We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
SEA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Stayed for five nights from 15 - 20 October in the Cave house. The stay was wonderful. The rate included daily breakfast (Juice, Coffee, Tea, bread, jam, ham, cheese, cereals, yogurt and honey) and a wonderful view. The rooms were clean and comfortable with spring mattresses. It had a well equipped kitchen, with coffee maker, pots, utensils, dishwashing liquid and sponge etc. The room came with a folder which suggested places to eat, explore and things to do. The room was cleaned everyday with change of towels, which is a real pleasure to see everyday when we are back from our excursions. The owner was ever ready with advise whenever needed.

The view is amazing. Many travel to Oia to get a spectacular view of the sunset, while we had access to the view every evening on our private balcony, sipping tea =)

Oia has a number of shops and restaurant, thus it rather self sufficient and you won't have to travel elsewehere. The trip was even more enjoyable as it was off peak and there weren't many tourists around. Thus getting on the bus, cable and ferry rides wasn't a problem at all.

For the accommodation, service and view, the price was well-worth it. An unique feature of the place is the windmills, which are featured on souvenirs and pictures of Santorini.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and view
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chipper_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    43
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
131
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

On our first trip to Greece we stayed at Golden Sunset for 2 nights. We stayed in Room #1, the traditional cave house, pictured on the website. Room was spacious with separate sitting area, kitchenette and bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. Single beds in sitting area could accommodate more than two persons, however, it would be tight. Our terrace was immediately adjacent to those of the rooms next door, but that is the case with all Oia hotels. The room was quiet and comfortable, however, the bar above us played music that competed with the restaurant below us and it was a little frustrating. One soundtrack would have been enough! But none of this is the hotel's fault. Kyriakos was a great host and set us up with a caldera tour. The hotel shares a beautiful pool with another hotel and the pool is sort of on the backside of the island with a beautiful and different view. Because Golden Sunset is almost at the very end of the crescent, this is just a short walk down a little path.

  • Liked — The terrace and view
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottagoME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We LOVED our stay here. We did not book it, but were given the windmill to stay in - how wonderful!! We had our own little house...it was three floors - kitchen on first floor, bed and bath on second and another bed on the third floor. We had our own rather large balcony area with two chaises. There was a store that was steps from the windmill and we certainly took advantage of that - so nice for water since we drink quite a bit of that on a regular basis (and it was very cheap!). The hotel is a bit out of the way, not right in and among the restaurants and shops, but the walk is so amazingly beautiful, that I actually preferred the stroll to dinner and shopping each night! (And it's not far...maybe 10 minutes if you're walking very slowly.) All in all, we loved the location. And about the owner...he was SO helpful and kind. Couldn't have asked for a better host. He let us keep his laptop for a few days for internet use (there was fantasy football to be researched by my husband...) he always had an answer for all of our questions. On the last day he was particularly helpful... Our ferry to Crete was cancelled...he helped us make all of our phone calls (to Crete...the hotel, the taxi we had lined up, etc.) We were able to stay on another night - but at the last moment - after badgering the people at Pelican Travel in Fira, we found out there was an "emergency" ferry to Crete. The owner helped us communicate to the taxi driver that he needed to wait while we got our luggage out of our room and take us back to Fira (fast!!!!) to catch this "emergency" ferry. It was a wild goose chase, but somehow we made it. He was so helpful!
Anything we asked for, he was able to supply.
The view is amazing....clear, unobstructed view of the sunset. The walk down to Ammoudi was great as well...I did that several times to work off a little bit of our delicious dinners! One tip on the island though...We had 4 nights and we could have easily been satisfied with 3. The island is small...you can cover it quickly.
We had a wonderful stay here and would most definitely stay again if we ever get back to Greece!

  • Liked — View, location, service
  • Disliked — Loved it all...
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JustWannaGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frisco
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Golden sunset Villas has the best PRIVATE view of the Oia Sunset. We first thought their rate is abit pricey yet when we got there, I found it is the best deal I ever got in my life. It has a small store, restaurant and shops nearby. The BEST part of it is, (we stay in the cave house) is you have your VERY own private terrace to watch the sunset while other need to climb on the cliff, fighting for spaces, elbowing each other for the same view.
The owner (own by a couple with their daughter) are extremely helpful and hard working. They speak fluent English. Breakfast is OK and they have AC if you are visiting during summer months. 1500 channels of sat. TV to keep track of your sport score.
The room is slightly smaller than I think and the door height is sort of low if you are over 6 feet. Shower is kind of small too but it's good enough for us. The cave also features a full kitchen which you can buy grocery can cook your own meal. They provide wine glasses and dishes, cleaning solution. Note: if you go from Airport to GSV, be prepare a 25 Euro taxi ride (fixed rate). I don't recommend bus becoz you need to carry your luggage quite a distant from Oia's bus stop to GSV.

  • Liked — location and the view
  • Disliked — shower is small
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bbkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Until we actually got there we did not realize how good a spot the Golden Sunset Villa actually was. Almost anyone who has seen a postcard of Santorini has seen the windmills, but little did I realize that one of the famous windmill is part of the hotel, which is just awesome.

We stayed in one of the rooms that was once a oven, the windmill too has been converted into a room and you can stay inside. The interiors are basic but functional, but what really blows you away is the location and the fantastic sunsets from your own private balcony.

The owner was courteous and answered all our questions and also helped us carry our luggage to the carpark.

The breakfast is basic, but sufficient. The yogurt with honey is very nice as you eat it with million dollar views beside you.

After exploring the island, Oia is by far the best and most romantic spot to stay on the Island. This is where the hotel is strategically located.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiran_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We only spent 3 days in Santorini, and were really happy with our decision to stay in Oia and at Golden Sunset Villas.

The location couldn't be better, and the owner was extremely helpful, hospitable and welcoming. He even offered to come and pick us up if we weren't able to get a cab back to the hotel one evening!

Our room was clean and comfortable, although it was a little damp. Given the type of hotel this is, we weren't surprised by this at all. The breakfast was simple and quite good.

The only thing we wished was that the hotel had a pool. I understand that there is a "park" being built next door which will include a cafe and pool that hotel guests will have access to.

  • Liked — Location, friendly owner
  • Disliked — ummm.... nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2007

I agree with all of the other positive comments, our trip to Oia was fabulous. Our room was clean and charming and had a nice terrace view of the caldera. The only thing we would do differently is go during the warmer months when the waters are more warm to go swimming. The owner was courteous and friendly, and helpful in giving us suggestions for places to go and arranging our half-day island excursion. The lady that cleaned our room was also nice and even did our laundry. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank micotex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#45 of 56 in Oia
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 56 in Oia
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Property: Golden Sunset Villas
Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing