We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Topnotch location views & service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Topnotch location views & service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Atrina has everything working in it's favour- It is located right at the beginning of the Oia path, so it is very convenient if you like walking around like us. The famed Oia sunset points are around 10-15 minutes away from Atrina.

We stayed in the Melanie's room, right at the top of the hotel. This was the best choice for us, as I was not very comfortable about walking down too many stairs. You might want to keep this in mind, if you have the same issue! Amazing view from the room, with your own balcony(semi private). There will be people passing your balconies in all other rooms, to reach the pool. Not the case with Melanies, so if you are lucky and there are no occupants in the neighbouring room (we were lucky!) you will have a private balcony!

Much has been said about the Atrina's service- just to repeat, they are amazing. They accomodate you're requests, give you awesome recommendations, give you a cell phone for easy access to them and genuinely care about your convenience! It is a professional family run hotel :)

We had initially booked in another,much more expensive hotel at the sunset point and changed our booking to Atrina couple of months before we travelled. So glad we changed! We had a chance to check out the other hotel, there was no privacy at all with hordes of people coming to see the sunset. Atrina was amazing value for money- the views, the privacy were unbeatable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arunimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    26
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
133
432
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for 4 days in June of this year and it was perfect in every way. Melanie's House was so lovely and sweet, the view was spectacular, and the breakfast on our terrace every morning was sublime. We really never ventured far from our terrace overlooking the caldera as it was too perfect. Athina and the team at the hotel were awesome including getting up at 4 am to see us off on the day we left. I assure you you will not be disappointed. It was a little piece of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: Melanies House was the best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here in June 2014 and completely loved this place!
We stayed in the Marina house and it was utterly charming! Totally spacious and do not think because these are caves they are dark /low roofed - they are Not! Clean as can be- quite spacious and the bathroom is crazy large! Great shower. My favorite part was the sizable terrace with umbrella table- 2 chaise lounge chairs and small table for 2 where we had our terrific breakfast delivered every morning. I always chose the real deal greek yogurt which came with fruit and greek honey yum! Breathtaking views!!! If you enjoy the pool I suggest ordering the Greek salad with Santorini cherry tomatoes- drinks at pool are pricey $15 there is a small grocery store almost next door where we bought snacks and drinks for the afternoon
Other highlights from our trip- the wine tour- 3 wineries Fantastic! Brought back some Vinsanto.
Hike Fiora to Oia-7 miles took us 3 hrs and we are in our mid 50s/60s we took bus to Fiora and walked back to Oia amazing views every step
Favorite restaurant Pelekanos- amazing views great food
Opa!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnykimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The postive reviews are indeed accurate. Service is excellent, the house we stayed in, Alexander's was well situated. The views from your private terrace out over the sea are among the finest in the world.
Just before our departure an email arrived from the ferry booking agency saying our sailing to Naxos was cancelled and that we would have to get ourselves to their ticket office miles away to rebook! We asked the hotel for advice- no problem they said! They went to the other town and rebooked us, got a refund of the difference in fare and contacted our next hotel to advise them of our changed arrival and pick up time.
This is what I would call exceptional service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDecameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just came home from a week in Santorini at Atrina. We stayed in Marina's Room. At the end of our stay we asked to have the room renamed after us as we didn't want anyone else to stay there! The hotel has an ideal location in Oia, most specifically as you can not see the balconies or pools from the streets as you can with so many other hotels. The view of the sea is not to be believed. We found everyone at the hotel to be pleasant and very helpful. Athena had wonderful suggestions for meals and daily activities. We loved walking down the donkey path down to the small fishing village and swimming to a small island that is the home of an old abandoned church. We enjoyed lunch and the Wave Bar. Enjoyed Metaxi Mas for dinner and on and on. Atrina is as special as Oia. THere are many hotels to stay in but would would you? Atrina is perfection!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room at Atrina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were supremely happy guests of Atrina Traditional Houses in the first week of July and quickly understood that, in the age of film, we would have spent a fortune. Everything about Atrina is magical, breathtaking and the source of life-long memories. The staff greets you with genuine smiles and looks after any need or request. On check in, you are given a cell phone with speed dials for reception and the pool kitchen so that, at the whim of your own schedule, breakfast can be ordered, reservations requested or sightseeing trips planned.

All of Oia is a white, frozen jumble of cubist blocks, one thousand feet above the water-filled caldera. It is difficult to tell where one house ends and another starts. Terraces might be the roofs of rooms below, walls define rooms or courtyards or narrow passageways that wind between whitewashed houses accented with bursts of bougainvillea pinks and reds. From your patio, in the middle of this postcard, you can enjoy the ever-changing colors of the sea and watch as cruise ships and ferries pass below like toy boats on a private pond.

We were in Canava 1894, a two-bedroom suite at the lower level of the complex. It is one of the most private rooms in the collection since it does not border the central stone steps that link the many terraced levels from the entry gate and reception at the pedestrian street to the pool at the lowest level below. It is a bright and spacious apartment with a high barrel ceiling over a living room and dining area that are separated from the main bedroom by an 8-foot stone wall and unpainted boulder that serves to remind guests that they are indeed in a cave.

But this cave is bright with whitewashed wood floors, white walls and light, natural materials that allow the light coming through the small deep-set windows and double doors to illuminate the spaces beautifully. A second, small bedroom with its own French doors, vaulted ceiling and private bathroom is reached via a short hall that contains the kitchenette with basic cooking equipment and dishware for simple in-house meals. The small patio is set with a table and four chairs, sheltered by a sturdy umbrella and the tall surrounding walls. The view from the terrace is ever changing and captivating, and although Oia offers many restaurants, shops and sights just outside the confines of this bleached and spotless Xanadu, it is difficult to find reasons to leave.

There are places in the world that must be seen to be appreciated. Photographs may be striking, but the full sensory experience is possible only in person. Atrina Traditional Houses is the finest perch in Santorini from which to enjoy this inspiring landscape.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Heaven
How can I put into a short review that Atrina traditional houses is truly my heaven on earth. We returned this July for our second summer in a row. Once again we stayed for seven nights and again this truly was not long enough. Yes the scenery is breathtaking and the rooms true perfection. That however is only a small part of what makes your holiday idyllic. It is most likely the people there from Costa,Adrienna,Gin, Atrina and her sweet dear mother, everyone is so very kind and welcoming. The guests feel their energy and warmth and share in a unique experience that really enhances any vacation. I will spend the next year with my memories but knowing I will return will bring warmth during the cold winter months. I love this gem of a boutique hotel and know anyone else would to!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dansam811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.0 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Property: Atrina Canava 1894
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing