We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Oia Santorini” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sunset Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Oia Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Love this hotel! We had such a pleasant stay here last month (early Sept 2013). Free upgrade from owner of the hotel upon check in. Our room was big with adequate furniture (believe our room was #14). Room had a kitchen too that provided plates, silverware and coffee machine. It was very useful as we bought fruits and breakfasts for each day from nearby grocery store. By the way, Santorini's grapes are the BEST in the world!. The owner also gave us a complementary red wine , which was the best. Patio outside of our room was huge. Every day we sat on patio to enjoy the beautify sunset while receiving envious glances from dinner guests in front of us (hotel has a restaurant in front of our room). Hotel's windmill attracted lot of tourists gather outside for the view, which made us feel so proud of our choices as we were able to sit right outside of our room to enjoy the magnificent Oia sunset.
The day of our departure, the owner/husband got up before 5am to make sure everything was ok for us (as we had to leave by 5:30am to airport). He sent his employee to carry our luggage from our room to the taxi spot at 5:15am. Due to taxi driver did not show up, he personally drove us to airport. Talk about customer service!!
Overall, we loved our stay here. Owners and hotel staffs were so nice and friendly. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Any room is great but our room was number 14, which is right below the windmill. Very spacious with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veneas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    40
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
120
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October; the first day was a big let down- the accommodation provided to us (number 7) was very very basic; very poorly furnished room with a very small bathroom (the washbasin and toilet seat spaces almost overlapping).The room itself was not aesthetic- the bed was right at the entrance - foot of the bed was just a feet or so away from the main door and you have full view of bed if you open the room. The sitting area for some inexplicable reason was on the inner side when it should have been the reverse. (Actually there are no beds in this hotel- mattresses are put on brick platform in most, if not all rooms (or villas as they call- a real misnomer). The floor was patchy and unkempt and furnishing old and dirty.
Any way we protested at this accommodation and were promised a better room next day. They kept their promise and next morning we shifted to Apartment 3 (i hate to call it a villa) which was vey different from our previous accommodation. This has a proper siiting area with a dining table and the bed (still the mattress on stone platform) in the inner room.Bathroom was decent and we finally had proper accommodation to enjoy OIA with its glorious sunset and its winding and beatiful terraced gullies.The hotel breakfast is basic and not much to write about. The small hotplate in the corner is an apology for a kitchen or kitchnette and truly a misnomer. No microwave and we had to borrow a pan from front desk to heat up some food and pardon me, no tissues in the room- they donot provide these.
So much about the amenities; now let us look at the bright side.
The sunset views are truly amazing and grand from your own terrace (yes even in apartment 7) and you definitely feel superior when you see large number of people crowding at adjacent public view points. The windmill lends its own old world charm and after our first day's disappointment, everything went well. Kourikos and his assistant Andre were very helpful and helped with our luggage to and from the taxi alighting point ,a little distance away.
One advise to those intending to stay at this hotel is to travel light- you can not get down from taxi at hotel entrance and have to cover short distance on foot,this is a bit steep and there are stairs and not a level pathway.This is probably true of all hotels in Oia.
The location is the main reason to stay here and the local shops are right next to hotel.
(I am not being uncharitable when i write this review but believe that an intending traveller must get a true picture of what to expect by way of amenities apart from location and views.The description and the photos on the website donot always convey a true picture.)

Room Tip: Avoid Apartment 7 for the reasons given above. Apartments 3,4 and 5 are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rajiv259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

this has got to be one of my most favourite places to visit. We like to see different places on holidays but keep getting drawn back here,
we have stayed here 3 times over the last 5 years, & have loved it just as much each time.
you get one of the best views of the sunset from your patio, & you can people watch as the "tourists" gather to find a spot to watch the sun go down.
the restaurants and shops are only a short walk from your door, but this is a really peaceful spot & the cave houses have such thick walls they ensure a good nights sleep.
Kyriakos and Spiradoula are just lovely hosts, they are very professional, friendly & will help you out with advice or hiring cars or scooters etc..
we have stayed in the windmill previously which is unique & has amazing views from its terrace, be warned the stairs are a bit steep but worth it for the views,
There is a pool-bar a couple of minutes walk away where you can have as sun bed/ shade for a 7 euro minimum spend, which also has nice views over the sea & sun set

Room Tip: windmill has amazing views , you will feel like a celeb apt1,2,3 all have great sunset views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haylshull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were 2 families with 2 kids - 3 yr and 2 yrs old. This is by far the best place to stay in Oia. Prices are good, the view is to die for.. One of the reviewers here has stated it right, during the sunset the entire Santorini flocks this corner to get the best view of the sunset, but you will have ur own space, a beautiful sit out, without having to deal with the crowds. You can watch the sunset in peace with some wine under the beautiful windmill.. Cannot get better!

Spiridoula and Cereakos are good hosts and very helpful. They set us up with a very friendly mini var tour guide and we got a good pvt tour of the island and he also took us to some great authentic local spots for food.

Breakfast was good.

In all, this is the hotel that you will see in each and every postcard pic from Santorini - the 2 arches under the windmill at the horizon. One of those arches was the balcony of our room. The windmill also belongs to this property..

Room Tip: Room number 5 has 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and is right under the windmill. It is one of the arches th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomeGirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The couple who run these villas are incredibly hospitable. We are in the 4th day of our stay in Oia and have the best views of the spectacular sunset from our verandah. We are staying in traditional 'cave-type' dwellings which adds to the uniqueness of Santorini.
Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneFamily86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

wooahh.. words will be less to describe.. one must go and stay in this beautiful city Oia in santorini.. and that too in this windmill villa... The owner and staff were very helpful.. We enjoyed our own private sunset on the caldera..far away from the crowd just adjacent to the hotel.. This small town is very vibrant, colorful, chilling during the night.. have taken some of the fond memories from this village in santorini.. especially while clicking my wife at those blue domb churches :-) where i lost my fone.. :-(

Room Tip: Stay in windmill.. you will forget any other room but not this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed in the windmill. Quite an experience.
Great location on the caldera and views not to be believed.
The manager/owner and the staff were incredibly thoughtful and helpful.
Great value and again kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.7 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#40 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Property: Golden Sunset Villas
Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing