We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sunset Villas
Nearby Hotels
US$850
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$787
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$596
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$672
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Finikia Memories(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caldera Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$906
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$728
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Perivolas(Oia)
US$947
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$740
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$717
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$911
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
191
45
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
45
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswindmill roomprivate balconyhotel balconythird floorsmall kitchen with fridgecar companyevery eveningmillion dollar viewsstay was wonderfulhotel guestsmini martkatharos beachfamily roombedroom and bathroomroom wasn't readypublic areaswould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We arrived there during the shoulder month right before the end of season. Infact we were the last guests and the owner himself was leaving a day after us. Due to this off-season we got a great deal. The owner is an extremely friendly guy and gave me some sincere money-saving tips.

We were a couple with an infant and got two bed room villa which was equipped with everything a small family may need to operate in the kitchen. Rooms werent too big but not suffocating. Bathroom was tiny but functional. They dont serve meals but there are plenty of nice restaurants in nearby market

The view outside the room is simply breathtaking and you may not need to move yourself for a better view. The market area is nearby and a 7-10 minute uphill climb.

Breakfast was a hearty one too though could get reptitive on second/ third days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raazaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed here in mid October with my wife and a 13 year old son. Due to a booking error on my part, we were assigned a double room, however Kyriakos and Marcos quickly laid out a roll-away bed and all was good. Each of the rooms has its own private balcony ideal for watching the sunsets with a good glass of wine.

Whilst there may be more luxurious accommodation at Oia, i doubt you will find a hotel that provides a better sunset viewing area than here. Each afternoon hordes of visitors collected around the hotel fence but without the comfort we experienced from our own balcony. Whilst we did not reserve the windmill room, I would encourage others to do so. If you google romantic places, Oia invariably appears in the top 10, and a photo of the windmill room usually accompanies the review.

Breakfast was served on a separate landing that seats about 8 in comfort. The food was simple, good and plentiful and Marcos made good coffee whilst keeping the kitchen area clean and tidy.

Whilst there a many things to do on Santorini, I would strongly recommend taking the sunset cruise on the "red" catamarran. Our afternoon was brilliant with warm blue skies, great swimming, and an excellent barbeque lunch. The crew also have a wonderful ability to get you to the best place at just the right time to see the sun sink beneath the horizon.

Others have commented on limited wi-fi connection however I was always able to get good access from the breakfast balcony.

This is a terrific hotel, in a magnificent location offering incredible value. Kyriacos and Marcos are friendly and welcoming hosts and I would highly recomment this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Narrabundah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

we stayed at a studio room (room 1) for three nights. it has basic facilities of a studio - bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom with a shower, nothing fancy. it can sleep four people with two bunker beds in the living room. however, i don't know if this is true with all studio rooms.

the good:
- great view. to be fair, most of the hotels in oia have great views
- great spot for watch the sunset in guests' own balcony vs fighting with crowds on the public terrance
- easy walk to town center and more affordable eateries

the bad:
- a bit far from oia bus station if you have luggages - dragging them on the narrow and rough cobble stone roads with steps up and down is a major pain on the behind
- the remedy to the point above is to call the hotel for a ride through the back road as i found out when i checked out

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bangzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was a great place to stay in Santorini and they made us feel extra special on our honeymoon. We had a large room, private balcony (although occasionally eager tourists wander onto it, but the staff is quick to shoo them away-very nicely), ample breakfast and the assistance of one of the friendliest people we met in Greece (can't recall his name but he was the guy who checked us in and was SO nice and helpful). This location was quiet, had excellent sunset views, you can easily walk through all of Oia from here and it is near the stairs leading down to the "beach" (although it is a lonnngg and steep walk to the shoreline- you can always ride a donkey instead of walking). We loved our stay here and if we were to go back to Santorini, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

In my opinion, The Golden Sunset Villas is a very romantic place and we really enjoyed during our stay. The view from the hotel was excellent. We were staying in the room # 7 and we could see the sea view and the famous windmill just right in front of our bed room. We just lied on the bed and we could see the perfect view. It was very private and quiet. We had private balcony and we just had breakfast there. It's very romantic place. Also breakfast was lovely.
In the evening, we stepped up to our roof and we watched the beautiful sunset from there or we can have a cup of tea during watching the sunset from our private balcony.
Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anndarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews