We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in Oia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good choice in Oia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Atrina Traditional Houses are an excellent choice. It is not cheap to stay here, but in the context of hotel pricing in Oia (generally very expensive), you get what you pay for, plus a bit. I reckon one could pay a lot more and not really be any more happy.

Location is ideal for Oia, and the family who own/manage it are extremely helpful and very pleasant people to deal with. The views are magnificent from the room balconies. The quality of the rooms and the servicing of same were of a very high standard.

It was our first time in Santorini, and we drew a few conclusions: (1) for older people like us (50s and 60s age group), Oia is the only place on the island to stay, assuming you can afford it. (2) It was often windier than we expected, so sunbathing in May can be a borderline activity (3) the restaurants in Santorini are good but not great; we had better dining experiences in Mykonos, at lower cost.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Autodidact2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    26
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
136
438
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

A good friend recommended Atrina Houses to us and we couldn't have been more pleased. The traditional canavas, located in a quiet part of Oia, with impressive views make for a wonderful stay. However, the superb personal service certainly make it a place you'll want to return to again and again! Thanks to Melanie, Athena and the rest of the attentive staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAM789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I spent a week at Atrina for our honeymoon. The views were some of the best in Oia, if not the best in Santorini. The cave house we stayed in (Canava Suite) was true to Santorini style. It was minimalistic and bright, yet rustic and spacious. We enjoyed waking up each morning to a delicious breakfast provided to us on our private balcony. The staff was always friendly and happy to assist us with transportation, tourist information, reservations, or any questions. The service was exceptional. Our suite was cleaned twice a day. We highly recommend Atrina to anyone considering staying in Santorini.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Words and pictures won't do Atrina Traditional Houses any justice. We travelled as a family and chose the 2 bedroom apartment for my parents, sister and I. After a Iong search of the perfect place I stumbled upon this hotel on Trip Advisor and chose it for my mother's 50th Birthday. The service was outstanding, all staff greeted with a warm and welcoming smile especially a bell boy named Costa who had kindly helped my family with luggages and setting our breakfast table upon arrival till our 5am departure 3 days later. Our host Adriana also recommended a perfect restaurant 5 minutes walk from the apartment. After a long ferry trip from Athens, great service is VERY important! The view from our balcony was breathtaking, Oia is the BEST location in Santorini, it's close to all the must sees and less crowded. My family and I highly recommend this to other families and especially couples. Everything was magic.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartment has a spacious kitchen and 2 bathrooms, beautiful lounge area and the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This review is very overdue,
Before I begin, i would like to tell you that we are both travellers from Canada and I have been to many different 5 stars hotels/resorts around North America.

My wife and I went there for our Honeymoon July 2013 and the place blew us away. First off, the scenery is breathtaking, and the room is extremely unique, carved out into a cave. in your room you are provided with a music system preloaded with CDs that would suit every mood, especially when you are sitting outside on you beach chairs enjoying your view or breakfast in a semi private balcony.

Secondly, Service Fantastic. My wife had brought a hair straighter from Canada, and i had a converted, but for some reason, my converted got burned and as a result, the hair straightener got ruined. Called in Reception, i asked them if we can go somewhere to buy a hair straighter and i explained what had happened, they immediately sent someone to see what the issue was, brought one of their own hair straighter to use and a converter, no charge and I did not even ask for that. now that is what i call service.

You pre-order your breakfast in the morning, and they will bring it to your balcony at exactly the time you specified, they will softly knock on your door and leave, without even waiting for a tip.

I highly recommend this place for couples, it is very romantic place, excellent service, breathtaking view and location.

I hope I return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkhadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I carefully selected Atrina as I was planning a special holiday with my girlfriend on which I planned to propose. I was not disappointed. The hotel is exactly as it looks on the website. Each room is half built into the cliff and the hotel sort of tumbles down the cliff just below the pedestrian walkway into Oia. Each room has a beautiful little terrace (ours was very private) that overlooks the stunning Caldera. I popped the question on the terrace as the sun went down over the headland, and my now fiancee said yes - in truth, in that setting, it would be very difficult to say anything else. The room (Tholos II) is spacious, the bed very comfortable and the little terrace is so perfect that we spent quite a bit of time simply relaxing there. The staff are extremely welcoming and the breakfast that they bring to your room each morning is divine. And finally, the location is absolutely ideal being a short walk into the beautiful village of Oia but just slightly away from the busiest parts. We had a wonderful 3 nights and could easily have stayed a little longer. In my view Atrina represents fantastic value.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked excellent to me - ours was Tholos II which suited us very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

From the stunning views, cute and cozy rooms, friendly service and awesome breakfasts, this place did not disappoint. We loved the location and would highly recommend for a honeymoon stay in Santorini.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adtmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Property: Atrina Canava 1894
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing