We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth every cent”
Review of Lava Oia's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lava Oia's
Ranked #27 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Oia
Reviewed 18 December 2012

expensive sure,but when you sit in the balcony and u have the best view of he world in front of u, why the heck no....
breathtaking, just amazing!! the room is fantastic too,in he mountain,so thats cool too!!!
u only gonna visit santorini one time, so why not enjoy it the king style....
go and enjoy it!!! oh yes!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank mendpatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a week's stay in Oia, Santorini, staying at Lava Oia's. Pepitsa is a wonderful proprietress, making us feel very "at home" -- talk about a room with a view! Wow! The beautiful Aegean sea at our doorstep, we had requested breakfast every morning on our verandah, delicious. We felt very spoiled by this wonderful lady. The cave house is roomy and decorated with taste, a perfect setting for Santorini. It was toward the end of the season, so all was very quiet for us, just what we ordered. I would highly recommend Lava Oia's to one and all for a special visit to a magical island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flame505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had the standrad studio which is the cheapest room in this hotel. (the photo on the top of page)

GOOD:
1. Big studio(at least 25m2) , very comfort and cozy, warm/simply decoration. Very clean.

2. Small hidding covered veranda(which safe you out from all the torists's photos and you can enjoy the big blue view like at home!) Only in this type of studio.

3.WIFI works as well even in the down stairs appartement(where we were). As Santorin was our first step of our trip in greece islands, to get connection of internet was quite important for us to preparer the next steps(boat, hotels etc.) we've choice this hotel also because of the internet service and it was very good.

4. The kind owner very nice lady. Always disponible.

But...
1. There seems a new luxe hotel recently open(maybe date in this year) just down stair of our door, so the staffs run infront of us. They are quite descreet, but run just infront of us all the time. Hotel(160 THEA)'s reception next door of our studio, sometimes the customer speaks loudly. It was O.K. but we're not as alone as the others reviews had mentioned.

2. Shower room no shower cautain.

3. I'd like to sleep in a "real cave house" but the one we takes was not really. If you want a cave house take "honeymoon studio" or the"yellow house" or the 4per apprtement.
However for the nice veranda I don't regret my choice. Maybe next time I'll take another room for the cliff houses view(from our veranda we only see the big blue ,the volcan and the staffs of 160thea)

Finally:
We booked for 2 nights finaly stayed for 4 nights.

Thanks the nice lady who takecare of us. I'd like to have more time to talk with her about the architecture, about Santorin, France and the wine...But time for holiday is always not enough...

The white wine she send us was the best wine we had in Greece.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barque_verte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed in Villa Oia in August, 2012. Ms. Petridou is a fantastic host. She will happily assist you in everything to make your experience in Oia unforgettable from car rental to giving directions to places of interest. She even bought a fresh fish for us in Fira, provided us with spices , olive oil and fresh vegetables for cooking. It was very pleasant to sit with her at the terrace and talk about traveling, architecture and... cats! She adores them. The location, the houses, the terrace with a caldera view are amazing. We were made to feel so very welcome and would definitely recommend this place to our friends.
Alena&Sergey,
Russia

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoyaDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at Lava in July and loved every minute. Panagotia is the owner/ manager and goes out of her way to make your stay at Lava and more broadly on the island as memorable as possible. She printed off bus timetables, arranged a 4 wheeler for us, taxis to/ from airport and suggested places for us to see and eat at. Our experience wouldn't have been the same if it wasn't for her!

The view from the room was truly amazing and the cave rooms were really comfortable and clean.

Do yourself a favour and stay here! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScorpioMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I spent 4 nights at Lava Oia, in August 2011, with my husband and our dog, during a trip to Santorini. It was one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed in! Fantastic views, authentic interior, peaceful location down the main street of Oia, right before the pedestrian section. Having explored the whole island, I have no doubts that Oia is definitely the place to stay in Santorini. Lava Oia, on the other hand, has one of the best locations in Oia.
We had booked the Standard studio, aka House D, because nothing else was available by the time we had made up our mind, and were a bit worried about how different (and in what way) it would be from a Superior one. It was nevertheless perfect. What makes it Standard (and we confirmed this with the owner) is the fact that it has no AC - which was no issue at all, because the temperature was constantly pleasant (part of the house has been carved out in the Caldera). It also has the disadvantage to some (advantage to us), that it is located at the lowest point down the picturesque stairs that connect the houses to the main street.
The only downside was, of course, the plumbing - with all the inherent problems of plumbing in Greece. Needless to mention, warnings against throwing anything (including toilet paper) down the pipes do need to be taken seriously on an island like Santorini.
To sum things up, we had a wonderful time at Lava Oia. Upon our return from Santorini, we happened to see an older movie filmed on location there, and we had one more confirmation (if any was still needed) that we had stayed in a charmingly authentic place.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iuliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

amazing place, with the best view i have ever seen!!! a little bit expensive but it is worth it!!! friendly stuff and clean!!! the location is super wow and u just have to go when u visit santorini!!!
i will definately come back again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amir1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 mi away
The Dream
The Dream
#44 of 73 in Oia
4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Argo Suites
Argo Suites
#25 of 73 in Oia
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elysian Santorini
Elysian Santorini
#9 of 73 in Oia
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rimida Villas
Rimida Villas
#10 of 73 in Oia
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anemi House & Villas
Anemi House & Villas
#20 of 73 in Oia
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oia Sunset Villas
Oia Sunset Villas
#3 of 73 in Oia
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Oia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Oia's

Address: Ai-Giorgis, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Oia
Price Range: £180 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lava Oia's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Oia`s Hotel Oia
Lava Oia's Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing