We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family of 4 could not have been more pleased with Atrina!”
Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

What a wonderful stay we had at the Atrina Traditional Houses. It was perfect!! Just a little walk into the main area of Oia and far enough away from alot of noise. Athena was a wonderful hostess as well as Costa who catered to our every need. We cannot say enough about the wonderful stay we had at Atrina. Especially for a family of 4!! We stayed in the 2 bed suite and had a breathtaking view outside our balcony, an incredible breakfast brought right to our balcony every morning, and a nice pool to cool off in!!
We also loved the idea that these caves were the original caves where wine was made from 1897!! The inside was cool and you didn't even need airconditioning - although it was there just in case.

We loved it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stay0693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

You HAVE TO stay here! It is literally the most beautiful, friendly, family run hotel and they made our honeymoon everything we could have wished for and more.

From the complimentary mobile phone for your stay there - to call for breakfast and if you need any general advice about where to visit, eat etc - to the friendly staff, beautiful setting, incredible rooms (I definitely recommend Marina's) and especially the quiet, stunning pool, this really is the place to stay in Oia if like the boutiquey feel.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Marina's is stunning! white washed furniture and a duvet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel ranks as one of the best places we have stayed in the world!! It is nothing short of breathtaking...as my daughter said on our first morning as we sat on our terrace awaiting our lovely breakfast to be brought up to us "I feel like royalty" ...and that is how they make you feel. The views from each of the rooms is spectacular and our room, Cavana 1894 was HUGE!! I know so many of these reviews sound so much alike, but Atrina is really something very magical. When our ferry to Mykonos was cancelled, Athina worked so hard to make alternate arrangements for us. Dinner suggestions and boat trip suggestion were all terrific. I really wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else than Atrina should I get back to Santorini!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torontoliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have been blown away by our experience at Atrina. I'm sure there are less expensive places with an equally amazing view, but the beautiful design of the property and rooms and the outstanding service would be very hard to beat. Food is great, location is perfect, and it's soooo quiet. We are in Tholos II which is pretty private as it and (Melanie) have a separate entrance. A+

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I and our two children (ages 8 and 11) stayed at Atrina for a week in July 2011. I have traveled around the world, seen beautiful sights and stayed at luxury hotels, but Atrina in Santorini was one of the most beautiful and relaxing places I'll ever see in my life. I loved every minute of it.

The hotel is located at the beginning of the town of Oia. I highly recommend its location because 1) you are not surrounded by the tourist crush that worsens as you venture further down the one narrow main street into Oia (towards the tip where everyone watches the sunset) and 2) the hotel rooms cascade down the cliffside so it provides complete tranquility. You don't hear any street noise at all, yet you can always venture out and be in the main town in less than two minutes. Do not bring a car. If you want to explore the rest of the island, the hotel can arrange a tour or a car rental.

Upon arrival, we were given a warm welcome and there was a chilled bottle of white wine in our room, which was greatly appreciated after the extreme sun and heat. We were given a complimentary cell phone to use during our stay, in case we wanted to order food or contact the front desk. The staff was always helpful, courteous and friendly.

As other reviewers have stated, the main selling point of Atrina is the view. It is more breathtaking than you can imagine and is an instance where reality is much better than the website photos. The instant I stepped onto the property and saw the 180+ degree view of the Santorini caldera, I felt more relaxed than I have in years! The breadth of the view before you, with the intense colors and sunshine, are magnificent.

We stayed in the Canova room, which is one level above the pool and has a balcony that is mostly hidden from guests using the main staircase (that descends from street-level/check-in to the pool). I noticed that some of the other rooms are in direct view as you pass up and down the stairs, so you might want to ask for a balcony that has more quiet and privacy if you want to sit outside. The room itself had a good-sized sitting area, small kitchenette (good to store snacks and drinks, I would not really cook here), futon sofa, queen-sized bed and a huge renovated bathroom with a rainshower and Korres bath products. Our kids shared the futon, but this room would be too small if you had a family of four that had older/larger kids.

We loved the daily breakfast, which was delivered to our balcony. Heaps of Greek yogurt, fresh fruit salad, pastries, French press coffee - fresh and healthy food, all with a stunning view.

We spent a few hours at the pool every day. It is an infinity pool and the edge appears to drop off the cliff and into the caldera. There are several lounge chairs and a small bar where you can order drinks, coffee, sandwiches and light fare (and with the Greek heat, you won't want anything heavier to eat anyway).

One day we did rent a car to go to Red Beach (beautiful, dramatic setting, but much too pebbly to swim and no bathrooms or food stands). One of our favorite stops was an off-the-beaten village called Megalochori, recommended to us by the hotel. Hardly any tourists. There is an amazing restaurant right in the town "center" where you can enjoy grilled meats and salads under a trellis of flowering vines. Then take a walk through the winding, whitewashed village for picture-postcard Greece without the tourists.

Our favorite restaurant on our entire two week trip to Greece was Red Bicycle in Santorini. Sophisticated takes on Greek classics on a beautiful terrace where you can view the sunset. We went there twice and the owners were extremely friendly to our little girls and even gave them some Greek books after our last dinner.

**This is a wonderful hotel on a beautiful island. Save up, spend the extra money and treat yourself - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ABCnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were speechless when we first saw our room and the view. It is quite simply one of the best views and rooms we have ever stayed in. Santorini itself is the most picturesque Greek island we’ve visited and staying at the Atrina was the icing on a very beautiful cake.

We were in Senior and it was huge. You entered into a lounge area with a sofa and chairs, a big table and kitchette off to the left (two ring hob, fridge, sink). Tea towels and washing up liquid were provided, but best of all water was already in the fridge and so was a cold bottle of local wine – a fantastic touch.

The bedroom was smaller, but beautifully done, and the bathroom was big with a rain shower. Nice Korres products too. The whole place was domed high roofs, and tiled floors. We took our 7 month old and a cot, blankets and sheets had been provided. Although I can understand why Santorini isn’t very kid-friendly (there are sheer drops everywhere!), Atrina was brilliant, and also provided a highchair for us and helped us get cabs that would fit the car seat.

Breakfast served on the terrace was breath-taking. Just the most amazing way to have breakfast, and our baby enjoyed eating al fresco too! I would stick to continental or Greek breakfasts, the English wasn’t great, but that didn’t matter when the other two were amazing – fruit croissants, cheeses, ham, yoghurt etc (we ordered both and then shared it all).
The pool area is small, but all of the places in Oia have small pools because they are built on the side of a mountain. It was enough room for us to sunbathe and then swim with our little one in the pool.

The location of Atrina is perfect. It is on the marble walkway that leads into Oia town and is far enough away to avoid the noise, but near enough that its just a minute’s walk before you are in the thick of it. There are plenty of tavernas, shops and bars here to keep anyone satisfied.
All in all, I would highly recommend Atrina. It is a bit expensive, but it is honestly worth every penny, I would return again tomorrow!

Room Tip: I cannot imagine there is a bad room here - they all face the sea and the whole place is so tasteful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curlygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Atrina is really special and if you're a couple you will have a second honeymoon whether you like it or not!!

Our room (Melanie's) was at the top and a great position. Simply beautiful and great staff - thanks Atina.

The five nights was too short !!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wyego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.2 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 58 in Oia
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
2.1 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 51 in Imerovigli
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £266 - £759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing