We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Oia Castle!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2008

We had a wonderful stay for a week at Oia Castle this past May! We stayed in the Volcano suite and were very happy with it. The owner,Dimitris, has done a fantastic job with the property.We had a bottle of champagne awaiting us on arrival. Each day, we would call for our included breakfast which was then delivered within minutes to our balcony.There was always an assortment of pastries and then either fresh fruit or yogurt or a tray with rolls of ham and cheese.Each night there was a turn down service when a few fresh flowers and some chocolates were left on our bed! All of Dimitris' employees were friendly and capable (thank you Margot,Marcos,Miranda and Adam!). The location can't be beat as we watched the sunset each night from our balcony. I would love to go back to Santorini and would definitely stay here again. Thank you, Dimitris, for our truly memorable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eifan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2008

If you're like us and book vacations on your own, you're probably overwhelmed by the number of hotels in Oia, each promising the best view and location. But without a doubt, Aspaki's view and location is unbeatable - it's right in the heart of Oia, out in front on a private cliff outcropping that you can actually venture out on so that you're afforded panoramic views nobody else has in the village. No other hotel had this kind of access to the cliffs, period.

When we arrived the night of our 10th anniversary and looked out of our Atmospherico balcony for this first time, we felt like we had entered a postcard. In fact, Aspaki IS the postcard, featured on many of them as well as paintings of Oia village.

In front of you is the panoramic caldera, and to your right out the side balcony is the calendar view Santorini is famous for, the blue domes a stones throw away. You'll feel like a VIP every time you walk to Aspaki where there's a group of people either photographing or painting it.

The interior is so well done, with authentic art, furniture and decor - a nice stereo and CD player set the mood. Atmospherico has two bathrooms, the one furthest from the master with the Jacuzzi tub affording the most space and view. The other is basically a closet off the master which is good for brushing your teeth and night time pit stops. The master in Atmospherico has balconies off each side (the smaller which has the most attractive view of the village) with a window above your head that points into the Aegean sea. It's storybook.

Service was good - the mobile phone left for us is a real nice touch, although it wasn't answered one morning during the times listed, so we walked to reception to get service (8 minute scenic walk). But the rest of the time everyone was on the spot. Nicola, our "concierge" if you will, was fast and responsive - taking care of the details.

Grab this one and end the search.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank isaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We cannot say enough wonderful things about Aspaki and the people who run it! Big shouts out to Nikolas, Margot, and Rocky for making our stay so amazing! We could not have asked for a better place to honeymoon in the world! Our room, Deep Blue, was lovely and well-maintained. The views are breathtaking, and the fact that we had the large patio area pretty much to ourselves was awesome! The location in Oia is absolutely perfect too -- close to everything!! We definitely plan to make a return visit and cannot recommend Aspaki highly enough to anyone considering it!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DTsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

For those who have traveled a lot, you know that every once and a while there is a place that is so surreal and unique that it will stick in your memory for the rest of your life. Aspaki is one of those places. It is arguably has the most beautiful location in one of the most beautiful towns in Europe. We spent part of our honeymoon trip to Greece in Apsaki (the Romeo and Juliet room) and our only regret is that we did not spend our entire honeymoon there.

Yes, Santorini and Oia particularly are bombarded by the fanny-pack cruise boat crowds during the day, but this hotel is conveniently located down some side streets at the end of a gated walkway, so it is a pleasant escape. At the same time, its a 30 second walk into the heart of the town. Not only that, but it has what must be the best view of the caldera. We spent much of our time on our private balcony sipping wine and enjoying the view.

The hotel staff were among the most helpful and attentive I've experienced anywhere. They gave us a cell phone that we could reach them with anytime, anywhere. They had a wonderful music collection for each room (as if each room has its own soundtrack). They were even kind enough to let us copy the CD to take home with us.

It's not cheap, but I do not consider it to be overpriced either. It's worth every penny. If there was ever a reason to splurge, this is a fine reason to. I only hope that Aspaki is still there in 25 years so that we can return for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

My wife and I stayed at Oia Castle for 3 nights in May 2007. Santorini was the first stop for our honeymoon, so we were hoping for nice views and a relaxing atmosphere.
I had arranged for a transfer from the airport (surprisingly small, since I'm used to Hartsfield in Atlanta) and it was a breeze. The first ride up the twisty road to Oia was a little nerve-wracking but gave us a chance to peek at Fira and see the views on the east side of the island. We were met at the bus by an employee of the hotel who was nice enough to carry my wife's bag and refused a tip when we got to our room.
The room itself was very nice, with a little kitchen, and cozy bathroom (don't expect a hot bath on Santorini though, we ran out of hot water before the tub was 1/2 full. I'm sure it's because of tight water control there). We stayed in the Volcano suite which had its own little porch with a table and chairs which we used every evening to watch the sun set. The views were spectacular. The only complaint we have is, there's a little restaurant just up the hill and apparently the family that owns it lives below. Well, every night as everyone is gathering to watch the sun set, a little boy comes out on there porch and starts banging on the grill, yelling at tourists, and generally acting obnoxious. If not for him, the sunsets would have been perfect.
The only other complaint we had was the bugs. For some reason our room wasn't getting the ventilation we expected and the first night there, we hardly slept at all. Some tiny little gnats kept flying around our heads, keeping us awake (not the best way to start a honeymoon).
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone else. The staff was very friendly and available whenever we needed them. The location is excellent if you want to stay in the quieter part of the island, and you can't beat the view. Sunsets, blue sea, and a fishing village below.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtclark1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

We stayed in the Aqua-Marine suite during summer of 2007. These rooms were incredible! Great decor and layout. The privacy was wonderful - albeit because we had both suites booked. I imagine that wouldn't be the case otherwise.

Every evening before sunset, the crowds line up in that area of Oia, and YOU are floating around in the jacuzzi! We felt like super stars. The view cannot be beat.
The pool in the room was a blast. The jacuzzi outside was nice, but barely lukewarm in temperature.

The suites that we had were definitely 5 star - unfortunately we felt that the service did not quite live up to that. For example, three days in a row we asked the cleaning staff to please wait until later to service our rooms - but as we were trying to relax and enjoy our coffee, the young man was right there with us, cleaning. We tried to communicate with him in both Greek and English, but he did not understand.
As I was lying in a chair one afternoon on our veranda, another staff member asked me to get up so he could see if the cushion needed to be laundered. Strange.

Andrea in the office, however, was quite helpful, kind, and hospitable.

There is a difference between service and hospitality. At Oia Castle you will get good service, but we did not find the hospitality that you'd expect from an expensive 5 star hotel.

All in all, Oia is breathtaking.

On a matter unrelated to the hotel - watch out for 'cruise ship dumps' - when the cruise ships dump thousands of uncurious tourists who crowd the streets trying to find some fridge magnets and Budweiser before they have to be back on the ship for the 4 o'clock buffet...

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8vex8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

We stayed in the "Endless Blue" apartment which is spacious and self contained with a loft bedroom, large outdoor balcony and spa overlooking the caldera. The view is fantastic. We think the view is much better here than the newer sunset apartments. A must is a private boat tour around the caldera and a donkey ride up the steep hill.
We did have problems getting to Santorini from Crete as ferries and fast cats were cancelled due to rough seas. We advised Aspaki of our new arrival time of 10pm at the airport and altho we were told we would be met we arrived to a dark and deserted apartment at 10.45pm. Reception was closed and it was only with the help of locals from one of the bars in chasing up the person responsible for cleaning the apartments at his home that we eventually got into our room two hours later. Aspaki's idea of following up on this was for the next 2 days to make continual pestering phone calls at all hours, on a mobile left for guests, to contact reception. A better way of dealing with this would have been to drop by the next day with a bottle of wine as we did for the locals who offered us a couch for the night and eventually got us into the room.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank explore_&_indulge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kirini Santorini
Kirini Santorini
#9 of 58 in Oia
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
0.5 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#15 of 58 in Oia
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Oia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £377 - £880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Maisons Exclusive Boutique Hotels is composed of 2 Luxury Hotels: Aspaki and Oia Castle Luxury Suites. Due to its unique location on the cape of the Caldera right in the heart of Oia Santorini, Aspaki Exclusive Hotel offers best panoramic views of the Caldera, Aegean sea,entire village with blue domes and Volcano while ensuring ultimate privacy and tranquility for our guests. A common pool and bar/restaurant is available. Oia Castle Luxury Suites is located under the Castle of Oia which is the best spot to watch the famous sunset view in Santorini.The Suites and Villas were combined with every modern-day luxury and private pools or Jacuzzis offering direct sunset views and Caldera, windmills and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels: Aspaki And Oia Castle
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels: Aspaki & Oia Castle Hotel Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing