We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views”
Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, from 6/22-6/25/11. We had decided to stay in Oia as we felt we wanted a place that would offer shops and restaurants but be not so overrun with tourists. It was a good decision for us. We found Fira to be much more crowded. Oia does get busy around sunset time but that only lasts for a few hours. Booked via hotel's website beginning of January 2011. The Atrina traditional houses are all given names. We stayed at Canava house. Cost was 250 euros per night which included all taxes and breakfast on our private terrace/balcony. Chose this property due to the pictures and descriptions on the hotel's website. Was not disappointed as the property and amenities were as shown.

Our room was more than a room. It consisted of a very lovely bedroom with a big, comfy bed. Off the bedroom was the master bathroom divided into 3 different areas-sink, toilet, shower big enough to fit 4 people or more. Door leading from bedroom to living room/dining/kitchen area could be closed for privacy/quiet. There was another full bathroom off the living area. Kitchen was compact and had all you needed-for cooking, dining, cleaning. It had a sink, a 2 burner hot plate and a small refrigerator. If you wanted to do any cooking, etc. there was a small grocery type store steps away from this property. We also had a large private balcony which looked out to the caldera, the pool area, and the other properties. It was amazing. We had a table, chairs, and loungers on the balcony. There was a welcome bottle of wine waiting for us-a nice touch. We were given a cell phone to use as you had to call when you were ready for breakfast.

Wonderful service from all staff. Always ready to answer questions, give directions, etc. The property is also in a good location-right close to shops and restaurants. It is off the main pedestrian walkway across from the kindergarden. An easy walk to the area where people gather to watch the sunset.

Breakfasts were typically Greek-yogurt that was divine, fresh fruit, breads, honey, jams, fresh orange juice and great tasting coffee. You could order other breakfast items such as eggs at extra cost if you so desired. We also got a Nature Valley apple crisp bar which we would save for a midmorning snack.

The pool area was very nice. The pool itself is not huge but big per Santorini/Oia standards. Plenty of loungers, towels. Could be in the pool and look out to the caldera. Staff provided water free of charge.

The views from our room were all we could have hoped for and then some. It was beautiful also at night with all the lights. There is no sunset view but we saw the "famed" Santorini/Oia sunset from the end of the walkway and a nicer experience by the desalination plant where we saw the entire village of Oia in the background, but without the crowd of tourists. With all the hype I must say we expected better sunsets than what we saw. The colors of the water and the charming white/blue structures are what wowed me.

The main problem we had was with parking. We had a rental car and there aren't a lot of parking spaces. We were pretty fortunate that there were only a few times where my husband had to park the car a far distance away. The pros of having a car definitely made up for the cons. We were able to explore the entire island-wineries and beaches and quaint villages.

Would recommend this property if looking for a good location in Oia and great service. I did not think the price was bad for a property with a great sea/caldera view, a pool, and the immense suite/room we had.

Room Tip: We chose the Canava. It was very roomy, clean, and fully equipped if thinking about cooking your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris45ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

We just arrived with the pick up service atrina setup for us. Everyone is very friendly and our room is beautiful. The view from our place is like a dream... the hotel even left us a bottle of wine for our anniversary. The cell phones they give u is also a nice touch. I really loved that there is free wifi. I just feel very relaxed and my wife was in tears on how beautiful everything turned out. This place is in the perfect location too. I am just so glad/happy that we chose this hotel and i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for that perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DSiegelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This review is written from the perspective of the parents of a 3 year old child: Santorini feels like the last bastion of a kind of apartheid - clearly not through racial discrimination, but through discrimination against children. Atrina was one of the very few hotels here that would even consider taking children; In most other places there's a blanket ban for anyone under 12 or 13. Their excuse is that the 'Caldera' is dangerous: rubbish! The only danger would be parents who don't watch over their kids, but such people would be a danger anywhere in the world. The 'apartheid' stretches beyond hotels and into restaurants: we didn't find a single restaurant with a kids' menu, and in one place we were actually charged double for our daughter! This said, our daughter enjoyed her stay at the Atrina enormously: she even learned to swim there - the pool is absolutely perfect: don't be conned by the universal shots of the inifinity pool of another hotel up the road. What you don't see with that pool is that it's actually quite small, and the hotel itself is a very very long walk from anything interesting.
Back to the Atrina: What were the best things? The Pool, Breakfast, the fact that they welcome kids, and the VIEW! In our opinion the Atrina's location is perfect as well: it's just close enough to what's happening in Santorini, but far enough away from the melee to allow a good night's sleep.
The worst things? It's looking a bit tired. The bathrooms (at least ours) are sub-standard, and the beds are too small. But it's a measure of how good the view is that these aspects of the hotel are not the things that are at the top of your mind when you leave. Also, if - like us - you have young children, beware of the organised boat trip to the volcano, hot springs etc - it is totally unsuitable for young children (but the Atrina - who act as an agent in this - don't tell you about this before you go).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Library125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I can only echo the many positive comments in other reviews about this hotel. It is in a stunning location and as soon as you arrive you feel instantly relaxed and away from the hussle and bustle of Santorini.
My family of 4 stayed in the "Cavana 1894 house" and there was more than enough space for us. Breakfasts on our terrace were delicious, the pool area is stunning and the staff /owners were very friendly and helpful. They also made great restaurant recommendations!
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NHarris68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just returned from Santorini and my friend and i had the pleasure to stay at Atrina House. We rented the xenonas house and it was amazing. The room, bathroom, kitchen...all of it was beyond spacious, clean and beautiful. The private balcony, private jacuzzi and private entrance were icing on top.

The staff were soo friendly and helpful..arranging ATVs to be dropped off and picked up, delivering a delicious breakfast every morning and preparing a real yummy club sandwich. the pool is beautiful...everything about this place is just great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thishawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

First, Oia is the best place to stay in Santorini. Out of the chaos of Fira. You get tons of day-trip cruise passengers in Oia but that's ok.

The location of Atrina in Oia is great -- in the middle of Oia and convenient for walking driving etc. Non-stop views of caldera from your room/balcony. Sunset is overrated in my opinion -- you won't miss that here. Would rather stare out at caldera all day. We stayed in the Marina room and loved it. I'll agree with all of the other positive reviews. We were very happy with our decision. We spent a ridiculous amount of time looking online at places in Oia to stay at that weren't ungodly expensive but still had the amenities quality we needed (it was $500+ USD/night at peak of season).

The hospitality was great. We had some travel issues with the ferry and the striking workers and the owners gave us a head's up on this (we were clueless) and went through the trouble of changing our tickets (they even drove all the way to Fira to do so). They gave us great recommendations for things to do on the island -- beaches, wineries, restaurants. Rented a car for us. Probably some other things I've forgotten already.

Stay here and enjoy Santorini.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had three days at Atrina and loved it. Athina, one of the owners, was the perfect hostess -so helpful and friendly without being obtrusive. We had a most relaxing stay.
We loved our apartment and the pool was divine. We were brought bottles of cold water at the poolside and were happy spending hours there looking at the view. Breakfasts were yummy and we are now hooked (again) on Greek yoghurt!! The pastries and fresh fruit were excellent - all brought down by Costas at a time of our choice to the balcony.
Our flight from the UK was delayed by the Greek national strike - Melanie and Athina not only informed us of the strike before our airline but organised a taxi transfer when we arrived at midnight and it was one of smoothest transfers we have ever had! We arrived to find a complimentary bottle of Santorini wine.
Senior suite was very spacious for our family of 4 adults; it had a great balcony with sunloungers, table and chairs and a fabulous view. The bathroom could be improved but it didn't affect our overall view of Atrina as wonderful..... We would love to go back.
Oia is a lovely town and highly recommended. We swam at Amoudi bay )rocky but fun) after walking down the steps. Later in the week we went on a sunset boat trip (Thalassa) which also visited the volcano, recommended both by Athina and the hostess at our next apartment.
Thank you Athina and her Mum, sisters and staff. We would love to return someday....

Room Tip: look at the photos on the hotel website and Tripadvisor and ask Atrina's owners for advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonNetherEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
3.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#7 of 56 in Oia
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £198 - £741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing