We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful place on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nostos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nostos Apartments
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Nostos Apartments is truly special - the gorgeous white cave houses are beautifully decorated in stylish blue and white with a great little kitchenette and a lovely modern bathroom. The view from the private terrace is simply breathtaking and certainly adds to the romantic vibe of oia, santorini and nostos. The staff were so friendly, fun and accommodating - Gabriella is so nice and chatty and full of great advice. We had originially booked a studio apartment but because it was at the beginning of summer the complex was quiet so we got to move into the large apartment right next to the pool - this was such a nice gesture. The staff could not do enough to help us have an amazing holiday, from lighting the candles on our terrace to the beautiful breakfast (whilst we ate breakfast they cleaned our rooms which I thought was great as you could go back to a lovely clean room and you knew you wouldnt be disturbed again during the day). The pool has the best view in the world and is a nice treat after walking around all day. It was a really amazing experience and I would highly recommend this gorgeous boutique complex.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soapieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    46
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
254
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We loved our cave apartment in Oai!!! Perfect location for everything, even with the stairs. Think of it as a workout program. Great hospitality by Gabriella!!! She arranged a sailing trip for us, made room for us for a couple more days we loved it so much and she checked on our hotel in Athens, because we were afraid for our safety. She could not have taken any better care of us. We loved the pool when it got too hot to do anything but relax. We will be back. I can promise you that!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryinSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is a lovely boutique hotel with the most spectacular views. If there is one piece of advice for all travellers to Santorini - get the best view you can afford! The view at Nostos exceeded our expectations.

The accommodation was modern and uncluttered. We booked a studio apartment, but due to our early arrival time (6am), Gabriella gave us a one-bedroom that was available so we would not have to wait to check in later. Just an example of how accommodating Gabriella is!

The one bedrooms are spacious, beds are large and comfortable and there is lots of luggage/storage space. Bathrooms are small, but in keeping with the decor, and with Korres amenities (Honey cinnamon body wash was divine). There are kitchenettes with everything you need to cook for yourself.

Breakfast is ordinary continental, we ate greek yoghurt with honey every morning, but there are many bakeries nearby if you want something fresher.

The best things about the accommodation were the terrace in front of our room, and the pool with unobstructed views of the caldera. We would either lounge in the pool, marvelling at the views, or on the terrace, enjoying the views and privacy.

I would recommend Nostos to anyone, and Oia also over staying in Fira. We walked from Fira to Imerovgili, and the views and town of Oia are the most beautiful of Santorini! Oia is touristy - without a doubt, but it is a good size to explore and beautiful regardless. Nostos is at the very start of the main street, which has no real drawbacks as there are restaurants the entire way and being at the start you avoid the real crowds from the tour buses and cruise ships. I would not suggest any mobility impaired/elderly to stay here as there are several flights of stairs down to the hotel.

One point to note is all over Greece there are street animals. There were some kittens that would play on our terrace in the evenings and we ended up with some fleas in the bedroom when they tried to sneak past the door. So don't touch the animals!

We had an amazing time and would like to thank Gabriella and the staff for a beautiful personal holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinnyflatwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Just returned from beautiful Santorini and really enjoyed a 5 night stay at the Nostos. Gabriella was a great help and so friendly from her emails before arrival to her warm welcome and friendly goodbye.

We stayed in room 101, the studio room with the corner terrace and it was delightful. Clean and stylish inside and the balcony terrace overlooking the caldera was stunning especially to enjoy a drink upon when the staff light the candle lamps in the evening.

I would definitely recommend these apartments as a fantastic place to stay in Oia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellymania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northmead
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

I'm not normally one for lying around in the sun and doing nothing when I'm on holidays, I'm more of a sights and culture person. This is the first place I've stayed that I was happy to get up in the morning and think, "I'm quite happy to have a swim and then sit on my own private balcony for the day." The rooms are different in that they've been carved into the cliff face. They're not overly decorated, but still remain elegant. If you have a major fitness problem or mobility issue, you may find the stairs a bit of a challenge. Otherwise, you have an amazing view, your own private balcony looking at the caldera complete with sun lounges and umbrella. Its also very close to all the restaurants and shops in Oia. Its great value for money, given that surrounding hotels were charging triple the price. Gabriella at reception is also a great help.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthmeadGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

If you want a 5 star modern hotel, this is not for you. And if you are mobility impaired, this hotel and indeed all of Oia will be too difficult. But if you want a traditional cave experience, with the most magnificent views and friendly, helpful staff, then Nostos could not be more highly recommended. A lazy, romantic stay is in wait fo you. Santorini itself is beautiful and the views from Nostos are superb. The rooms are large, comfortable, spotless and with simple furnishings. There are some nice personal touches that you will enjoy. One of the staff comes around at night and tidies your balcony, packing up the umbrella and cushions and leaves a candle lamp for you. In the morning, he re-sets your balcony for you. A pleasant continental breakfast is served right up until 11am in a lovely room. There is no noise whatsoever and most of the rooms are very private. There is a small but good pool. Gabriella at reception will give you helpful advice and organise whatever you need for your stay. The steps to and fro the rooms to the main street are steep, but a porter will carry your suitcase for you. There are lots of great restaurants nearby and the sunsets are beautiful. Nostos and Oia are both highly recommended; we wished we could stay forever!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

I loved this place! It is at the start of the pedestrian street in Oia which is a perfect location (about 10 minute walk to get to the castle at the end of Oia to watch the sunset). Each room has its own private terrace with lounge chairs and a view of the caldera. It is breathtaking and a great place for romance. The rooms are built into the side like a cave so they stay cool during the day and were kept very clean. Gabriella and the rest of the staff were extremely hospitable and breakfast was delicious. My only complaint was that Internet is not free (you buy a prepaid card with 2 hours on it). However, this did not detract from what a great place this is. We would definitely love to go back and stay at Nostos again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler2197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.3 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Apartments

Property: Nostos Apartments
Address: Oia village, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#16 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nostos Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small settlement located in OIA on the Santorini Island,consist of 8 units for 2 till 5 persons, reception, bar and pool facilities. Settlement is situated on the edge of the Volcano crater, overlooking the see and islets around. Each unit is fully equipped and can work as an independent bungalow (fully equipped kitchen, terrace etc.) Cave-like looking apartments, just 3-5 minutes walking distance from the center of the village and shopping center, but on the really calm area... relaxing and romantic atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Nostos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Apartments Oia
Nostos Apartments Hotel Oia
Nostos Apartments Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing