We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty as a picture” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nostos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nostos Apartments
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty as a picture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We have spent two nights at this lovely restful place. The rooms are very uniquely built into the hillside. The morning breakfast was very good. It is hard to leave the tranquility of the view to climb up to the main walkway through Oia.We have an unobstructed view of the caldera and the cruise ships mooring in Fira. The swimming pool was refreshing. Would recommend highly. The only caution would be the number of steps down to the apartments. The staff is very helpful carrying bags, making reservations and suggestions for sights.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    46
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
254
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We couldn't get over how beautiful the views were. We arrived very early and we were put in a larger room than we had booked since our room wasn't available yet which was great as we were really tired. The apartments are in a perfect location at the beginning of the main street in Oia. There is a small shop at the top of the path to pick up food or any necessities which was really handy for making meals in the apartments and picking up drinks/toiletries plus we noticed it was cheaper than the shop further into Oia. Nostos is at the bottom of the stairs which does mean there are lots of stairs to walk up but this guarantees you privacy as no one will be walking by to get to their apartment unlike the places higher up. So well worth the walk. Besides this also means there are no buildings blocking your view. Also, I cant say enough how much you should stay at a place with a pool. It was the best way to cool off midday when it got way too hot. The pool at Nostos is perfect, they even provide extra towels by the pool in case you need more. The breakfast was served in a room above the pool with fantastic views. There are lots of windows so you don't feel like you are deprived of any views from any of the tables. The lady serving breakfast was really nice and friendly. She would squeeze us fresh juice every morning and she shared her santorini magazine with us. My favourite was the thick greek yoghurt with honey. The rooms were modern and well done. I loved the stone in the shower, it was a nice touch to the "cave" apartment. One thing to note is that you cant get wifi in the rooms, probably due to the "cave" nature of them but it works really well on the terrace, breakfast room or even near the pool which is really where you want to be anyways - outside enjoying the view. I think that would be the case in any hotel in Oia though. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with helping us book a catamaran boat tour, carrying our bags and bookings taxis. I would go back to Nostos apartments in a heartbeat. It was perfect!

Room Tip: We picked the smallest room since it was the last one left and it was just fine for us. A double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraX_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We had three nights in this gorgeous town of Oia and is definitely a highlight so far! We were greeted by Yanas who helped up with our luggage and who works very had around the property keeping it beautifully maintained. Then met Maya who manages the place she is very lovely mummy to be and is very helpful and friendly. They took us to our cave which is clean and roomy and breathtaking view. Staff all lovely and breakfast lady Mirela made up beautifully fresh squeezed juice each morning and also was very friendly and informative about the town and were to eat!! The staff are all so lovely and made our stay very relaxing!! Have to mention edge pool was wonderful and spent a lot of time talking to other guests there and at breakfast which we find interesting! Thankyou again to all for our beautiful stay at Nostos!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groove011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We arrived early and were greeted at the airport by our driver who was arranged by Maya at the hotel. She had also arranged for the staff to arrive early and carry our bags down 105 stairs to the hotel. They opened the breakfast area an hour early for us and we enjoyed a cup of coffee overlooking the caldera.

The rooms were nice, the breakfast and fresh squeezed juice perfect, and best of all was the staff. They made our experience quite enjoyable. We have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, and if you reach out to maya and her team, you will really enjoy your stay. They are a wealth of information.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in September 2013. Had a great experience the entire time. We arrived at the port in Fira and had a driver waiting to pick us up. Yannis met us at the van when we arrived and he carried our luggage down all those steps and directed us to our room. My first impression of the room (I booked the lowest room category) was WOW. There was a room with a small couch and a kitchen, then steps down to our bathroom (which was really nice) and the bedroom with a balcony overlooking the caldera. I honestly thought we were given the wrong room because it was so nice. Also, the bathroom products that they give you were Korres and I'm now addicted to their Citrus Body Milk thanks to Nostos. :)

I loved our room- the first night our air cond. wasn't working, so we slept with all the windows and the balcony doors open and it was awesome waking up to that view! The safe wasn't working properly either the first day-- but both issues were promptly fixed and we had absolutely nothing wrong or even remotely negative happen the rest entire stay. The bed was really comfortable- the best bed we had in Greece.

The pool was awesome- it was never busy and the views from the pool are breathtaking. There are loungers right below the pool which are nice. There aren't any umbrellas, which might have been nice for a little shade, but honestly they would have restricted the view for those in the pool, so I'm happy that they aren't there. A lot of rooms (not ours) had umbrellas with loungers- (must have been the room category above ours), so if you want shade maybe look into booking one of those rooms.

Breakfast was really good as well. The lady that works at the breakfast area was so nice and friendly- super eager to help. The greek yogurt with the dried fruits (dried raspberries, strawberries, kiwi, pineapple + more) was my favorite.

Mya at the reception desk was more than helpful and very friendly. We want to say thanks to everyone at Nostos for a wonderful 4 nights. Also wanted to let Yannis know that we went to his favorite bar in Gazi and had a great time! ;)

We would highly recommend this place to anyone. Of note there are a few steps down to the hotel, but as long as you don't have mobility issues, they aren't bad. The location of the hotel is awesome since you are the lowest hotel on that section of the caldera, you don't have anyone else that you are overlooking.

The value for the hotel and the awesome staff make this place stand out. We hope that someday we can come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with our choice to stay in Nostos Apartments. The cave rooms are very clean and just lovely with minimal decor.

I really enjoyed the fact that the balcony did not just have chairs and a table, but 2 lounge chairs so that we could lay out comfortably with the exquisite view of the caldera. That felt very luxurious.

The service was very friendly, especially from Mirella and Yannis who were especially warm and eager to help in any way they could.

Breakfast was good. The yogurt was the creamiest and best yogurt I have ever eaten! The cakes and pastries were fresh. There was freshly squeezed orange juice every morning along with fresh fruit, boiled eggs, and flavorful jams.

Finally, the infinity pool was heaven. The small size of the pool did not bother us. Even though the hotel was fully booked, the pool was never full of people. It seemed like couples mostly took turns during the day. My husband and I were always alone in the pool for around an hour. Taking a dip while enjoying that gorgeous view was incredibly relaxing.

Thanks to Nostos for a wonderful stay! We will be back next summer for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eviemichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our stay was very pleasant. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The pool is nice but improvements can be made to the sitting area (no umbrellas around the pool, furniture are a little bit simple). The reception is lovely and the hotel is well located.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.3 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Apartments

Property: Nostos Apartments
Address: Oia village, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#16 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nostos Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small settlement located in OIA on the Santorini Island,consist of 8 units for 2 till 5 persons, reception, bar and pool facilities. Settlement is situated on the edge of the Volcano crater, overlooking the see and islets around. Each unit is fully equipped and can work as an independent bungalow (fully equipped kitchen, terrace etc.) Cave-like looking apartments, just 3-5 minutes walking distance from the center of the village and shopping center, but on the really calm area... relaxing and romantic atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nostos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Apartments Oia
Nostos Apartments Hotel Oia
Nostos Apartments Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing