We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Good Price, Questionable Management”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nostos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nostos Apartments
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
washingon dc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Price, Questionable Management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Reservations were easy enough to make on line. Location was excellent. It's on the southern edge of Oia, but the town is so small you can walk anywhere you want. Everyone says things about the stairs, but that's just a part of staying on the edge of a volcano. It's definitly worth walking down. Views from the rooms are amazing. Rooms are traditional cave houses. There were some ants in the room, but no biggie for us. The conveniance store at the top of the stairs is great - you can buy wine, champaigne, cheeses to eat on the balcony. It's amazing to just sit there and look out at the water. You can't imagine it until you get there. This place doesn't have a sunset view, but we found the sunsets overrated. The caldera view is way better. We stayed in Firostafini as well on this trip, and we agree with everyone else that said to stay in Oia. Firostafini was great in its own way (and you can get to Oia on a quick bus trip), but there's something about being right there. Great town, full of picture opportunities.

The reason I said management is questionable is because everything that went a little wrong (a chair on our deck was ripped) the manager seemed flustered over. The chair came back fixed, but it just seemed like he was overwhelmed. This shouldn't take away from picking this place because we thought it was amazing. The pool is small, but no one was in it when we stayed, so it was great to jump in after a hot day of walking around town.

We were there on our honeymoon, and had an amazing time here. Highly recommended. Not a place where you will be pampered, but probably tsome of the best views on Oia, and the price is comparitavely affordable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfc107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    47
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
255
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woodland hills, ca.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

We have so many wonderful memories of Santorini, it was hard to leave. We loved our cave, cozy & romantic.........even smelled good. To wake up every morning with those incrediable views, to have coffee on our terrace, & then to have breakfast in the lovely breakfast room, again with incrediable views. We were always greeted with a smile by the woman (sorry I forgot her name)that set up our breakfast of croissants, juice, yogurt, cereal, & a few other things, was a nice way to start our day! Also, they have pool which have more amazing views.
Andreas was great setting up our departure, had a cab & bellman at 5:30am,(poor guy he carried both bags at once, & we had way too much!) which we didn't expect. He also made several restaurant recommendations, & the best catamaran sunset dinner cruise. Our last night we did this, what a great way to end our trip, beautiful boat, there were only 13 people, went swimming, they set up a delicious dinner for us, & then we watched a another beautiful sunset.......perfect evening.
After spending 6 nights at Nostos, & seeing other places, we would definetly stay here again........again, hopefully one day soon.
Suggestion: the walk from Oia to Fira.......worth the 3hrs. (can be done shorter)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaWoodlandHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Arrived long before check-in time expecting to wait around. Andreas, the manager, arranged for me to take another room, 102, instead. This turned out to be great. Room 102 shares a terrace over looking the caldera with one other room. There is a partition in between allowing for privacy. The view was absolutely breathtaking. Even during a downpour, I sat outside under the umbrella and just enjoyed the view.

The apartment was very open, airy, and clean. The bed was firm and comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped should you want to buy food (mini-mart at the top entrance). The pool is STUNNING, overlooking the caldera. Breakfast consisted of a variety of meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, croissants, juice, coffee, and the most delicious pastries I've ever tasted. They had chocolate chips baked into them. The view from the Breakfast room is amazing. Andreas was very helpful in pointing out what to do and where to go for dinner. It's right in the center of town and you can walk the entire town in about 30-45 minutes. I would highly recommend Nostos. If you are a solo or couple, room 102 is PERFECT!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyyblue83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Nostos was much more then we expected. The view was breath taking, the room was beautiful romantic and clean, the breakfast was great and the staff was really nice and helpful. We had room 104 with stairs up to the bed and we could see the amazing view from bed!! The location was also very good, away from the noise but still close to everything. We had very romantic dinners on the patio with wine and candles.
I would go back in a second!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laletina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

This hotel is a must if you are visiting Oia. My husband have been to many vacation destinations and stayed in numerous hotels and we agree hands down this is the best so far. It is a truly unique experience. Lovely, private balcony with amazing views.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westloopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

We couldn't believe Nostos, when we arrived. Room 106 has the best views and decor of any of the rooms we looked at in Oia. It offers a huge veranda, were we would sit each evening and look out at the unbelievable view. Nostos offers, romanace, privacy, great accomodation, service and staff. It offers everything you could need during your stay and I wouldn;t hesitate in recommending this place to anyone considering visitin Oia.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agocDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Absolutely recommend Nostos. It is in the best location, very quiet and will awesome veiws. Staff is very helpful and the rooms are very clean and tidy. Breakfast is lovely looking out over the sea. We checked out all of Oia and this area is by far the best for an enjoyable stay - no noise, yet very close to all amenities. Like all apartments on the cliff face there is a small walk up and down steps...but 100% worth the effort. Staff will carry your bags on arrival/departure, so no real issue. Thanks to Andreas and the team at Nostos!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RacingMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.2 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Apartments

Property: Nostos Apartments
Address: Oia village, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#16 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nostos Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small settlement located in OIA on the Santorini Island,consist of 8 units for 2 till 5 persons, reception, bar and pool facilities. Settlement is situated on the edge of the Volcano crater, overlooking the see and islets around. Each unit is fully equipped and can work as an independent bungalow (fully equipped kitchen, terrace etc.) Cave-like looking apartments, just 3-5 minutes walking distance from the center of the village and shopping center, but on the really calm area... relaxing and romantic atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nostos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Apartments Oia
Nostos Apartments Hotel Oia
Nostos Apartments Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing