We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Atrina”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Atrina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Amazing Atrina Houses is simply the best place to stay on Santorini in Oia Village. This review is very late but we promised ourselves that we'd do it on return. So better late then never. We stayed for 4 nights in July and then moved to Firastefani, but by then we had been well and truly spoilt. Even though we had a VIP suite at our Firastefani accommodation, we had "Atrina Houses" withdrawal symptoms to get through. Everything is superb but the friendly professional service takes the cake. Athina and Irena just couldn't be more helpful with booking tours, recommending great restaurants and answering endless questions. We stayed in the Canava cave house with our 11 year old and it was perfect and certainly roomy enough. The fruit salad for breakfast was first class, but everything was great. As previous reviews have mentioned we were greeted on arrival by Costa the strongest man in Greece we reckon. After all the shopping in Athens, he carried my 30 kilo suitcase slung over one shoulder with ease. Amazing! And next time we visit I won't do that to you again Costa I will leave the shopping to last stop in Athens. A beautiful touch was the bottle of wine on arrival plus the mobile phone to use during our stay. We could ring Athina at any time from any part of the island for anything basically. And just to finish there is a lot you can do on Santorini besides relaxing and shopping. Visit all the beaches, do the sunset bbq catamaran tour, dine down in Amoudi Bay at sunset, hire a car and tour the island it's worth getting around. Santorini felt like paradise !!!

Room Tip: I think all the cave houses in this venue would be superb and the website allows you to do a virtual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_P848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    26
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
136
438
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Atrina Houses is one of the many resorts offering scenic "cave" houses on the cliffs facing the calderia with beautiful views of the Mediterranean. Although these resorts are simular in appearance on various parts of the Island, the differences are both in location and how they are finished inside along with how many stairs you have to climb for access. Atrina houses are in village of Oia on north end of Island which most people find to be the most upscale area. Oia has the best shopping, some of the best eating and scenery and is especially famous for it`s sunsets. Atrina has had more updating, including A/C (some of the cave houses can feel damp), nicer pool, furniture and bedding than some of the others. It is also higher on the cliffs with less stairs down (can still be 35 to 50) than some of the the other properties which can have 2x that amount or more. There is no other access so be prepared to be able to do steps if you plan on staying in cave houses. The help will carry luggage up and down so that is not an issue. They serve an excellent breakfast on your outdoor patio each morning (included). Resort is very well maintained and an excellent choice although you can stay cheaper other places. We rent a car but can use Island buses. Would suggest at least 3 day stay on Santorini but plan on a week if you really want to relax. It one of the most beautiful places on earth. Late spring and early fall are best seasons with best weather and less crowds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Loved it here!!! I was so excited to stay here and Atrina did not disappoint! We stayed in the Tholos House for 4 nights at the end of September. The room was beautiful, very spacious, and the location was perfect. We ate breakfast every morning on our balcony with incredible views. The only thing I would mention is the bathroom doesn't have a shower head mounted to the wall, it's the kind you have to hold. It took a few minutes to get used to, and I had to put it down every time I wanted to shampoo,rinse, etc. but definitely not a big deal (I just felt like it made me waste water!) I feel awful that I can't remember the woman's name at reception but I am bad with names, however, she was awesome. Anything we needed, dinner reservations, transportation, cruise tickets, she handled, right away. She was so nice and definitely made a difference. I would 100% stay here again and hope I get the chance to sooner rather than later. Also- Santorini in late September- amazing weather during the day, HOT, but at night, it cools down quite a bit, probably because you are up so high on the cliffs, so keep that in mind when you are packing!

Room Tip: all the rooms had great views- don't think you could go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magestic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Atrina is one of my favourite hotels of all time. We stayed for 4 nights but wish it was longer.
The staff were friendly and professional from the first time I sent an email. They were always replied to promptly.
Our airport pick up was arranged and the Kosta met the taxi at the pedestrian walkway. We were lucky to arrive as the sun was setting and we were already impressed.
Check in was prompt and easy, our bags were taken to our rooms whilst we were given a tour of pool facilities and room. Simply stunning
We were provided with a mobile phone for our stay. We could call the bar and our breakfast was delivered, or drinks throughout the day. You could also call reception if you needed anything.
A complimentary bottle of wine was also provided...thank you, I enjoyed it!
We stayed in Melanies room, it was a good size and felt very private. We didn't have other guests walking across our balcony to get to the pool or street level. There also wasn't too many stairs to climb.
We were given great recommendations for restaurants and car hire was organised for us. Nothing was too much trouble.
It was a fantastic 4 days, I wish it was longer and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Melanies room . Close to street level, but very quiet no street noise from inside room. Also very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I travel A LOT! For work and for fun and I stay in a lot of hotels, so it take a really good experience to get me to write a review. This place was incredible. Our room was HUGE and very comfortable. Our views was unbelievable, the pool was perfect, the bar at the pool had great food and great drinks. The staff was very friendly but not in the fake annoying kind of way where everything they say come off as bogus and scripted (like some large luxury hotels).

The best thing about this place was what they did for us at the end of the stay. When we sent our boarding passes in an email for them to print they noticed that our flight wasn't until 3pm. At most hotels you would have to go to the front desk and negotiate to let them give you a late check out. . Not at Atrina, they called my room and offered it to me without me even asking. How nice is that??

Stay here.. trust me. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Canevas and it rocked!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VBlumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
東京
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Informative and warm staff, beautiful view. Nice breakfast in the room balcony.It would be better if the bathroom was more treated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Absolutely superb. Atrina's is only about 50 metres from the start of the pedestrian walkway, so access from the road is quick and easy, and in any case our (Atrina arranged) taxi driver rang ahead and Atrina's friendly staff were there to meet us and transport our luggage. We had the Senior Suite booked which is a spacious residence only maybe 20 steps from the top of the cliff-top office. A further 20 odd steps down from our suite was the pool and bar, which was a brilliant place to have a cocktail or two and a small meal.
Guests are provided with a mobile phone during their stay which has two pre-programmed numbers; one is for the office so that if you are ever in any difficulties anywhere on the island, a quick call and you will be sorted; the other number being for the bar. This can be used to order drinks and food during the day from your room if you wish, and is also used to order breakfast each morning, which is delivered to your terrace in quick time and placed on a clean linen tablecloth on your table. Very civilised.
Quality of food and drinks was first class, especially as there is no formal restaurant, and both the owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful, from arranging sailing trips, car/bike hire, restaurant recommendations, taxi pick up etc. Nothing appears to be any trouble.
I cannot recommend this property highly enough. It is brilliant!

Room Tip: My personal preference would be to book a room higher up the cliff so as to avoid more steps than ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RussellS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Property: Atrina Canava 1894
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing