We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't go wrong here !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nostos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nostos Apartments
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
ventura ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong here !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Nostos is the absolute best location for your Caldera view period. Maya and the staff make you feel right at home. Maya set up our transportation from the airport and it went off without a hitch. The drive from the airport to Nostos is about 1/2 an hour, the ride was fast, scary and just what we needed after 28 hours of travel from Los Angeles. We were met at the drop by Rolland who took our bags to our room, we then met Maya who gave us some info about the area and the hotel. We were beat so directly to the pool with us - amazing view of the sea. The hotel sits at the end of the walkway so you have nothing in front of you except the Caldera view. And no one walking by your area to get to other places (many hotels you have to walk by and can see in rooms). This is the most private and worth all the steep steps to get up to the village! We were in room 6 with a great patio and access directly to the pool. The room was perfect, clean and refreshing and sits on the very edge of the cliff, so no one is in front of you. The morning breakfast is really huge and excellent . The portions were so big we made sandwiches out of our leftovers and never had to buy lunch. After a few days we checked out all of the other hotels and really feel like this has the best location. If you stay in Oia (don't stay anywhere else, the other towns are not as pretty or well located) make sure to stay where you have direct access to the pedestrian walkway - walking along the road to get to town is scary! Btw there is a mini market at the top of the stairs with wine, cheese and all the goods you need to have your own dinner on your balcony. You should note that there is no pool bar. So if you like drinks, you make them yourself. You definitely need a pool here because it gets super hot and sunny.

Restaurants : We loved Lotsa, it had great mussels and the salads were huge and it looked like lot of locals eating there as well. There are no real bars here so cocktails are done at the restaurant of your choice. The food here in general is excellent you won't go wrong no matter where you eat.

Beware of the passengers from the cruise ships they come in hordes in the afternoon for the sunset. We just kicked back on our balcony and waited for them to leave before we went to dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matt h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    46
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
254
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Yes, this place is exactly like the pictures. Paradise! The views are spectacular, the infinity pool is a plus especially at night, and the location is ideal. It was worth every penny...

The room was clean, cool, and completely furnished but you rarely spend much time inside in this town. The staff were very helpful (though we didn't get to meet the owner Gabriella -- hope your mother is better!) -- they arranged the taxi transfers to and from Nostos and even packed our breakfast when we had to leave on an early flight back to Athens.

The breakfast provided was the best and most substantial we ever had in Greece -- more than the typical hard roll and yogurt. There were boiled eggs, fruit, freshly squeezed fruit juice, cold cuts, cheeses, etc. There is also a store at the top of the stairs, not too friendly but they have a lot of fruit and food if you decide not to eat on a cliff side cafe enjoying the views.

The only complaint we had at Nostos was the weak wifi signal in our unit. The only complaint anyone else might have with the place is the steep set of stairs down to the property. They will haul your luggage up and down but be prepared for your own personal workout!

We would love to stay at Nostos the next time we're here if we have a short visit. But if we stay for a longer stint. we probably won't need the pool and view and would find something just as nice on the other side of town for half the price. But if this is your first time to Santorini (and especially if you are a couple), you've got to stay here!

Oia eating suggestion: eat at Cafe Flora about half way into town on your right -- great Greek pizza (it is different, delicious. and reasonable) and gelato. Say hi to Amir the young server and Manolish, the owner's husband -- he speaks some English and loves to teach you Greek!

As for the rest of the island, go to the Akrotiri ruins that just reopened in 2012. The red sand beach there is a bit of a hike and mostly rocks but it is beautiful. We went to the beach at Kamari (very European with a lot of suntanning and not much swimming) but found out later it is better to go to Perissa for a swimming experience. We didn't spend any time in Thira but will go to the Archeology Museum the next time we are there. Buses are a reliable way to get around and taxis are a good backup plan. And of course the Oia sunset is spectacular -- get to the north end of town about 20 minutes before the event -- it gets crowded.

By the way, for the "Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants" crowd, you can still get a horse (not donkey) ride up from the beach on the north end of town but it is not the same location as the movie. The place where the film was shot was actually right below Nostos but a landslide killed a tourist recently and so the path is closed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beem4johns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

This was my fourth trip to Santorini but my first to Nostos. Overall it was a wonderful experience. Personal balconies for each room, a wonderful breakfast and the staff was absolutely great. I will definitely try to stay here again on my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this beautiful spot.
Our terrace overlooking the Caldera was spacious and the view breathtaking.
It is well organised, with friendly and accommodating staff. They have a lovely breakfast room with a lovely lady running it. Standing in their pool you may gaze out over the sea.
We didn't mind , but you should be prepared to climb up steps to get to the shops and restaurants: it was worth the exercise!

Room Tip: 106 has a great view, but as stated you need to be prepared to climb back up each day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayday_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights in July 2012. The service that Maya and her staff provided was fantastic from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. This was evermore evident when we missed our flight to Athens and Maya helped us find the next available flight.

We stayed in both the standard and junior suite rooms. Both offered exceptional views of the caldera. The rooms were very clean with wine on arrival, and candles lit in the evening. The breakfast is great with enough choice to get you on your way for the rest of the day - and the view from the breakfast room was great.

We would recommend Nostos Apartments to anyone looking to travel to Oia, Santorini.

Room Tip: Standard Rooms are great. Bathroom is bigger in the standard room than the junior suite. All rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank despina_furnari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at Nostos for our honeymoon, one week. We chose Nostos for the location and previous reviews on trip advisor. What a great choice it was! We had an amazing time here. On arrival Maya was very welcoming and friendly which was lovely and they had put wine, flowers and water in our room on arrival which was a nice touch.

Location - end of walk way in Oia - I would stay perfect location for the views and a nice walk into the main square at night. There are steps down to the apartments which can be hard work in the mid-day sun.

Room - The room was very nice and spacious with modern decor. Very comfortable and a huge veranda over looking the Caldera. Good air conditioning.

Breakfast - great, i enjoyed fruit, yoghurt and crossants every morning and fresh juice made by Morella who was very friendly, we enjoyed chatting to her every morning.

Oia - very pretty and perfect for our honeymoon. We enjoyed Ambrosia and Nectar - they had the best risotto. Floga was a good choice for lunch - they have nice tortillas.

We will return to Santorini and will stay at Nostos for the location, friendly staff and price. Happy to recommend Nostos.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairerobo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Well I think most of the reviews say it all, but I felt I still had to add that this has to be one of the most beautiful views I have ever experienced. We had an amazing holiday in Santorini and this was the perfect location, it felt amazing to come back after a day out and sit on your own very private verandah and just soak in the view, plus you could cool off in the small but adequate pool. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We hired a quad bike for 3 days which was great fun, and saw most of the island. The room were tastefully decorated and lovely , spacious and cool. There are only 8 rooms in total ,which makes it intimate. We loved our stay here and were sad to leave they only area they could improve on were the breakfasts they were a bit monotonous. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.3 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Apartments

Property: Nostos Apartments
Address: Oia village, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#16 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nostos Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small settlement located in OIA on the Santorini Island,consist of 8 units for 2 till 5 persons, reception, bar and pool facilities. Settlement is situated on the edge of the Volcano crater, overlooking the see and islets around. Each unit is fully equipped and can work as an independent bungalow (fully equipped kitchen, terrace etc.) Cave-like looking apartments, just 3-5 minutes walking distance from the center of the village and shopping center, but on the really calm area... relaxing and romantic atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nostos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Apartments Oia
Nostos Apartments Hotel Oia
Nostos Apartments Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing