We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, beautiful hotel and great service in Santorini's most picturesque village”
Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2010

You will never want to leave this hotel. The views are stunning, the staff is very helpful, and the village itself is beautiful, romantic, and serene. I have traveled extensively and this is surely one of the most stunning destinations I've had the good fortune to visit. Unlike many of the other similar hotels in the area this one also accepts young children--a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

You will think for a moment that you are falling into the sky... and from every moment after this, you will be in heaven.

Atrina is located just a few steps away from the edge of the paved road, meaning that, while it is situated on Oia's famous marble footpaths, it is incredibly easy to get anywhere else on the island.

The views are astounding. The pool is lovely. The service is impeccable. The rooms are peaceful. The wireless is included and, if you use Skype, you can make people insanely jealous with the view from your balcony.

Your breakfast will arrive soon after you call for it. It will appear on a tray and be presented on your balcony. At night, candle lanterns will miraculously appear all over the outside of the hotel, and they will miraculously disappear by the time you wake up.

Go now. Do it. Stay as long as possible. Take the recommendations that Marina gives you. Drink in every moment because, once you leave, nothing else in the world will compare again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phreddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed in Santorini at conclusion of visits in Cyclades for 2 weeks. Although Santorini is unique and beautiful it is over-run with tourists. Atrina is well-located with in Ia. The rooms are on the small side, but are spotless and ours ( Junior Suite) had a lovely patio with stunning views. Comfy beds. Bathroom was small for a family of four with a hand-held shower. Kitchenette with fridge for your local goodies and drinks. Excellent breakfast delivered to your room- typical Greek with fresh squeezed OJ, fresh breads, spanikopita and coffee. Small but nice pool with great view and pool side bar service. No restaurant but many good ones nearby. Very attentive staff and complimentary transfers from port or airport. Friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended if you plan on staying in Oia. Compared to Folegandros or Naxos, Santorini is busy, crowded with tourists and overwhelmed with tourist shops and cafes. That said, it is worth seeing once!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mountainmanSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

i can only echo the many wonderful remarks written about this place . If you got the money and a honey come here. Stylish, unpretentious, discreet, attentive , generous.... The place is superbly situated and what ever room you take .. the view and solitude will eventually make you forget what day it is.. we stayed a week.. felt longer.. but worth every penny!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We had high expectations for our stay and I can honestly say that they were all met - and then some. The staff are extremely curteous and helpful, the location is perfect - just a few minutes walk into the centre of Oia, the house we stayed in (Tholos) was beautiful and the view from the balcony was second to none.

Santorini is an expensive island and Oia particularly so, but we still felt that this place offered good value. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We arrived after sunset and knew we were in for a treat the next morning as we woke to a magnificant view from our bed, looking over the caldera.
The staff was wonderful, especially Marina who went out of her way to make our stay memorable. Breakfast is brought to your terrace where you just sit back and enjoy the view
The Atrina is pricely, but well worth it for the amenties, the view & the service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We stayed at the Atrina Traditional Houses for 5 nights for our honeymoon. I'll start with the positives:
- view was amaing - right over the caldera, although note that you can't see the sunset as it is blocked by the buildings.
- our stay was really relaxing and romantic - great to just sit on the balcony and take in the view while reading a book or eating breakfast
- breakfast each morning was really delicious - especially the fruit and greek yoghurt. You also get a basket of pastries and tea/coffee and a fresh OJ.
- location is excellent - about 5 minutes walk into the main shopping/restaurant area of Oia
- service was great - Marina gave a lot of information (e.g. sailing cruise, rental of a car or scooter, massages). You are given a mobile phone to reach reception whenever they are not physically there. The staff were really friendly - especially the pool bar staff and staff who bring your breakfast to your balcony each morning.

The points I thought were not so great:
- It was a real shame we didn't get any special treatment as it was our honeymoon. I assume everyone goes to Oia for their honeymoon but that is no excuse not to provide something a little extra (eg a congratulations card). I got this service at a hotel which was a third of the price!
- The rooms are a little basic - I know these are small things but for the money you pay you would expect a lot better in quality - e.g. toilet paper is very flimsy, bathroom products are pretty dismal so bring your own (compared to a hotel we stayed at for 1/3 of the price), floor was grimy - it looks like concrete which has been painted over but has a lot of marks on it, bathroom was a huge room but had a tiny shower in a corner - the rest of the bathroom could have been used to install a jacuzzi (something you would expect for the price you pay).
- We were told that the cheaper rooms were not available for the period of our stay so ended up staying in a more expensive room. However, while we were there we noticed some of the nights the cheaper rooms were empty. So, if you are staying for a long period of time and don't mind moving rooms to another room, I would recommend asking if a cheaper room is available for some of your trip. We did see one other couple move from an expensive room to a cheaper room halfway during their stay so it is possible.

All in all, I had a really enjoyable honeymoon in Oia and would recommend this hotel but just keep in mind that you are paying a lot of money simply because of the view and location!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brumby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.2 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 58 in Oia
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
2.1 mi away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 51 in Imerovigli
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £266 - £759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing