrigerators with all that you need and eat and drink and enjoy time on your balcony or patio. Not to mention, there is a kitchen where the lovely manager Elena, whips up a breakfast daily for as much as your stomach can handle at no extra cost. She also manages to find time to cut up some refreshing fruits during the hot afternoons for a mid-day snack for any and all to enjoy. The hospitality was great, the location was perfect and the price was right so I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarbear02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The location is absolutely beautiful with a fascinating view into the caldera. The suite was big and very well kept. We had breakfast on the sunny terrace with fresh omelets and nicely prepared food every morning. The evening view from the terrace was simply perfect. The staff was great, Helena was the smiling soul of the hotel who managed all our needs with her special friendlyness, Sami helped us with everything and stayed cool even when he carried our heavy bags up the steep stairs, Anna-Maria kept the rooms perfectly clean every day.
We spent perfect days in the Caldera Villas Suites.
We would like to recommend the owners to hire more employees since the three people there have to do everything and work all over the day!
Thank you Helena and the staff!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globus-tracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Caldera Villas presents one of the best views from a hotel in the entire world. Overlooking the utterly breathtakingly gorgeous Aegean Sea, with a close view as well of the surrounding hills of Oia and their blue-domed churches, several cozy two-story rooms are literally carved into the cliffside. The hotel is located in Oia, the northern end of a postcard-perfect island. While the bathrooms (without a shower or curtain) leave something to be desired, and there is no Internet access, but it just does not matter—you will want to spend every second you have around or in the wonderful pool from which you have a marvelous view of the stunning sea and hills. The staff is amazingly kind and helpful, and you will spend your stay pinching yourself wondering, “Can I really be at such an incredible hotel with a miraculous view?” Getting there requires a hike down many steep stairs, and returning to the shopping area of Oia requires an even more arduous hike back up. Helpfully, the staff will carry your luggage (and it’s nice to tip them!).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyperplanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed here for 5 fantastic nights. The view of the Caldera is stunning, all of the rooms face out to the volcano, a great view to start the morning. All of the staff were incredibly attentive and friendly, but a special mention has to go to Elena and Sammy. This is by no means the cheapest accommodation in Santorini, but, for the view alone, it has to be one of the best. A word of caution for those with mobility problems, the stairs are a killer!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#41 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#38 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing