We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Santorini experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We only spent 3 days in Santorini, and were really happy with our decision to stay in Oia and at Golden Sunset Villas.

The location couldn't be better, and the owner was extremely helpful, hospitable and welcoming. He even offered to come and pick us up if we weren't able to get a cab back to the hotel one evening!

Our room was clean and comfortable, although it was a little damp. Given the type of hotel this is, we weren't surprised by this at all. The breakfast was simple and quite good.

The only thing we wished was that the hotel had a pool. I understand that there is a "park" being built next door which will include a cafe and pool that hotel guests will have access to.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2007

I agree with all of the other positive comments, our trip to Oia was fabulous. Our room was clean and charming and had a nice terrace view of the caldera. The only thing we would do differently is go during the warmer months when the waters are more warm to go swimming. The owner was courteous and friendly, and helpful in giving us suggestions for places to go and arranging our half-day island excursion. The lady that cleaned our room was also nice and even did our laundry. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank micotex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

For a private, quiet, exclusive like, gorgeous little place to stay on island of Santorini, the Golden Sunset Villas is it. We arrived from Athens about noon on Thursday and rented one of those "Smart" cars. It 's a fun and funny little car for two. It takes a few tries to get used to shifting in one direction. On the drive to Oia where the hotel is located, one has to drive through a little bit of traffic in the town of Fira, a touristy town. As you drive around the hillside, you have a spectacular view of the waters and the homes below. We drove down from the hillside to the port of Amoudi to get a bite to eat and "find" the hotel by looking up to see where the windmill was. The hotel was easy to spot. Anyway, everyone in town knows where the hotel is.

We had the room below the windmill with a private balcony. The view from the balcony is awesome regardless of the time of day - afternoon, evening or the next morning upon waking. In the evening we ate at the Ambrosia Nectar, great place with a great view of the Caldera. We throughly enjoyed the hotel and town. The owner was very attentive and served breakfast when we wanted it. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank R_n_R_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

This was a beautiful place on Oia. The room was very clean, and had its own private deck with a view of the sunset over the sea. It also had a view of a great deal of the caldera. We had a room that was just under the windmill (which can also be rented), which was so picturesque. In short, we loved it. It would be great for couples or small groups.

The breakfasts were great, especially for Greece. They offerred tasty yogurt, fruit, cereal, ham and cheese, coffee, juices, etc.

The owner was extremely helpful. We arrived one day late because of bad weather (fast boats were not running), and he was very accomodating and did not charge us for that night. He was responsive and coordinated all of our transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greektraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Very lovely room with an amazing view. A little north of the center of Oia, which may suit some and not suit others. There is no pool. There is, however, a lovely and enticing staircase outside the hotel that leads down to the most enticing little cove where you can take a dip.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myperuvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DreamOnAerofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank archie110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.7 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#31 of 56 in Oia
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 56 in Oia
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £129 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing