We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostos; No Myth!As Good As It Gets!”
Review of Nostos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nostos Apartments
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Having conducted many months of research about the best place in Oia to stay, the Nostos Apartments topped our wish-list. However, we doubted that so late in the season there would be availability at the apartments, but luckily we managed to secure a room about 2 months before departure. We reserved a 3 person room, but on arrival were delighted to find we had been upgraded to the junior suite (room 109) which consisted of two double bedrooms as well as the usual Nostos amenities of kitchenette, living room area, bathroom and private terrace (more about that later!).

We arrived in Oia in the evening, and by the time we took the 20 minute taxi ride from the airport (arranged by Nostos at our request) to the apartments, it was dark. This did not dampen our first impressions. Oia at night is almost as beautiful as it is by day, the whitewashed buildings lit up by lights and candles, which many of the hotels and apartments leave burning on the terraces at night (Nostos included). We were met from our taxi by a young man from the apartments who expertly carried our very heavy luggage down the 100 or so stone steps to our apartment (and I might add, carried it back up the steps again on departure! Excellent service! We would have probably still been there now had we had to carry it ourselves!). When we reached the room we were blown away with what greeted us. Lit up in the darkness the apartment was cosy and inviting, immaculately clean and much more spacious than we had hoped for. We were met here by Andreas, the Nostos manager, who explained a few things about the room, the services available and the famous Santorini cats (you may try to resist them, but if they take a liking to you, your food and your balcony there is no escape!!).

Since it was late, we decide to grab a bottle of wine and some food from the local shop (situated at the top of the stairway to the apartments) and make the most of the warm evening and the private terrace. We knew that the sea was to the front of us, but in the dark it was impossible to see where it began or where it stretched to, we could simply hear it lapping at the shore far below us. Aside from the distant sound of the sea, and a faint buzz of the town's bars and restaurant above us, the night was almost silent. Tracing the line of lights around the caldera coastline, we could tell the area of sea in front of us must be vast, but being unable to see quite how vast in the darkness we went off to bed with great anticipation to see how Oia would look by day.

We were not disappointed! We opened the shutters and literally gasped at the scene in front of us – brilliant blue sea for as far as we could see, the island of Thirissia to the right, the whitewashed buildings of Fira to the left, the port of Armeni below us and sky hazy with sunshine. Words cannot describe how beautiful the caldera view is. We had seen perhaps hundreds of photographs before arriving in Santorini, but no photo can do the view justice – it is simply breath-taking.

And the Nostos apartments are perfectly placed to take it all in. Our balcony was completely private, equipped with chairs, table, sun-loungers and shade, we were not overlooked at all and we took every opportunity to use this space. We found ourselves lounging in the sunshine for hours just watching the yachts and sea-liners pass by; the view was mesmorizing. Each afternoon, the near silence would be broken only briefly by the tinkling of bells as the donkey-taxis trotted up the 290 or so steps from the port carrying newly arrived tourists and luggage. And then all would be still again!

When the heat became too much, we would cool off in the pool – located at the bottom of the apartment site, and nearly always empty (despite the apartments being at full occupancy), this was another oasis from which to enjoy the view. The pool is on the small size, but adequate for the size of the complex which has only about 8 apartments. The pool was always clean, but unfortunately not heated, which meant despite the 30 degree or so heat, the water was often pretty chilly at first!

Each morning we would take breakfast in the lovely breakfasting room. Located just above the swimming pool, the room is light and airy and each table is placed so as to take advantage of the view through the spectacular picture window. The range of food available was exactly the same each day, but the variety was adequate – breads and pastries, fruit, greek yoghurt, cold meats and cheese, hard-boiled eggs and museli. If you prefer, you can request a tray and take breakfast to your balcony.

In terms of service, the Nostos apartments are impressive. Our apartment was very well equipped (we were especially pleased with the kitchenette, in which there was a range of utensils, pots and pans, cutlery and crockery – this allowed us to make our own lunch most days – a Godsend in such an otherwise expensive location). The beds were comfy enough (although a little on the hard side) and each main room was fitted with an air-conditioning unit, which we found essential at night. The furnishings are simple, but this is exactly as it should be in a location such as Oia – it simply adds to the charm. The room was dutifully cleaned and tidied every morning and re-stocked with essentials. Each morning, before we woke, the sun parasol on our terrace would be raised, and each evening it would be taken down again, and the afore mentioned candles would be lit. The attention to detail in the Nostos apartments is exemplary and the staff work extremely hard to ensure the high standards are kept.

As for our stay in Oia, we enjoyed it wholeheartedly – it is as beautiful as all the guidebooks and reviews suggest. The main street can be a mecca for day-trippers and tours and therefore busy and also very expensive, but by choosing where to eat, drink and shop carefully, this can all be avoided. We would recommend the excellent 218 restaurant, which although a little pricey was comparable in cost to many far inferior establishments and offers one of the best views of the caldera. The food there was inventive, plentiful and of very good quality. Also recommended is a trip to Kathoros beach – rocky, but pretty secluded and only a 15-20 min walk from Oia centre. Best avoided are the boat trips to the volcano – overpriced, over-rated and tourist-trap hell! We would consider hiring our own boat on any future trip to explore the islands at our own pace.

My husband and I both work hard and often very long hours and this trip was vitally important to us after a really tough year. Our hopes and expectations were therefore high and a lot was resting on the Nostos Apartments being able to provide us with a little piece of paradise in which to escape for a week. In the end, our holiday in Oia was without doubt one of the best we’ve had and not least so because the Nostos Apartments provided such a tranquil and relaxing environment in which to enjoy this beautiful location. We’d like to thank Andreas and his team for making our stay so enjoyable and look forward to staying at Nostos again (hopefully!) in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemimahFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

Reservations were easy enough to make on line. Location was excellent. It's on the southern edge of Oia, but the town is so small you can walk anywhere you want. Everyone says things about the stairs, but that's just a part of staying on the edge of a volcano. It's definitly worth walking down. Views from the rooms are amazing. Rooms are traditional cave houses. There were some ants in the room, but no biggie for us. The conveniance store at the top of the stairs is great - you can buy wine, champaigne, cheeses to eat on the balcony. It's amazing to just sit there and look out at the water. You can't imagine it until you get there. This place doesn't have a sunset view, but we found the sunsets overrated. The caldera view is way better. We stayed in Firostafini as well on this trip, and we agree with everyone else that said to stay in Oia. Firostafini was great in its own way (and you can get to Oia on a quick bus trip), but there's something about being right there. Great town, full of picture opportunities.

The reason I said management is questionable is because everything that went a little wrong (a chair on our deck was ripped) the manager seemed flustered over. The chair came back fixed, but it just seemed like he was overwhelmed. This shouldn't take away from picking this place because we thought it was amazing. The pool is small, but no one was in it when we stayed, so it was great to jump in after a hot day of walking around town.

We were there on our honeymoon, and had an amazing time here. Highly recommended. Not a place where you will be pampered, but probably tsome of the best views on Oia, and the price is comparitavely affordable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfc107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We have so many wonderful memories of Santorini, it was hard to leave. We loved our cave, cozy & romantic.........even smelled good. To wake up every morning with those incrediable views, to have coffee on our terrace, & then to have breakfast in the lovely breakfast room, again with incrediable views. We were always greeted with a smile by the woman (sorry I forgot her name)that set up our breakfast of croissants, juice, yogurt, cereal, & a few other things, was a nice way to start our day! Also, they have pool which have more amazing views.
Andreas was great setting up our departure, had a cab & bellman at 5:30am,(poor guy he carried both bags at once, & we had way too much!) which we didn't expect. He also made several restaurant recommendations, & the best catamaran sunset dinner cruise. Our last night we did this, what a great way to end our trip, beautiful boat, there were only 13 people, went swimming, they set up a delicious dinner for us, & then we watched a another beautiful sunset.......perfect evening.
After spending 6 nights at Nostos, & seeing other places, we would definetly stay here again........again, hopefully one day soon.
Suggestion: the walk from Oia to Fira.......worth the 3hrs. (can be done shorter)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaWoodlandHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Arrived long before check-in time expecting to wait around. Andreas, the manager, arranged for me to take another room, 102, instead. This turned out to be great. Room 102 shares a terrace over looking the caldera with one other room. There is a partition in between allowing for privacy. The view was absolutely breathtaking. Even during a downpour, I sat outside under the umbrella and just enjoyed the view.

The apartment was very open, airy, and clean. The bed was firm and comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped should you want to buy food (mini-mart at the top entrance). The pool is STUNNING, overlooking the caldera. Breakfast consisted of a variety of meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, croissants, juice, coffee, and the most delicious pastries I've ever tasted. They had chocolate chips baked into them. The view from the Breakfast room is amazing. Andreas was very helpful in pointing out what to do and where to go for dinner. It's right in the center of town and you can walk the entire town in about 30-45 minutes. I would highly recommend Nostos. If you are a solo or couple, room 102 is PERFECT!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyyblue83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Nostos was much more then we expected. The view was breath taking, the room was beautiful romantic and clean, the breakfast was great and the staff was really nice and helpful. We had room 104 with stairs up to the bed and we could see the amazing view from bed!! The location was also very good, away from the noise but still close to everything. We had very romantic dinners on the patio with wine and candles.
I would go back in a second!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laletina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

This hotel is a must if you are visiting Oia. My husband have been to many vacation destinations and stayed in numerous hotels and we agree hands down this is the best so far. It is a truly unique experience. Lovely, private balcony with amazing views.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westloopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We couldn't believe Nostos, when we arrived. Room 106 has the best views and decor of any of the rooms we looked at in Oia. It offers a huge veranda, were we would sit each evening and look out at the unbelievable view. Nostos offers, romanace, privacy, great accomodation, service and staff. It offers everything you could need during your stay and I wouldn;t hesitate in recommending this place to anyone considering visitin Oia.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agocDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#27 of 58 in Oia
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.4 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.2 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Apartments

Address: Oia village, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £306 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nostos Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small settlement located in OIA on the Santorini Island,consist of 8 units for 2 till 5 persons, reception, bar and pool facilities. Settlement is situated on the edge of the Volcano crater, overlooking the see and islets around. Each unit is fully equipped and can work as an independent bungalow (fully equipped kitchen, terrace etc.) Cave-like looking apartments, just 3-5 minutes walking distance from the center of the village and shopping center, but on the really calm area... relaxing and romantic atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Nostos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Apartments Oia
Nostos Apartments Hotel Oia
Nostos Apartments Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing