We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel for 1 night. Amazing view.”
Review of Residence Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Suites
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OK hotel for 1 night. Amazing view.”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Staying here you'll get fantastic views in the heart of Oia. It's secluded and has a boutique feel however if you're planning to spend more time at your hotel then you should look at other options.

+ves
The views!
Friendly staff
Rooms clean
Boutique feel
Right in the centre of the action but with private entrance.

-ves
The single room was tiny!
No separate shower, just a very small wet room. So small in fact, that I was stood outside the bathroom while brushing my teeth over the sink.
Plumbing - when you run the shower the water pools and takes ages to drain. When running the tap in the sink, the water flowed up again through the drain in the floor.
Pool is very small - basically a plunge pool
Lots of cobblestones and steps to reach this place, take a case you can carry easily yourself.
Probably better value for money elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browniecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    76
    45
    30
    35
See reviews for
36
213
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

After having arrived in Oia we checked some other places just out of interest and they charged half of what the Residence Suites were charging - for the same kind of comfort and star level.
The Residence Suites are massively overpriced. The bathrooms are rubbish. You shower next to your toilet with water splashing back from the toilet bowl onto you. Both pools are so small you can hardly fit two people. Mind you the water was green/ yellow on the cold water pool and had truckloads of dirt swimming around in the Jacuzzi - I would not want to put my foot in there.
The water coming from the tap was brown. We realize there is a general problem in Oia however for €200/ night you kind of expect something a bit better than brown water.
I requested a room with a balcony overlooking the caldera. The room they gave us looked straight into another house.
The breakfast is not too bad. A wide selection of fruit, muesli, cold cuts, cheese.
The bedrooms of those cave houses are rubbish too! Ours smelt like our cellar - very damp atmosphere and this mould-smell in the air. I realize it is a cave house however I would not have wanted to check out the mattress as I am sure it would have been as mouldy as it's smell. The smell was really gross and every time you turned around in your bed you got a nice big wiff.
We went to Oia two years ago to a place called Lampetia - half the price and a thousand times nicer with a pool that deserves to be called pool!
Stay away from Residence Suites. Total ripoff!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldcitizen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I have to say this hotel exceeded expectations on most counts. The family suite was wonderfully spacious, so much so that the kids didn't want to leave it to go exploring! 2 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms, large living and dining area and small kitchen. The balcony with a fabulous caldera view was a huge plus. (My daughter described it as "7 rooms, including the balcony!" with breathless awe!). The hotel staff were helpful and sorted any problems we had with alacrity. The housekeeping staff amazed us with their creative towel shapes - elephants, swans, lotuses - totally delighting the kids. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy.
The only negatives: bathrooms could do with a bit of updating, shower area especially looked a bit run-down.(All plumbing in Greece seems to be suspect, as we were repeatedly told we could not flush any paper down the toilet and had to put it (used!) in the bin instead, which grossed us out a bit! This was not peculiar to this hotel though). An electric kettle in the kitchen or a coffee maker would have been nice. And there are lots of steps to get your bags down (or up), so be warned, although this would be true of most places in Oia. That's why they're so charming.
Would we stay here again? Definitely.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enchanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Heaven must be a little like this! Unbelievable time! TIA, YOU WERE THE GREATEST. Great chats/conversations around the breakfast table with guests from Singapore and Australia. Must have chatted for two hours....

Breathtaking views.... The hotel could not have been more accommodating. If you needed/wanted something,they were there to make sure you got it. Breakfast had to be a FIVE course 'plus' meal..............

This is the place to come back too!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superman622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dali
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2011

After trying Paros island 3 times the last 5 years, we decided that we should maybe try santorini this time. After a lot of searching on the internet, our choice fell on Oia and Residence suites, and that turned out to be the perfect choice.
The welcome we got from the front desk staff after our journey was absolutely amazing and even though we were a bit early for check in, our luggage was taken care of and we got transported down to our hotel ( we tipped our porter quite well since he had to carry 4 luggages all the steps down on the cliff ) .
See a lot of reviewers comment the distance to fira as a drawback; for us it was quite the opposite, and was a very welcome quiet spot (15 minutes drive ) from fira which we experienced as crowded and not that charming.
To cut a long story short; if you want to find a small boutique hotel to relax in a otherwise a bit chaotic santorini, this is definetely the place to be. I have visited numerous accommodations around the globe, but the tranquility and the magic panoramic view at this establishment was quite frankly beyond anything I have ever encountered.You have to see in order to believe it. Large suite,balcony with a great view to the caldera, nice outdoor jaccuzi, good breakfast, free wireless internet. Excellent, attentive staff . We would definately go back it really is a beautiful place to stay.Thank you Lila & John

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilabougiouroum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We arrived in Santorini the evening of Janury 1, 2011 for an overnight stay at the Residence Suites. We had read so many wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor about this place that we had to check it out. I must say, it was a challenge finding the place especially at night. Luckily, when we stopped to ask for directions at one of the few restaurants opened on New Years Day in Oia, one of the patrons was the hotels reservationist. She was waiting for us and just happened to be at the restaurant we stopped in to ask for directions. Since she was in the middle of her dinner, she waited for us to have our meal and we followed her to the hotel. We would have never found it without her as it was so dark and desolate. Since it was a holiday, the property had minimal guests so we were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite (Room108). The room was well appointed but the best part came in the morning when we were awakened with the most amazingly beautiful sunrise and view from the cliffs. That alone was so worth the limited time we spent there. I wish I had realized the island more or less shuts down on holidays - not good planning on my part. But so glad I had a chance to visit paradise.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We all definately had a great time.Astonishing views,centrally located,great last minute offer .If we ever come back in santorini we ll stay for sure over in Residence suites again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragou32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#46 of 56 in Oia
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#32 of 56 in Oia
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Suites

Property: Residence Suites
Address: Oia Main Street | Santorini, Greece, Europe, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of the cliff, in the heart of Oia village surrounded by charming blue domed churches, in an exclusive residential neighborhood of private homes. An exclusive collection of individually decorated apartments designed with luxury and comfort using art and a blend of traditional and modern architecture. Modern Greek decor bringing you maximum peace and tranquility with it's clean lines and original contemporary art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Oia
Residence Suites Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing