We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was beauuuutiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sunset Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything was beauuuutiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Golden Sunset Villas in June 2014 - what an amazing place! Our villa was spacious and clean, perfectly fitted with all amenities. And the sunsets from our private terrace were spectacular! Kiriokos and his staff were so pleasant, extremely accommodating! Breakfast was excellent - we especially enjoyed the fantastic greek yogurt brought in from Crete - yum! We highly recommend Golden Sunset Villas to all our travel friends!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank She T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    40
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
120
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

My partner and I checked into Golden Sunset Villas in August for 4 nights. We had an early flight in, and we were very appreciative that the owner woke up early to let us in, store our bags and allow us to have breakfast on the first morning. Whilst the breakfasts weren’t anything amazing, cold meets, eggs, tinned fruit and Greek yoghurt with toast, the man doing breakfast service was great and very attentive.

Sadly, our good experience ended here. We were shown room 7 (which sits right behind the windmill) we weren’t 100% happy with the room as when we walked in we experienced the same as some over reviewers, the furniture and styling of the room as very old and out dated, the bathroom was extremely small with a very dirty shower curtain which didn’t go to the ground which ultimately made the whole bathroom flood every time you showered and the toilet and wash basin practically touching. The rest of the room was unclean with a lot of black hair and dirt on the floor. We requested to move room, however decided to stay in our room as it had a rooftop access to sunbake and watch the sunset. This probably was the only highlight of our hotel, however, the rooftop was very messy, dirty and had old rusty chairs lying around. Could be made a lot nicer and enjoyable to sit up there.

While the villa has a balcony outside your room, we struggled to sit out there and get privacy, as the hotel staff were constantly walking through our balcony from the breakfast/reception area to the store room. On one occasion we were both sunbaking and reading, and a male staff member walked through and stood waiting for me to get up and move so he could get through. I couldn’t even lay on our own balcony in my bikini without feeling uncomfortable with staff members walking through. Also, there was another time where I was out there alone reading, and the same male staff member stood right in front of me staring at me. We also had a time were we had the front door open to our room and laying in bed, and the same male staff member walked past and stared into the room. Quite unpleasant and uncomfortable.

Lastly to top of the bad experience, the female owner of the hotel reprimanded and spoke to me like a small child for having make up on the towels. Whilst I respect that the water in Santorini can make it hard for cleaning them, it felt highly uncomfortable and inappropriate to have this conversation seeing as it is suppose to be a resort and we had paid over $1000 for our stay there.

Overall, we feel that it was highly over priced just for a view. This hotel needs some work to make it more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlilouMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldensunsetvillas, Ιδιοκτήτης at Golden Sunset Villas, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guests,

We are very sorry that the experience of your stay at our hotel was less than your expectations and we apologize for any inconvenience.
Since 1992 we try to update our facilities and amenities .All these years we try the best we can, so that our guests will be able to have the best services and enjoy their vacation.

With kind and sincere regards,
Kyriakos Karvounidis & Spiridoula Morali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a great place! I'm so happy we were able to stay at Hotel Golden Sunset. The private terrace sunsets and views of the caldera are stunning! It is a relatively small hotel with variations of room types of the 9 or so rooms the hotel offers. We were graciously upgraded to a little bit larger room than originally booked so that was a nice surprise! Thank you Spirodoulas!!! Hotel staff was just lovely. A few good people to make sure you have a wonderful visit. The bed was quite hard for both of us so that would be the only thing worth mentioning. We spent five days here and loved every minute of it! Highly recommend this hotel for its great accommodations with an excellent value as compared to other places in the area of Oia. And I must say location, location, location if you love views, sunsets, breezes, terrace living! The place exceeded my expectations!

Room Tip: All rooms have Caldera view. We loved our room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tunemein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Recomendation given by friends, this place was just admirable. Rooms were almost full, so u are assured popularity of this place.
Very clean rooms. first time we stayed in Cave houses, superb balcony with umrellas, right on top of Aegan sea, overlooking sunsets. And most unbelievable aspect is that the hotel owns the Windmills..
The recepton guys were so welcoming. Will recommend to all. But please book it in much advance.

Room Tip: must overlook sea, sunset orientation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VivekAnand73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and will definitely return. The hotel is cozy, conveniently located in Oia and has the most spectacular view from our terrace. The sunsets were amazing, i just keep on looking at all the pictures I took.
Spiroula was very kind and friendly and gave us all the tips and facilities. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Cave number 7 has a big private terrace with excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is the perfect place to stay in Santorini. Accommodation is clean and well kept. The location is ideal and views breathtaking. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Ons can walk anywhere in Oia but you are spared the chaos due to the peripheral location except at sunset when everyone wants to share a piece of the view!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I only spent two nights here, but the stay is the most impressive & unforgettable among my travel experiences. The ocean view & the sunset right in front of my room is priceless. It's also interesting to live in the place which always appears in post cards.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#39 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Property: Golden Sunset Villas
Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing