We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, beautiful room”
Review of Atrina Canava 1894

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atrina Canava 1894
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, beautiful room”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Atrina. They had someone at the airport to pick us up right on schedule. (Cost 25 euro for transport) When we arrived, we were blown away by the view. Atina was the one that attended to us and she was very nice. The young man who works there, serves breakfast, carries the bags, etc is a very hard worker. We stayed in Tholos and it was a beautiful room with a private balcony, meaning nobody can walk through that terrace to get to another. Tholos is the first room down from reception, which is great because it means less steps!! Atrina starts right from the main pedestrian walkway, so it is very convenient. (and again, less steps!)

Atrina is on sort of the far end of Oia and by looking at the map, we were concerned about it not being close to restaurants and other things, but it is still close. You can walk to anywhere in Oia from anywhere else, it is very small.

Also, there is a market right at the top of the stairs, so you can get things to bring to your
room if you want.

The pool is very nice. I had read before that it was not too packed, but it was when we were there. Not packed, but all the chairs taken. Go early and you won't have to worry.

One of the greatest things about this hotel is that they bring you breakfast on your terrace. You can sit in the bathrobes they provide and you call them when you are ready for it. Rolls, pastries, Greek yoghurt, fruit, orange juice, coffee or tea. And, most of all, the beautiful view of the caldera.

Σας ευχαριστώ, Atrina.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parisbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    27
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
138
451
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Location is definitely good. The view is excellent which has been echoed by all the reviews here. We love the view and the style of the cave house although the decor is getting dated and the bathroom is worn out and kind of basic. This will be solved as I was told the hotel will be renovated later this year.

Overall the service is good. The two Romanian guys who helped us with the luggage and the breakfasts are very friendly and helpful. They worked very hard as they had to do almost everything. The pool is great and our kids love it. If we have to put down something that needs improvement I will say you see some inconsistencies in the service - something is always missing from breakfast if it is not a cup missing it is the milk being forgotten or one towel less however we don't mind as it will require the guy to go up and down the stairs if we need to ask for things. I just feel they are slightly understaffed and from what we gather the guys have no formal hotel training so they are doing their best.

During our stay in Santorini we were told by many places that majority of the workers are not Greek and they are mostly Eastern European who come over just to work for the season as Santorini is crazily busy. I was told by other people from the travel forum before my trip about this and I did not believe it and I thought it was just limited to some places and I am afraid this is true - most workers in the restaurants and the hotels don't know much about the island so the experience at Atrina is more a resort experience and not really an authentic Greek island experience. That does not bother us though because we want to stay in place with great views to relax and this place serves the purpose. One suggestion for the hotel: it will be good if the owner can give some training to the staff to help them deliver a more consistent service. Also we were told the airport transfer is 25 euros but when the big van came to pick us up he asked for 30 euros. My husband was always a generous tipper and he was going to tip an extra 5 euros anyway but things like this is very annoying. Attention to detail is not this hotel's strong point. During our stay we found out that if you order you own taxi to the airport the fixed fee is 25 euros so i don't see the point of booking the mini van whereby we have to wait for him to pick up other guests and still charge us more. Lucky for us we met a really nice Greek taxi driver and we got his number and we basically used him for our transfer and dinner out to other parts of the island. Secondly I know it is not always possible but it will enhance the guest' experience if the staff actually knows a bit about the island rather than total stranger to the place. Perhaps the hotel could compile some information for the guests if none of the staff is knowledgeable about the place eg. how much is the bus fare, ideas of taking the boat over to Thirasia and visiting less touristic beaches etc. I think you expect the staff or at least some of the staff to be able to advise you about the island and from this perspective we definitely don't get that. Just a thought. All this aside it is still a great hotel because the location is so brilliant and the view so amazing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maidstoneroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We had high expectation of Atrina based on what we read on tripadvisor. We have been to Santorini before and stayed at Canaves Oia last time. As this hotel rated very highly on tripadvisor we thought we gave it a go. We are very disappointed perhaps because the reviews. The hotel is located in very good spot with your expected spectacular view of the caldera like all the hotels on the cliff. For people who have never been to Oia there are hundreds of hotels and apartments in both Oia and Imerovigli with spectacular view.

However this is not really a hotel more like a serviced apartment as another review has pointed out. In my opinion th hygiene standard is poor. Our bathroom is full of mold and the sink is really dirty. For the few nights we stayed there I could not stand it any longer and had to clean all the black mold around the sink. So either they don't clean it or they don't know what to clean. If you don't expect much and just want to go for a great view, this is a good choice. However given the amount we paid which is equivalent to a five star in new york the value for money is poor. At least I now understand why this hotel is not rated on the Travellers Magazine because it is a different league from the Ikies house and Vedema Resort.

Having stayed at Canavas Oia and seeing our friend's apartment at Ikies Atrina is actually a very basic cave house in a very good location. I suppose you pay for the view. Other than that the rooms are not as great as it showed on the website. It definitely needs decoration. Our room is at the top and therefore it was quite noisy from the walkway during the peak bus time. You also have to be careful which cave house you choose as our neighbours constantly have other guests walking pass to get to the pool.

The pool is very small compared to Canavas Oia. For a 4 nights break I don't feel it is right for a hotel to charge you hundreds of dollars and have dirty bathrooms and I have to clean the grimes myself so that put us off significantly. We did not ask the staff as first there does not seem to be many staff. Secondly they are all eastern european and whenever we asked a question about the local area the staff seems to know very little so we stopped asking. Breakfast is okay fruits and honey yogurt are great but the bread is from ready packet not freshly baked. Again we have had better from Canavas Oia. The service and attention to detail is superb at Canavas Oia and the staff speaks well and is much more professional and well trained. I think this hotel is vastly over rated. Pehaps if we have not tried other places we would have found it okay but for the price we paid it is not great. And we regret our choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonjourmadame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
md
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I booked Mina's Room at Atrina for 4 days this August. I picked the hotel off TripAdvisor reccomendations. Both my husband and I absolutely LOVED everything this small, boutique style hotel. The staff is wonderful - constantly catering to your every need even before you ask, helping out with every task with a smile on their face. Melanie was so helpful setting things up for us. The rooms are NOT TO BE BELIEVED. Clean, gorgeous, perfect - and you will not believe the beautiful views until you arrive - the pictures do not do it justice!! The pool is great, and they have a little pool bar to serve you drinks. Everytime we got to the pool, a large bottle of water was being poured for us, right as we sat down. Breakfast was delicious, healthy, and not totally overwhelming. You can't ask for a better location - very close to all shops, restaurants, etc. As you can tell, the Atrina hotel was the highlight of our trip and I CANNOT wait to go back. I can be a very pickey travelor (just ask my husband) and I do not have one single complaint about this place - its absolutely PERFECT!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed in the Studio, which was excellent. The views are fantastic and the location of the hotel in Oia is great as well.

If your expecting hotel service, don't. While the breakfast is lovely and delivered to your room the place is really like serviced apartments and does not have hotel service (i.e. room service, inhouse kitchen, etc). That said, provided your expectations are right, Melanie and the guys are extremely helpful.

If you are staying in Oia. This is the perfect spot.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dman7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We have just returned from a week in Tholos 2 celebrating our silver wedding.Everything about Atrina was wonderful. It is absolutely the place to stay (and we always have to check out other possible contenders!)
All rooms are spacious beautifully decorated and furnished and kept spotless. The views form all balconies ar stunning and take your breath away everytime you look up.
As many others have commented the staff are very helpfull and friendly and really care that you have a good time. Little touches like a tray of cold water appearing at the beautifully situated pool (which we often had all to ourselves despite the hotel being fully booked) were much appreciated.
The location is perfect-a short stroll along one of the most scenic walkways brings you to the many picturesque restaurants in oia and the nightly ritual of watching the sunset over the windmill.
All rooms are spacious beautifully decorated and furnished and kept spotless. The views form all balconies ar stunning and take your breath away everytime you look up.
Our balcony was v private which i know has concerned some and it is true that some were less so (esp junior suite) but everyone was very respectful of each other and i wouldnt think this would really spoil the experience for most....There are too many other plus points!.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laumark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed at Atrina Houses for 5 nights in early July. Found Atrina Houses through TripAdvisor after deciding to stay in Oia. We couldn't be happier with our choice. Everyone at Atrina went above and beyond throughout our stay. We arranged for transportation from the airport and were greeted by Larry, one of the employees at Atrina. We had reserved a 2 bedroom unit, Canava 1894. Due to a problem with that unit, after spending the first evening in a 1 Bedroom unit, we were placed in the Villa for the remainder of our stay. The Villa is INCREDIBLE -- huge in size, 2 bedrooms and bathrooms, 1 full kitchen, and a kitchenette, an office area and living room. The best part is your private patio overlooking the Caldera. So many others comment about the view -- you will never get tired of the view, whether on your patio or at the pool. Service was great -- breakfast always arrived promptly after you call for it. As soon as we arrived at the pool, bottled water and glasses were brought over. Larry frequently provided transportation for us from the hotel. Breakfast is basic -- fresh fruit salad, bread/pastry basket, greek yogurt, OJ and coffee/tea. We had arrived from Paris, so the breads/pastry were not quite what we had gotten used to. Lots of restaurants in Oia to choose from -- one of the best was Ambrosia and Nectar. We also visited Ginger Sushi in the village of Firastefi, excellent as well. Arrange for a catamaran sailing from SantoriniSailing. One of the highlights of the trip. Check out their reviews in the Things to Do section -- we had a great time and couldn't recommend it more highly. We met really nice people when at Atrina -- from people on their honeymoon to a family with a 1 and 1/2 year old. Everyone was very respectful of each other. On our last day 2 families with children arrived -- if vacationing in Santorini on your honeymoon you might want to also look at properties in Oia which are adults only. Overall, couldn't have been happier with Atrina and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChoosyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrina Canava 1894? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrina Canava 1894

Property: Atrina Canava 1894
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly Atrina Traditional Houses)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrina Canava 1894 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atrina Canava 1894 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrina Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Atrina Traditional Hotel
Atrina Traditional Oia
Atrina Canava 1894 Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing