We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the $”
Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not worth the $”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed at Atrina for our honeymoon in August...we chose this hotel based on the great reviews..to be honest, it was just ok...first of all, the staff is not that friendly...maybe im just used to american service, but for the amount of $ they charge i expect them to be at least pleasant. Melanie was on the border of being plain rude. She definitely acted like everything she did for us was a huge favor. Our room (Melanies suite) was nice, with a great private patio..however the bathroom would flood every time we showered (there is no glass or shower curtain or even a ledge to separate shower from the rest of the bathroom), and the whole room would smell moldy if we didn’t keep the windows open at all times. The towels/toiletries supposedly get changed once every 3 days (but we stayed for 5 days and had to call them to get anything done) The breakfast - although nice, is exactly the same every day. Plus, there's no front desk or pool bar or any kind of services. You're given a cell phone to call if you need something, but the staff is always at home and you feel like you're disturbing them. To sum it up, I don’t think this place is worth the $, there were plenty of nicer hotels w/ better service from what I hear from friends who stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank youngtraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    28
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
144
473
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayead at wonderful Atrina for one week last august.We have a lovely cava Minas house.I think we have the best patio at Arinas.Atrinas is so charming,beatyful and peaceful place.The breakfast each morning was amacing,so big!The owners are so frendly and Nikos is the best,always smailing!!!The wiew was breahtaking!Every morning,when we wake up and see the wiew,WAU!! And then comes Nikos whith breakfast,what a life!Room,patio and pool was great and location too. OIa is so beatyful and charming.best village at Santorini.Like Atrinas!We have fantastic week at Atrinas:I miss Minas house and Oia...And callery Oria too...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kottis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

My friends and I just returned from a wonderful week at Atrina in Oia. For some background, we are 5 women in our early 30's who spent 6 nights at Atrina and 2 in Athens. We stayed in the Cavana 1894 house. The hotel had a great location and wonderful service from all of the staff. the pool and view is breathtaking.

There are many positive reviews on this site, so i will try to add things that have not been mentioned yet to help plan any upcoming trips:

- As stated above, we stayed in the 1894 house which holds 5 people. The apartment was large enough for 5 to sleep comfortably; 2 in each room and 1 on a futon in the main room. The apartment had a large private balcony where we had a wonderful breakfast every morning.

- Cavana 1894 does not have full walls/doors that separate the bedrooms from the main room. Sound echos throughout the apt. So if you are parents who want to bring your kids along to stay in the second room and want some 'alone time', your kids will get a bit of an education ;).

- Not all balconies are created equal: because all rooms are built vertically into the cliff wall, some balcony's are walkways to other rooms. Our room had a private one, but from what i saw it did not look like it would be bothersome to have one that was not 100% private. In fact, you would get to meet many neighbors that way.

- Wireless internet can be found sporadically throughout the property, but from our room we were unable to access the signal. To access the internet we would go up to reception. To be honest, this was almost a blessing as it helped us from being 'connected' all the time, but if you are the type that needs the internet all the time be sure to ask for a room with a strong signal. Plus, internet was free! Hard to complain about that!

-The breakfast was awesome and very filling; we fell into a pattern where we would only eat two meals a day. Atrina allowed us to keep the extra pastries to snack on throughout the day.

-Regarding Santorini: we stayed on the island for 6 days. I would encourage any individual contemplating a trip to Santorini to take note of their "vacation style". If you like to sit on a beach/pool/relax/take things slow, 6 days should be about right. If you like a more active vacation, i would recommend staying 2-3 days on santorini and combining with another island. Personally i like an active vacation and can't really sit on a beach and found there was not enough to do to keep me occupied. But my friends in the group who like a slower pace thought the length was perfect. I would recommend renting an ATV/moped to tour the island, the hike to imerovigli, and a sunset cruise. The staff at Atrina can help arrange all of these activities.

- Regarding the staff; they were wonderful. They made recommendations, helped us with whatever we needed, and really go out of their way to make their guests feel at home.

In short, it was a fantastic week in a great location. I have already recommended Atrina to several friends who have been interested in Santorini.

Opa!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sh111496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2009

This is a first for me in writng a review...but I felt I had too. We stayed here with our 4 children and one of the main reasons I choose this hotel was that many other hotels on the Calderra dont allow children. It was incredible, from the rooms to the service and of course the view! We enjoyed ourselves so much on our last day we changed our morning flight to the afternoon just so we could have one more breakfast! This is my second visit to Santorini and now I cant wait for my third visit. Even if I was to return without my children I wouldnt consider any other hotel, how can they top this one!
Thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank have4kidsmusttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed at Atrina for 4 nights. What a wonderful hotel, traditional caves run by the family who do everything to make your experience phenomenal. The room we stayed (Canava) was large and comfortable, but regardless of which room you get all rooms have an amazing view just outside. Location is fantastic and it is awesome to have the pool as you need to cool off! Breakfast is included and is delcious, delivered to your door, it is very generous and more than enough. Reception is able to handle any requests and organise your schedule if you choose to have one whilst staying here.
The area of Oia is quintessential Greek, exactly what you see in the postcards, you will not be disappointed. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjc2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We booked Atrina for 14 nights for our honeymoon. We have already been twice to Perissa and visited Kamari and Fira for my sister's wedding. We fell in love with Santorini and chose Oia for the famous romantic sunsets. Right from our initial enquiry the service at Atrina was excellent and they answered our questions efficiently over email. All of the rooms have their own balcony with the amazing view of the Caldera and, as we were looking for somewhere for complete relaxation, we asked for the most private balcony. They recommended Mina's House to us, which certainly offered the seclusion we were looking for.

The accommodation is traditional; elegantly white and cool, and we had a spacious bathroom and kitchen area. There is a large fridge which is stocked with water, beer and soft drinks, as well as wine. Each guest is given a mobile phone on arrival so you just need to call the staff for whatever you want. There is a menu in the room offering a wide selection of drinks, served in your room or by the pool. Each morning a delicious (and plentiful!) breakfast is served, with freshly squeezed orange juice and tea/coffee, fruit salad, Greek yoghurt and a selection of pastries.

The pool is perched in the cliff with the same breathtaking view offered throughout. It is a decent size with a picturesque jacuzzi area under a bricked arch. From the pool area, when you look up you can see the whole Atrina complex which is impeccably clean, tidy and in keeping with the tradition of the Island. Care is taken each evening by the staff to stow away the umbrellas and place tea-light lanterns throughout, which is a thoughtful touch and adds to the ambiance to make you feel like you are in a romantic movie setting.

We hardly left the complex, but for those who enjoy day trips and sightseeing the staff were only too happy to make all the arrangements for you. Just a short walk from Atrina is the famous Oia sunset, a range of restaurants and shops.

The best thing about the holiday (aside from the weather and the view of course!) was the way the staff made us feel welcome. Whilst respecting our privacy, there was always someone there when we needed something. Every time they walked past we were greeted with a warm smile, receiving the high standard of hospitality that we have always experienced in Santorini. On our last night we were treated to an ice cold bottle of fizz, which went down a treat!!

My husband and I would recommend Atrina particularly for couples looking for a romantic break, but it is also suitable for families and groups of friends; for a few nights, or a luxurious fortnight, like the one we enjoyed. Thank you to all the staff at Atrina for a wonderful honeymoon that exceeded our expectations.

Noel & Nicola Smith (Green)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skendleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

From the first look we enjoy each moment of our stay.
Confort, style, excellent breakfast.
The best address in Island.
Athina, his father and the staff were great!
Loved!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brazilian2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.0 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#5 of 56 in Oia
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.0 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Property: Atrina Canava 1894
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing