We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Olympic Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olympic Villas
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Nice hotel, non-pretentious, comfortable, big rooms, basic breakfast, nice pools but cold water, amazing views of the caldera. Perfect location. It takes about 5-10 minutes to walk to the hub which includes restaurants and shops along the walkway. From the front of the hotel, it doesn't look that great but. . .once you walk in the door and through the hotel, you realize what an amazing view this hotel offers. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsculp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    67
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

At this price, you do not expect much services. However the view was breath-taking!!! When we reached the room, we couldn't stop taking pictures!!! And then we realized that there should eb some moments which are to be captured in memories.

Room was OK, we were friends travelling, so we booked a doubel and a single room, the single room was toooooo small and the door of the bathroom for the double room was jammed. The size of bathroom was just sufficient for the bath.

They have 2 pools, one with the view was breathtaking and the other one was good for fun... we had a nice time in Oia... Also, the local bus stop (to Fira) was about 50 m from the hotel and the buses from Fira stopped on front of hotel. It is also situated next to the local market and near to the sunset point.

Room Tip: The view with the Caldyris
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDee_0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Firstly I would say this is a great value stay in expensive Oia. The pool view is great so if anyone wants to stay at the studio, remember to ask for a pool view studio, you wont regret it. This hotel is located the other side of the town, which needs to walk around 15mins to reach the busiest street of Oia. The cons i would say the owner is not so friendly, although he would try to answer your question, with no smile on his face at all.
Overall i did enjoy the stay, happy with the price and location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aberen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in a studio apartment for a few nights in August.

Positive: The room was fairly basic, but it was clean and comfortable with a small balcony. While the balcony was not on the caldera side we still had a view out over the ocean, mainly we just used it eat breakfast each morning. There is a shop across the road where you can buy groceries (we puchased food for breakfast - cereal, milk, coffee and fruit). The big positive is that there are two pools with the front pool overlooks the caldera. Fair price.

Negative: The lighting in the room was not great. The main draw back however was the pool - which needed the water properly filtered. In the evening when the light is not direct you can see a lot of random particles including hair floating in the water. I

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhakaYea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in an apartment with a view toward Ios (not the caldera). The apartment was large with two bedrooms and worked great for our family. It had a small kitchen that we used for making lunches and a couple of dinners due to the poor exchange rate of the US dollar and the Euro. Both pools were fine, but we loved swimming in the pool with a view of the caldera. The other larger pool is a little boxed in, but is shallower and my daughter liked that. The hotel's a really great value for staying in Oia with a pool overlooking the caldera. It's a little walk away from Oia, but it's also out of the hustle and bustle of all the day trippers. We also liked the big chess board on the deck looking away from the caldera.

Wifi costs 1 Euro for 30 minutes or 5 Euros per day. Not too expensive, but it should be included. Breakfast costs 7 euros per person. There's a mini-mart across the street which sells cereal, milk, fruit and other food so you can have a great breakfast for a much lower cost on your own balcony. Dish soap and a dish rag is not included, so bring your own. Most of the walk to Oia can be made on pedestrian only paths, but a short section must be made on the busy road going into Oia. There's a bus stop just out front of the hotel, and the fare to Fira is 1.6 Euros per person. Wish they provided a port transfer service, but the hotel's a great value even if you have to take the bus.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mill valley,ca
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I have stayed 6 times over the last 15 years and I would not stay anywhere else. It is family owned and run and Petros and the staff are amazing. The best value in "over priced" santorini and the town of oia is the only place to stay. Splurge and rent a car on arrival. Other hotels/resorts have frills and all kinds of upgraded accomodations.
If you want to spend $400/ night,
Olympic villas is not for you.
I have stayed on my own, as a couple and with friends. Petros xnd staff is the real Greece and oia/Olympic villas is the best!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MillValley_caEkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We just returned from Olympic villas after a 5 day stay on the island. The villas were amazing! We could not stop staring at the view-it is breathtaking! The pool out the front and the deckchairs are perfect and we were lucky enough to get an apartment facing the caldera. Our room had all we needed-a kitchenette, air con and a big bed. We could not believe that we could get so much for such a reasonable price! 2 steps and you were in the pool and a few more and you were on the beautiful pathway leading into the village. We also loved the supermarket up the road and the car rental across the street. We would recommend this to anyone and would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayman976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.6 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
1.5 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#44 of 56 in Oia
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambition Suites
Ambition Suites
#31 of 56 in Oia
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Villas

Property: Olympic Villas
Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olympic Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Villas Hotel Oia
Olympic Hotel Oia
Olympic Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing