We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely - but DON'T GO FOR THE SPA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kirini Suites & Spa
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely - but DON'T GO FOR THE SPA”
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We were awed by the beauty of this island and the beauty of The Kirini Hotel. Although the view is 5 star, we would not consider this worthy of a 5 star hotel rating, though, for the following reasons: 1) Our room was much smaller than expected for 700 Euros a night with awkward furniture and a sparse bathroom. The balcony was not private at all. The staff did oblige our request to lower the mirror in the bathroom so that I, a 5ft. 7 in (1 m,65) woman could see myself in the mirror. 2) The in room blowdryer was from the 1950's and I ran around the island with wet hair subsequently 3) Service was verrrrryyy slow 4) THE SPA WAS TERRIBLE - do not waste your money for one second!! The masseur made my husband keep his wet bathing suit on for his massage in the lobby of the spa!!!! (250 euros - a complete waste) ! 5) No complimentary shuttle pick up to and from the hotel. On the other hand, the new, young chef is wonderful. He was trained by a Michelin starred French chef and the food is delicate, precise, and well thought out. The fixed menu at The White Cave restaurant was beautifully prepared and delicious. The wine pairing was perfect, although parsimonious. We did feel rushed, though, throughout the meal. We agree with past reviewers regarding the lack of a true restaurant and bar on site. The staff was a bit too attentive and constantly present...hard to find privacy. The island is gorgeous with fabulous restaurants, but we will try someplace else next time.....

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the spa
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Frenchfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    41
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
46
481
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We prefer the individuality and personal attention that you find in boutique hotels and the Kirini did not let us down, starting with champagne on arrival. Customer Service was excellent throughout our stay. The rooms were a reasonable size and were full of character with lots of little luxuries. All rooms have a terrace with stunning views of the caldera and lovely sunsets but most of these are not very private. Our terrace included a cleaners cupboard (noisy from 0800) and the path alonside was a thoroughfare for guests and non-residents. The private jacuzzis are overlooked by neighbouring rooms.

Don’t expect the range of facilities of a typical deluxe hotel. There is no bar as such and only a limited choice of restaurants . As most reviewers have said these are pricey but the service and food were excellent. We thought the 'tasting' menu wsa a great idea. If you ask them the hotel is happy to advise you on a range of good restaurants. Our favourites were Ambrosia (gourmet Mediterranean cuisine within 15 minutes walk - small and very popular so you need to reserve a table); 1800; and the Sunset taverna (need to take a taxi ride down to the beachfront/harbour but worth it for the fish and sunset views).

The hotel also arranged for a catamaran excursion and we had a fabulous time. You can do this privately or semi-private and it was well worth the money.

A couple of other negatives. The hotel pool area is quite small and you need to be there early to secure a sunbed. Although the steps look quaint they are also very dangerous – at least one guest slipped every day whilst we were there.

Oia is the most beautiful village on Santorini and we will definitely go back but next time we will probably stay at Mystique.

  • Liked — The stunning views
  • Disliked — Lack of facilities
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank top-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

When we arrived in Santorini and our first hotel in Fira "lost our reservation" (that is for another review), we contacted Katikies b/c we were staying there later in the week. They were booked for the nights we needed, but their sister property, Kirini, was available. They were very accomodating and got us right in. The hotel is built into the cliffs and the views are exceptionally beautiful. We were given champagne upon check in, and a tour of the facilities. The pool is spectacular, with really comfortable pool beds and umbrellas. Hotel employees cater to your every request. A nice, traditional breakfast is included, and you can have it delivered to eat on your patio overlooking the caldera. We ate lunch everyday down at the pool, along with several bottles of wine. The rooms are just like rooms in other nice hotels Santorini - spare, comfortable, and clean. I am so happy we ended up staying here the first few nights. It and Katikies are just fantastic hotels that are definitely worth the price (and I wasn't sure of that before we went, b/c they are EXPENSIVE). Kirini is smaller than Katikies and you get more personal service. But both are amazing.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank axyerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

The thing you need to know about the Kirini is it is not a hotel.....which is a bit of a shock when they are charging 5 star+ hotel prices.
When I read review before visiting I thought that people were just complaining about the prices because they just didnt want to pay; however I was wrong, the Kirini really is a bit of a rip off - I have stayed in many 'expensive' and 'exclusive' hotels which charge high prices and have never had reason to say this before.

Back to the 'hotel' - there is no bar and no restaurant. Food whether it be breakfast, lunch or dinner is served in two open cave type rooms next to the pool. On the web site they boast a 'restaurant' but this in fact is a couple of tables set up at night on the opposite side of the pool to the cave rooms. Breakfast is supposedly included in the room rate, but beware if you would like a cappuchino or espresso, this is going to cost extra.

Had cocktails by the pool, these were really poor, the person making them clearly did not have a clue- this is an example of what I mean by a rip off.

The bed rooms are average but we had to change rooms following numerous complaints regarding the lack of water.

The best thing about it is the location perched on the edge of a cliff with great views.

For some reason the hotel make out that the village of Oia is a 30 min walk and try to generally put you off going. In reality it is alot less than this (about 10 mins max) and is very nice indeed. We ate at 1800 restaurant which was very good and professional. We were annoyed that we had listed to the hotel and not spent each evening dining in the village, there seemed to be several reasonable looking places. Ate in the hotel one evening which was below average and very expensive for what it was (cost approx £90 per head).

Staff were fine, a little over attentive at times which gets annoying, but I think this may be to compensate for lack of facilities.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Lack of any facilities/scene
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SpaceHopperSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

I had the pleasure of staying at the Kirini in Oia from September 15th – 17th in room number 11 - the Kirini suite. Words simply can not express what a wonderful experience this was for my friends and me. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the service provided by Lefteris Antoniadis and his staff was impeccable. Everything was so tranquil and peaceful. The Kirini is a wonderful place to relax and unwind. We were spoiled from the time we got on the bus until we left.

We had to leave for the airport at 5:45 before breakfast was served in the restaurant. A staff member brought us a light breakfast when he picked up our luggage. This was so incredibly thoughtful.

My one and only complaint is that I could not stay longer. The staff made us feel like a million dollars. You have not lived until you have stayed at the Kirini. I highly recommend the Kirini suite.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wannesharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

Stayed here in September with a a group of friends and we were all really looking forward to a 5 star version of the Greece we used to visit when we were on shoestring budgets in years gone by.

Unfortunately this hotel was dissapointing in virtually every way. It isn't terrible, or grotty, but if you have high expectations of the Kirini I fear that you will be as dissapointed as we were.

On arrival you will be faced with the sheer terror of the steps. Steps everywhere of different sizes, different gradients and different levels of danger of breaking your neck falling down them after a few drinks. The room was OK. The decoration quite snazzy. We stayed in room 20 and the balconly was only wide enough for one person plus the outside chairs didn't have cushions. The pool is small but they always are in Greece. The staff do work hard and try hard but the service has an amatuerish quality to it. We found the lack of a bar and lack of restaurant very tedious. We arrived back from a local restaurant at 11.55 and the sfaff actually refused to serve us any drinks, so its was a case of back to the room - again. In fact there are no real facilities at this hotel and it seems to me that this was originally an apartment complex that has had a facelift and turned into a suite hotel. The only place to eat drink or hang out in general is around the pool or in your room - after 2 days there that was getting pretty boring. On the plus side the towels were nice and soft, and the toiletries are Hermes - although of miniscule proportions and for some reason we were only supplied with bath foam, and our room didn't have a bath only a shower. The place is clean and tidy and presentable.

In a nutshell, this can't really call itself a hotel as there are no hotel facilities. They would be better off losing a room or two to create a proper bar area for guests. Suggest room 9 which is next to the pool. I really don't think we got value for money. If we had paid £50 a night we would have though this place was great - but at over 500Euros a night - I feel that we were well and truly ripped off.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank BasilBrush1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

Stunning stunning stunning. Went with a group of people (8 in total). The hotel is not in the opulent luxury league but is still fabulous. The shower leaked water all over the room, and if you stay at the top of the hotel, you might find your shower doesn't work at all!! Decor was just ok, room was fine, nothing more. But the staff, attention, location, ambience, etc made up for all of this. Small hotel (only 19 rooms), and it shows. Manager is great. An abundance of stray cats - mostly friendly, although one of our party managed to wind up one of them so much it bit me!! If I'm not still posting reviews in 2 years, you'll know I contracted rabies... Had a massage - very good but quite hard. Pool was a little cold. Food was good - breakfast was great - fabulous pain au chocolat. No kids (in fact hardly any kids at all on the island). Oia itself is lovely - there is a really lovely restaurant on the way into Oia on the right hand side - can't remember the name though - has an upstairs - quite formal. Sunset restaurant was quite good too, although pretty rustic but spectacular location. The volcano is not up to much but then most of them are pretty boring (just a bowl of dirt and rock) Would definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asdfghjklUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.8 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirini Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirini Suites & Spa

Property: Kirini Suites & Spa
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#12 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kirini Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of Relais & Chateaux, Kirini Suites & Spa, combines the traditional Cycladic architecture with modern additions and the serene scenery of the Aegean. From the sybaritic A.SPA, among the best spas on the island, to the unique gourmet experience at Anthοs Restaurant, it is easy to see why Kirini Suites & Spa is considered to be among the top Santorini hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kirini Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirini Suites And Spa
Kirini Hotel Oia
Kirini Suites & Spa Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing