We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Would stay next time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Would stay next time!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Never stayed in a more personal hotel - we were honeymooners and the owner being extremely nice upgraded us to from an apartment to the windmill suite. You definitely get the jealousy looks from all the people cramped at the Castle area when you are sitting on the Windmill suite terrace and unintentionally getting in everybody's sunset pictures while enjoying a glass of wine ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_E_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    43
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
126
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This was the most amazing place to stay! Loved it!! I even posted a video on You Tube of the sunset we watched during a greek wedding. Feel free to check it out “Santorini Sunset Oia Greece” by Dylan 14570. I traveled some time ago, but am just getting around to doing this review.
The owner of this property was so helpful. He gave us a complimentary bottle of Santorini wine because he thought the wedding might get noisy…but it did not and was actually a treat! The breakfast was out of this world with greek yogurt and honey, peach juice, rolls, and more.

My son brought along a hand held game player which stopped working and we were so bummed for him (we stayed busy, but during our “down” time in the room, he like to play his game). Well, the owner came to the rescue and knew how to fix it. It was a fuse of some sort and he had an extra one for us..lifesaver.. LOL

We originally booked the windmill, but I did not feel comfortable in it with 2 kids (one 2 year old) and, after some juggling, they moved us to another room which was perfect.

This hotel was so quiet during the day and evening, a perfect location, and beauty all around. You will not be disappointed! Family of four, stayed 7 days.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainb0wGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We arrived there during the shoulder month right before the end of season. Infact we were the last guests and the owner himself was leaving a day after us. Due to this off-season we got a great deal. The owner is an extremely friendly guy and gave me some sincere money-saving tips.

We were a couple with an infant and got two bed room villa which was equipped with everything a small family may need to operate in the kitchen. Rooms werent too big but not suffocating. Bathroom was tiny but functional. They dont serve meals but there are plenty of nice restaurants in nearby market

The view outside the room is simply breathtaking and you may not need to move yourself for a better view. The market area is nearby and a 7-10 minute uphill climb.

Breakfast was a hearty one too though could get reptitive on second/ third days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raazaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed here in mid October with my wife and a 13 year old son. Due to a booking error on my part, we were assigned a double room, however Kyriakos and Marcos quickly laid out a roll-away bed and all was good. Each of the rooms has its own private balcony ideal for watching the sunsets with a good glass of wine.

Whilst there may be more luxurious accommodation at Oia, i doubt you will find a hotel that provides a better sunset viewing area than here. Each afternoon hordes of visitors collected around the hotel fence but without the comfort we experienced from our own balcony. Whilst we did not reserve the windmill room, I would encourage others to do so. If you google romantic places, Oia invariably appears in the top 10, and a photo of the windmill room usually accompanies the review.

Breakfast was served on a separate landing that seats about 8 in comfort. The food was simple, good and plentiful and Marcos made good coffee whilst keeping the kitchen area clean and tidy.

Whilst there a many things to do on Santorini, I would strongly recommend taking the sunset cruise on the "red" catamarran. Our afternoon was brilliant with warm blue skies, great swimming, and an excellent barbeque lunch. The crew also have a wonderful ability to get you to the best place at just the right time to see the sun sink beneath the horizon.

Others have commented on limited wi-fi connection however I was always able to get good access from the breakfast balcony.

This is a terrific hotel, in a magnificent location offering incredible value. Kyriacos and Marcos are friendly and welcoming hosts and I would highly recomment this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Narrabundah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

we stayed at a studio room (room 1) for three nights. it has basic facilities of a studio - bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom with a shower, nothing fancy. it can sleep four people with two bunker beds in the living room. however, i don't know if this is true with all studio rooms.

the good:
- great view. to be fair, most of the hotels in oia have great views
- great spot for watch the sunset in guests' own balcony vs fighting with crowds on the public terrance
- easy walk to town center and more affordable eateries

the bad:
- a bit far from oia bus station if you have luggages - dragging them on the narrow and rough cobble stone roads with steps up and down is a major pain on the behind
- the remedy to the point above is to call the hotel for a ride through the back road as i found out when i checked out

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bangzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was a great place to stay in Santorini and they made us feel extra special on our honeymoon. We had a large room, private balcony (although occasionally eager tourists wander onto it, but the staff is quick to shoo them away-very nicely), ample breakfast and the assistance of one of the friendliest people we met in Greece (can't recall his name but he was the guy who checked us in and was SO nice and helpful). This location was quiet, had excellent sunset views, you can easily walk through all of Oia from here and it is near the stairs leading down to the "beach" (although it is a lonnngg and steep walk to the shoreline- you can always ride a donkey instead of walking). We loved our stay here and if we were to go back to Santorini, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

In my opinion, The Golden Sunset Villas is a very romantic place and we really enjoyed during our stay. The view from the hotel was excellent. We were staying in the room # 7 and we could see the sea view and the famous windmill just right in front of our bed room. We just lied on the bed and we could see the perfect view. It was very private and quiet. We had private balcony and we just had breakfast there. It's very romantic place. Also breakfast was lovely.
In the evening, we stepped up to our roof and we watched the beautiful sunset from there or we can have a cup of tea during watching the sunset from our private balcony.
Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anndarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#44 of 56 in Oia
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#37 of 56 in Oia
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 56 in Oia
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#40 of 56 in Oia
345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Property: Golden Sunset Villas
Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing