We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved, Loved, Loved…what a view! Go!”
Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I just smile when I think back to our stay here! It is so amazing, in so many ways!

Our pre-arranged pick up, organised through the hotel was there at the airport waiting for us. On arrival, we were just blown away by the view at the top of the property and the look and feel of the Cave Resort. Check in was very smooth; we were shown to our Cave House (The Studio) promptly. We were greeted by a reasonable sized patio which had two sun loungers and a dinning table and chair on it. I can not express enough how fabulous the view is from your patio (all patios have the same view) Once inside, we were greeted by a cool, open plan large studio, with a cute bathroom. It was very clean.

The pool area is small but again, wow, what a wonderful place to relax and look out over the Caldera. Towels are provided and a complimentary bottle of water for you.

I should mention the breakfast…you ring from your Cave House when you are ready for it and it arrives within 15mins max of placing the call. The breakfast is very nice - yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries, fresh orange, coffee/Tea. It's substantial. Though I will add a bit of feedback for the properties Manager; if you are staying for a week like we did, the breakfast does start to become a bit repetative. Maybe you can mix it up a bit every other day?

Oia and this Cave Resort is beautiful. I want to go back…I just loved waking up to the view across the Caldera every day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Around_the_World_165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for a week at Atrina. It is worth the price for the views alone. Each room or house as they describe has everything you need for a comfortable stay. They are all generously sized and well appointed. The view from the room was spectacular to say the least. Breakfast was served on your terrace and was really nice but possibly could have been varied slightly over the week. The pool area is compact but this is no ones fault as all properties in Oia are built into the cliffs so space is always going to be a bit tight. We had a wonderful holiday and nothing was too much trouble for the small team of friendly staff. They were always there if you needed something but left you have your own space. I particularly liked the way they popped down and lit lanterns around your property as the sun went down. A more relaxed and chilled out atmosphere would be hard to find.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaffordMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is not a cheap place, but the Santorini leg of our Greek trip was our time for relaxation between Athens and Naxos. Between the enormous (and delicious) breakfast brought to our balcony, the cushioned sun loungers at the edge of our deck area, the beautiful infinity pool, soft bath robes, great toiletries and delivered club sandwiches whenever I couldn't bear to move, Atrina was perfect for us. I'd definitely return!

Room Tip: The lowest level of rooms offers a bit more privacy from the street and a view unobstructed by other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjsinbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Wow! I stayed at Atrina when my best friend was getting married in Oia. She reserved the room for us, so it was a very nice surprise when we got there. It is a truly beautiful hotel with best in class service. We stayed in the Canava Suite and I would definitely stay there again. I looked forward to waking up every morning to walk outside to see the view of the volcano and enjoy the breakfast that was delivered on the patio. This hotel is expensive, but it is as beautiful as it looks and the service is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Oia is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been and Atrina lived up to all of my expectations. My husband and I stayed in Melanie's House, which we liked because there was less foot traffic and it had its own side entrance that is shared with the house next door (Tholos 2). The location of the hotel was ideal-- away from the cruise ship crowds and perfect walking distance to a variety of amazing restaurants. The views were incredible. What we really loved about Atrina was the attentive service and the excellent recommendations from Athena regarding boat tours, restaurants, places to visit, etc. She was an amazing host and always set up the best reservations. Honestly, the only thing that was missing at Atrina was a dresser for our clothes. You will not regret staying at Atrina Houses. We are hoping to visit again one day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

On arrival in Oia we could not believe its beauty. We were greeted where the car traffic stops by a member of staff, who took charge of our bulky luggage, leaving us free to make our way to reception. Atrina is conveniently located a short walking distance from where you will leave your vehicle - and is located directly off the paved pathway. Being high on the hillside gives you the most beautiful view of the caldera and surrounding villas. We found a gift of local (delicious) wine as our trip was to celebrate a birthday. We sat on our landing like kings, sipping wine and soaking in the atmosphere.

We stayed in Tholos House, which was on the top level. There was no pedestrian/traffic noise and the other residences did not disturb our piece of heaven. The house was spacious, spotless and all you could want. Lovely white and blue decor, a sofa and coffee table, dining table and chairs, kitchenette with refrigerator, bathroom with shower and toilet.

The bed was very comfortable with crisp linen and towels. Some toiletries were supplies such as soap, shower gel etc... Gorgeous pool area and sunlounges make the accommodation even better. Breakfast was served in your house, on request. When checking in you are given a mobile (cell) phone which you can use all over the island. A great innovation!

Apart from the fantastic houses, what really stood out was the professional and abundant assistance we received from management, when the strike threw our plans awry. We were so grateful for their generous time and advice, trying to rebook/reschedule flights and making many calls on our behalf. A mark of a professional and understanding team - we really appreciated your help.

Our return trip is hopefully not too far in the future, and we will definitely return to Atrina.

Steven and Rosalee Scriven
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scrivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

mypartner and i and 2 friends have just recently spent the most fantastic 5 days at atrina houses in caverna 1894.we chose this place out of many due to the glowing reports on trip advisor.it certainly lived up to its reputation.from the moment you walk through the gates and witness the astonishing view,you know you are about to stay somewhere special.
the room was great and the beds very comfortable.
loved the idea you chose what time you want breakfeast and just pick up the phone and let them know you are ready.everything was so fresh,and we could never manage to eat all that was offered.
all of the staff were marvellous...extremely polite and helpful.they really did go out of their way to help.
i would definitely reccommend for other people to stay here.the location in oia was perfect on the quieter end of the strip.
all in all a fantastic stay.
from roy,kevin,noel and peter

Room Tip: did not see all rooms,but by speaking to other guests they all remarked on how nice and clean the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perthroyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
3.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#7 of 56 in Oia
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £198 - £741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing