We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Golden Sunset Villas and it was wonderful. The owner and all the staff were incredibly nice and service oriented. The rooms were very clean and air conditioned. It is truly the best place to view the amazing sunsets! It is walking distance to everything in Oai, but just far enough to be away from the middle of town where it can get more crowded and noisy. There is access to a nearby pool that also has amazing views of the water. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    43
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
55
134
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed in the windmill and could not believe our eyes when we saw the view from there. It was amazing to put it mildly. The windmill itself was not luxourious but when you stepped outside on to the patio that completely surrounds it - WOW! We had a perfect view of the sunset and this huge patio all to ourselves. We had 2 children, ages 7 & 9 with us, and I wished the stairs in the windmill had railing on both sides but the kids were thrilled to be there. The location could not be beat - right next to all the restaurants. The staff was incredibly nice - I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The windmill has a HUGE patio with sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Delraylocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Listen, hundred of daily Oia-sunset visitors cannot have it wrong : this is the BEST place on the whole island especially when it comes to relaxation ! Kyriakos (hotel owner) is around since '90s. He is very kind and helpful person. I've been to this island many times and stayed in this hotel few. Each one of my experiencies was excellent. And remember: the mill (former bar and currently room to rent) you see there is one of the most famous mill on earth !

Room Tip: The mill itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alien_zone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The couple who own and manage the hotel really love their job.
A small hotel which you can be treated like you were in a family house. Take advantage of the tips from them to explore the island, some hidden restaurants are specular!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoFromBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the windmill (one of only 2 in the area) which was amazing. The lady at reception spoke perfect english and was very experienced, friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful sunset every night in our own private balcony where tourists were trying to lean on fences and crowded around doorways for at least an hour beforehand to get a good photo. The cleaning lady came every day and left everything very clean and spotless, and she was very polite as well. Overall we had an amazing and so far the best Greek experience in Oia and at this hotel.
If you have difficulty with steep steps and stairs, this may not be for you. There are steep stone steps inside the windmill to get to the first leve, and then a small ladder to get to the top leve. However the rooms do not feel cramped and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The magnificent view is the hotel's only real asset and the owners exploit it to the full. We spent 4 nights in the hotel in July 2010 - it was our third trip to this island. We were quite disappointed to find our "cave" room damp, cheaply furnished and cold at night. Rotten smell was present throughout our stay. Our kids' beds did not have any blankets at all, and thin sheets were laid straight onto the slippery mattresses. The was an extra blanket on the shelf but it looked too dirty to use. The Spartan and dated decor of the room reminded us of a youth hostel, not a resort hotel that charges over 200 euros a night. The bathoom was in need for redecoration and so tiny that taking a shower was not only an unpleasant experience but also a technically challenging one, especially as the shower head could not even be fixed onto the wall and water kept spilling all over the place. The washing basin was smaller than a shoe box, hence brushing teeth or rinsing a swimming suit required some skills in order to avoid a mess. Breakfast was basic and unappetising - one kind of bread rolls, one type of cereal, cheap sandwich sliced cheese, hard boiled eggs.... greek yogurt saved us every morning! Others already mentioned that the hotel does not have a pool. However, at the reception they will happily give you an old washed towel of undetectable colour to use at the pool near by, if you ask for one. In conclusion, unless you are an unpretentious traveller, this place is not great value for money, even for an expensive island like Santorini.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Svet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

If staying in windmill, there is complimentary car hire with a different car company. It was fabulous to be picked up at airport with car. We used our gps to find Oia and got lost getting to carpark. Park is all around the side of the island. Once you reach palm frond umbrellas you know you've reached the carpark. If you go and check in, staff will come and help with baggage. Stairs are quite steep inside windmill but vast mini bar is included, full kitchen facilities, 2 bedrooms spread over two separate levels, many views to choose from, private courtyards, powerpoint plugs on each level near each bed, bathroom has walk in shower, room on 2nd floor is airconditioned but it filters up to the upper level if you leave the hatch open leading to top floor. Staff friendly and kind, market close by on the way to the sunset lookout that other people go to. Views from the windmill are awesome from each window and I took many photographs. You can also sit or lie down quite comfortably in your private courtyard to view the sunsets. Stunning. Worth the money. We stopped at a market on the way to Oia and bought bread, tomatoes, cheese and proscuitto and it fed us for 2 lunches. Breakfast is included and is continental. Kitchen space is tiny so we spent our time in the rooms or in the courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#46 of 56 in Oia
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 56 in Oia
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#34 of 56 in Oia
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Property: Golden Sunset Villas
Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing