We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb, Amazing place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
東京
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb, Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Informative and warm staff, beautiful view. Nice breakfast in the room balcony.It would be better if the bathroom was more treated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    26
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
133
432
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Absolutely superb. Atrina's is only about 50 metres from the start of the pedestrian walkway, so access from the road is quick and easy, and in any case our (Atrina arranged) taxi driver rang ahead and Atrina's friendly staff were there to meet us and transport our luggage. We had the Senior Suite booked which is a spacious residence only maybe 20 steps from the top of the cliff-top office. A further 20 odd steps down from our suite was the pool and bar, which was a brilliant place to have a cocktail or two and a small meal.
Guests are provided with a mobile phone during their stay which has two pre-programmed numbers; one is for the office so that if you are ever in any difficulties anywhere on the island, a quick call and you will be sorted; the other number being for the bar. This can be used to order drinks and food during the day from your room if you wish, and is also used to order breakfast each morning, which is delivered to your terrace in quick time and placed on a clean linen tablecloth on your table. Very civilised.
Quality of food and drinks was first class, especially as there is no formal restaurant, and both the owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful, from arranging sailing trips, car/bike hire, restaurant recommendations, taxi pick up etc. Nothing appears to be any trouble.
I cannot recommend this property highly enough. It is brilliant!

Room Tip: My personal preference would be to book a room higher up the cliff so as to avoid more steps than ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RussellS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent half of our honeymoon at Atrina, and it was just perfect. The reservation process was simple, the staff helped arrange a taxi to the hotel, and every single detail was perfect. The breakfast on the balcony was delicious, and the staff was extremely helpful wi dinner reservations as well as reserving a sailing cruise for us.

Rooms were spotless and cleaned twice a day. Breakfast was delivered 10 minutes after ordering, and the hotel was very relaxing. Walking around Oia is simple, too, so don't worry about that!

You will not be disappointed!

Oh, did I mention the view?! Incredible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel deserves its high ranking because it was an all around excellent experience and while not inexpensive, it is certainly not as expensive as many more pretentious hotels with a similar location.
The location is good, right at the beginning of the pedestrian central walkway that goes through Oia.
Best of all was the staff and service. At the top of the staff is Athina who was infinitely helpful, particularly as both my wife and I had problems with our luggage getting lost and my wife who was coming on different flights missed a connection and came a day late.
The rooms are very comfortable a tastefully decorated. All of the rooms have an outdoor area with chaise lounges and or table and chairs on which you can sit and eat a delicious breakfast that has been carried up to your room.
We also enjoyed sitting on the terrace at the end of the day with a glass of wine and a snack.
I stayed in two rooms and while not exactly the same size they were equally as comfortable. I don’t think there is possibly a bad room in the place.
Each room has a small kitchenette with a good sized refrigerator, plates, cutlery, glasses. Not made for serious cooking but perfect for storing and fixing snacks and hors d’oevres.
The pool area is nice with a combination of shade and sunny areas. The pool is about 6 feet deep except for one end where you can sit on a shelf. The temperature of the pool in late July was delightfully refreshing.
One nice touch is that the hotel loans you a phone which works as a hotel phone but also as a local mobile phone in the area.
All in all this is a place to relax, feel pampered, and enjoy excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panowizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We went here for our honeymoon three years ago and had such an amazing time that we came back! I was partly expecting the experience couldn't possibly be as good as I remembered... but it WAS!
Service: The hotel is run by an awesome Greek woman and her three daughters, and they are incredibly helpful. They will make reservations, call cabs, advise you on where to go and what to see, and basically bend over backwards to make you feel pampered and comfortable. They also have a funny little pug who sits in the office and lets you pet him.

Rooms: Otherworldly. Gorgeous, whitewashed furnishings in beautiful high-ceilinged rooms, that all open doors and windows to the view of the caldera (the bay) below. Cool bathrooms, always clean, great cleaning service (they can do your laundry for a fee), little kitchen area, and a fridge for putting your wine.

Pool: The best part. Flowers drip everywhere, they'll make you milkshakes, and lazing in the pool looking out over the water is like being on another planet, it's so beautiful.

You just have to stay here. I can't wait to go back for a third time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctaAndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

After doing our research on where to stay for our honeymoon we booked at Atrina. The reviews don't even do it justice. Everything about the place is absolutely perfect. From the time we pulled up in our car until the time we left we could not ask for a better experience. The rooms, the service, the view, and the location are the best in all of Santorini. I honestly have never stayed anywhere so perfect and I have traveled all across the world. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMtheGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauniainen, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Amazing place! So beautiful that you just can’t imagine. You just don’t get the feeling from pictures you need to experience it yourself! The view is breath taking. Also our kids (2 yrs and 4 yrs) just loved the place! They also miss Porcello, the lovely dog at the reception. Only thing that worried us beforehand was that how it’s gonna be with small kids. But everything was just perfect! Our room Canava Suite worked well in every way. There is not a single reason why you couldn’t enjoy your vacation at Atrina with young ones.

The breakfast is really nice! Also toasts and salads they serve are very tasty! And the room service prices are not expensive.

Location is optimal: it’s quiet place but really close to all main attractions of Oia. There is nice small shop with pretty good assortment nearby, only 50m away, in case you want to buy something to room kitchenette.

We just hope to go back someday…

Room Tip: Canava Suite worked really well with young kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.0 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Property: Atrina Canava 1894
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing