We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could have asked for in Santorini”
Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything we could have asked for in Santorini”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We traveled with another couple and booked our trip based on tripadvisor reviews and photos. As with any place with a view like this, the photos cannot do it justice. This was an amazing experience across the board. The service was excellent, US Air lost our luggage and Marina at the front deck handled everything and got it from Athens to the hotel the next day. The pool is wonderful with a view that is unforgettable. We were a bit ahead of the high season and it felt like our own private resort. The location was great and everything was in walking distance. The rooms were authentic but modern and beautiful. We stayed in Melanie's House and our friends in the Studio. Both on the same level and about the same size. Both excellent views. We would absolutely recommend this hotel and can't imagine another hotel at this price point being able to provide the type of service and experience we had. Oia is a great place to relax and take in Santorini and if you are going to Oia, stay at Atrina, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    28
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
146
480
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We, along with 2 other couples, stayed at Atrina for 3 nights over the Easter holiday weekend. A friend of mine had stayed at Atrina the previous year and had highly recommended it. After now staying there myself, I can honestly say that it's the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. Oia itself is incredible, but our stay at Atrina really made Oia and Santorini the highlight of our vacation in Greece.

We shared Canava 1894 with one couple and the other couple stayed directly next door in the neighboring room. Between the 3 couples, we had an entire level to ourselves, so the porches overlooking the pool and ocean were only occupied by the 6 of us. The rooms were all beautiful with the traditional white washed walls and comfy furniture. Eventhough we shared with another couple, we felt like the 2 separate rooms afforded each couple privacy. There was a nice kitchenette as well, perfect for storing all of our drinks and snacks. The bathroom was a bit different for us as we are used to a shower and not just a handheld in the tub. It wasn't a big deal for us...just something new and something that we experienced at other places in Greece as well.

Breakfast was simple, but absolutely delicious and fresh and brought right to your door every morning. There's nothing better than eating your fruit and yogurt while staring out at the incredible views from the porch. I kept on commenting to my husband that I felt as if we had stepped out of a travel magazine and directly into Atrina Houses. The view was truly breathtaking no matter the time of day. We also enjoyed the pool which we were not expecting to even use in early April. But it was definitely hot enough to enjoy some poolside cocktails while admiring the incredible view.

I could seriously go on for days about Atrina Houses. It is one of our favorite memories to review from our Greece trip and I can't possibly say enough about this incredible location. We hope we are lucky enough to get back there some day.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahbean108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

See my review of Santorini & the town of Oia.
It is the ONLY place to stay in Santorini. Beautiful, incredible, what everyone thinks Greece is or should be.
After much research we chose Atrina. When we arrived I looked at all the other accom we had been considering esp the ones highly ranked on trip advisor.
We found Atrina to have the best location, incredible views and really looked like what you saw on the web pages. We also saw how easily people could pick the wrong place... some faced backwards into the village, some were so close to the road that the people walking by could watch you eating breakfast or lying in your swimmers on a sun lounge.
Time and again we thanked our choice. The only issue we had was the price, but compared to many other properties that is "santorini" value for anything with a view & that is of a high standard.
We found our entire stay blissful, although we did tire of the same fare for breakfast every day. They could mix it up a bit. It was generous in size but lacked variety.
The staff were very helpful and courteous.
Oh and another very important thing when choosing your accomm in Santorini, find out how many stairs to your house! Some places have tricky access.
We are very fussy travellers and can highly recommend Atrina Houses for a dream holiday in Santorini.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank should_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Breathtaking views, very good friendly service, lovely individual houses - what's not to like ?! We went with our 8 month old baby and the management was happy to provide a cot for her. This was the most relaxing holiday and the location and hotel and the VIEWS were incredible. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kensingtoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, NY
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We stayed at the Atrina last August for a few days and had a terrific time. The location of the hotel could hardly be better. Easy walking distance into Oia, indeed you are right there. For us, Oia was the best location in Santorini. Especially at night it is just magical.

The views from Atrina are also superb. Looking out at the caldera is hypnotic. You can just stare, and look, and lose yourself. As has been said before, there are few other views like it in the world. If you are thinking about whether a visit to Santorini is worth it -- just go.

The room we had was large, with two bedrooms. High ceiling, built into the mountain. Bright. It was relatively well cared for but, in a few spots there was some obvious wear and tear and a few things could have been better cared for. The beds were comfortable, the room never hot.

Breakfast was served on the large patio, with a beautiful view. Big shade umbrella if you wanted to open it. Huge basket of fresh breads/muffins, huge plate of delicious yogurt and honey, excellent juice and coffee. Bkfst like that was terrific. The pool is small yet, it was certainly large enough to cool off and, even in August, the pool area was not crowded. Staff at the hotel was very nice, on the ball, efficient.

If there is one place the hotel could use some improvement was at the front desk, so to speak. While Atrina is a hotel, it doesn't really have all the services of a hotel, it is much more of a boutique. You need to be more independent as a guest. That is fine. Yet, in that situation we thought the owner should be more informative, welcoming. While she was happy to greet guests, there simply wasn't the "welcome" we expected or the willingness to offer suggestions, ideas, etc. We got the feeling that while we were welcomed, the owner would be just as happy if we weren't there. That might sound a bit negative, it shouldn't be read that way. Yet, some improvement would be helpful. Also, all hotels in Oia in August are expensive, including Atrina. With all its good points, its location, rooms, etc., it is still likely one of your best options.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tengohambre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2009

My husband and I stayed here for several days in May and like most people posting reviews, decided on Atrina based on TripAdvisor reviews. Even before we got to the hotel, we were greeted with such service- due to some construction on the southern part of Oia, our taxi was stuck in traffic when one of the staff walked out to meet us and carry our luggage without any prompting from us! The cave houses are private, clean and unique. Each house has a private balcony with a beautiful view and breakfast is served every morning with fresh fruit, a variety of baked goods, freshly squeezed OJ and coffee. We even enjoyed listening to the collection of CDs in the cava acoustics so much that we bought one of them when we found it in a local marketplace.
The staff were so helpful and even volunteered to drive us to and from the dock when we took a boat out to the center of the caldera (hot springs) and when we were leaving the island! Such great service! If you're traveling to Santorini you must stay in Oia (much more quiet and less touristy than the other major towns) and if you stay in Oia, you must stay at Atrina!!!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My husband and I stayed for a week in September, 2009. We stayed in the Tholos room, which was enormous, clean, bright, and lovely. The staff was top notch, very very excellent service. We would have prefered having a balcony that was not on the main walkway down to the pool but this was not a deal breaker. All rooms have the same spectacular views overlooking the ocean. The breakfast was excellent. We would recommend staying at this hotel. We were so glad we stayed in Oia, we had time to visit the entire island during our week there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalifGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
3.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#6 of 56 in Oia
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
658 reviews
5.8 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Property: Atrina Canava 1894
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing