We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value & location in Oia”
Review of Olympic Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olympic Villas
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Myself and my husband (early 30’s) stayed in Olympic Villas for 2 nights recently. We got a great bargain but did not have a view looking over the cliff side of Oia but we didn’t mind as you can easily stroll out to the pool and admire the scenery.

The Villas are on the way into Oia from Fira, there is a rental place across the road from which we hired a quad to explore the island. Oia is definitely the best place to stay in the island. The capital Fira is nice but not a patch on Oia. The owners of Olympic are a young family and are not super friendly but were always helpful when we needed them so that was perfect. The room was clean but as per usual for everywhere we stayed there was a pretty standard wooden bed and a shower that does not hang up and has a shower curtain (we found this everywhere in Greece).

The town of Oia is around an 8/10 minute walk away along a lovely pathway that looks over the fabulous cave houses and swimming pools of the expensive hotels. Each night we walked down to the end of the island got some take away beers from the supermarket and sat on the walls to watch the sunset with hundreds of other people. The views are simply spectacular and the atmosphere is great. We found the prices in Santorini closer to Irish prices (dinner for 2 with wine €80/90) so we were glad we didn’t spend loads on accommodation. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, the location is perfect and it’s great value (we booked through a travel agent book-santorini-hotels.com)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Olympic Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed 6 days. Oia is definitely best place on Santorini and the villas close to the village, but far enough away to avoid all the crowds.
The pools were fantastic and the views amazing. The rooms were great - we had a superior apartment which was worth the extra as we were in a smaller apartment on the first day.
The owner's mother is really lovely and made us so welcome on arrival (at 7am) and let us put our toddler to bed in one of the smaller apartments as our's wasn't ready. She could not have been nicer.

Would definitely stay there again. Oia is gorgeous and much nicer than Fira. We did the sailing trip recommended in the welcome info - day trip to volcano, swim and lunch on a small island - brilliant and fine with a very active 20 month old. There is a little playground in Oia village which was great for toddler too. Our sturdy maclaren buggy was fine on the steps etc of the village, but when we went to see the sunset we just carried/walked Will due to the crowds. Resturants very toddler friendly and welcoming.

There are a couple of good stores - directly across the road and down the path also - 'perivolas'. Easy to buy fruit, milk, juice, beer, pasta and sauces etc. Opposite perivolas there is an excellent pub (tavern) with delicious and well priced food and drink and they also do takeaway food - so can bring it back to the villas and eat with caldera view. Magic.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wild1wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The cave houses are really cozy, the hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the center of Oia and all the restaurants. The caldera view is amazing.

With that being said, if you value a good night's sleep, this is not the place for you.

The bed was the worst bed I've ever slept in (even compared to youth hostels). Very hard, and also bumpy. I could feel the springs (it actually hurt to sleep on the side) and every tiny little move from me or my boyfriend would produce a squeaky sound that woke me up. The squeak problem was fixed though, after our complaints.

So, for this hotel to be great they'd need to change their mattresses, and maybe think about the service. We were denied access to our safety box one night half an hour before the front-desk closed without given any reason.

If you're not too picky about sleep comfort or having a nice and helpful staff, this could still be the place for you, because the view from the terrasses is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27,364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Oia is definitely the best part of Santorini esp since it's the best sunset view. It's a quiet place and has a lovely, picturesque small town. Go towards Amoudi Bay at a castle top for the best sunset view.

We arrived 12mn via ferry at the Santorini port and it was a long ride to Oia. Good thing we were able to book ahead for a taxi. The reception guy (hard to remember his name) waited for us and helped us bring our luggage to our room. It is a good tip from other reviewers that heavy luggages are difficult to lug or carry along the slopes going down the rooms.

When we woke up the next morning, we were amazed with the spectacular view of the Caldera and the blue sea.

The Villa is in a good location, walking distance to the picturesque town center, 10-15 min walk. There's a mini mart nearby where you can buy breakfast stuff. And the town has many shops, restos and boutiques.

Choose the traditional 'Cave house" to experience authentic way of living there. It's cold inside even if it was hot outside. It was a big room with kitchen and quite small toilet. The shower area has no curtain, so expect the floor to get wet. Daily room cleaning is part of the service. And we had a balcony but the next door is really adjacent so it's our luck that we had friendly neighbors who weren't rowdy.

The best way to explore the whole island is to rent a car or an ATV which is just across the street.
Our regret is we were not able to swim in the beaches because it was too windy and the waves are strong. We only stayed 3 days. Go to the Red Beach, Vlichaya and Kamari Beach Resort.

We had an early morning flight so it was good that we rented a car that can be left in the airport of Santorini. But the Villa has no porter so my husband had to carry our heavy roller bags all the way up to the road. Still, we had a great experience there. Nice room, good value with a wonderful view.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wubly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Olympic Villas are just outside the main area of Oia, but an easy walk into the center. We stayed in a traditional house which had a great view over the caldera. The house was small, with two rooms with three beds, a small kitchen and table, and a patio. The complex has two nice pools and several common areas. Breakfast was extra, and we bought food and prepared our own in the small kitchen. We stayed in a much more expensive caldera hotel our last visit to Oia, and thought that Olympic Villas was a much better value this time. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelindoc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

This accomodation is a traditional house, which makes you feel you travelled back in time. It's a simple structure yet it's homey. The terrace is at the edge of the cliff along the ocean. The view from here is very relaxing, I enjoyed the ocean's breeze.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
Thank joycicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

This hotel covers everything you need to experience the pleasure of Santorini and Oia. The price/quality ratio is impressive. The Hotel is not luxurious but it is comfortable and authentic. Though try to get the rooms by the pool, which have the amazing view. Frankly, you have all the comfort you need and the hotel is well kept. The hotel owners were always available to provide advice on tours and other questions. The hotel has a fantastic view of the Caldera; and if you take the table at the edge of the pool in the evening, you can watch the sunset with some olives and wine. The hotel is located close to some tasty and affordable Greek restaurants. The ATV/motorino rental is across the street, which is highly recommended to explore the islands beaches. Our favourite was Vlyhada beach. To Oia town centre it is about a 15 minute walk, which is perfect for an evening stroll and shopping. You cannot go wrong with this hotel because it is hidden gem, unless you have grown accustomed to luxury hotels. Would come back whenever given the opportunity. Would certainly recommend the hotel to all friends and family in search of a serene and rejuvenating holiday. Our stay was just magical. Bravo!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aristotelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
1.5 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#45 of 56 in Oia
48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#36 of 56 in Oia
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#44 of 56 in Oia
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Aspa Villas
Aspa Villas
#10 of 34 in Oia
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Villas

Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olympic Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Villas Hotel Oia
Olympic Hotel Oia
Olympic Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing