We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

We just got back from our honeymoon to Greece. We had a very pleasant stay at a nice hotel in Mykonos, went on a short cruise around Greece which was a very typical cruise experience (early mornings, densely-packed days, and an all-out gorge-fest), and ended the trip in Santorini. While the trip was overall very relaxing and a great experience, our stay at the Oia Castle was absolute heaven.

Note that the Oia Castle is one of two hotels that form the Art Maisons group with the other being Aspaki which is just down the street. This review pertains to Oia Castle only as we did not see the Aspaki during the trip.

With the U.S. dollar as weak as it is, the Oia Castle was fairly expensive for us at over $600 USD per night. However, being our honeymoon, we splurged, but only after doing our homework. We compared all of the other top hotels in Oia and found that Oia is damn expensive! Nice hotels in Greece are expensive in general and Oia has a reputation for being expensive for Greece which we definitely found to be true. With that said, the Oia Castle is actually decently priced, relative to their competition.

Getting to the Oia Castle took a bit of a walk because cars are not allowed near the northern end of Oia which overlooks the Caldera. This is the case for all of the hotels with views so it's something that applies to all of the other hotels as well. Upon arrival, someone from the hotel was specifically waiting for us to take our bags down the long walk. (By the way, take them up on their offer to arrange for pickup, we thought it'd be cheaper to take a taxi on our own but it wasn't. Luckily, the taxi driver had to call for directions which is how the hotel knew we were coming.)

When we got to our room (the Marine suite) and saw the view, we cancelled everything we had planned during the Santorini portion of the trip. The room, the hotel, and the view were THAT breathtaking. I've been all over the world and have seen many beatiful locations but our suite was just that much over the top. The room was very nicely decorated and very comfortable, so much so that it, in itself, made me not want to leave Oia for the excursions that we had planned. However, when we were shown the private terrace and jacuzzi overlooking the Caldera, we knew that we had found heaven on earth and it was ours for three whole days! The view was absolutely overwhelming and to be able to see it from the comfort of a jacuzzi was the unique experience that my wife and I were looking for.

It took us a full day to get over the suite and the view and for us to actually want to do something other than lounge around and do nothing but enjoy the suite and the view. When we did, we found that the service was incredible to match. Marjo not only answered every question she could, she wrote down everything she couldn't answer on her own (car rental quotes, ferry times and prices, winery hours) and came by with everything listed out fifteen minutes later. We picked what we wanted to do and that was it, she arranged everything else for us. Now THAT'S what I call service! Best of all, she did it with so much enthusiasm that I wanted to open my own hotel in Oia and hire her away. She wasn't working the day we checked out so my wife and I were disappointed that we couldn't say bye to her. We're not the super-friendly-meet-everyone types but Marjo made that much of an impression on us.

All in all, Oia Castle was one incredible experience and definitely worth every penny. We've been on many, many vacations and this is the one place that we were so impressed by that we want to return VERY SOON rather than "sometime in the future" after we've seen more of the world. When we come back, the trip is going to be timed around when our honeymoon suite at the Oia Castle is available.

  • Liked — View, service, and they do not nickle and dime you! Everything was included - water in the fridge, internet, and the awesome view!
  • Disliked — The price but after making the trip, I have to say that it was worth it!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyng13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    46
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
63
465
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

The flight from Athens is within an hour.
After setting foot on the Cyclades soil, we found our pickup in no time. Quite a small airport actually.
The bus took us to a parking lot which is as far as the road permits, and from there it's a 5 minutes walk along the cliff to reach the property.
It is situated at the far end of the island where there is nothing to block the sunset, and is not accessible by cars, therefore the walk deemed necessary.
Glad that Adam helped us with our bags, we appreciated him very much. Imagine carrying a ton of stuff in the narrow streets packed with people and frequent stairs.
We took the marine, which is at the second level down from the top.
We settled in at no time. The hotel was spacious and just as the website pictures depicted, no nonsense. the view from the balcony, from the room, and even the bathroom were amazing. The 3D picture hanging from the room was by one of the local artists who gained fame painting/ constructing them. It was indeed very nice, yet I'd say a painting of a wooden boat is not fitting in the romantic atmosphere...
The pool was another level down, we hopped in immediately since it's very hot. The pool water provided immediate relieve; the chlorine smell is understandable. The view from the pool is also astonishing. At least I didn't drop the camera into the pool trying to photograph us both using the timer...
Breakfast is included and is adequate.
I'm happy that internet service is provided and we stayed in touch with people. In fact, I have uploaded a few photos to my online album, which drew envy from friends around the world.
It's next to the Kastro restaurant, which offers direct view of the sunset also.

  • Liked — location, view, staff, pool
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank subtarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

We had a wonderful stay for a week at Oia Castle this past May! We stayed in the Volcano suite and were very happy with it. The owner,Dimitris, has done a fantastic job with the property.We had a bottle of champagne awaiting us on arrival. Each day, we would call for our included breakfast which was then delivered within minutes to our balcony.There was always an assortment of pastries and then either fresh fruit or yogurt or a tray with rolls of ham and cheese.Each night there was a turn down service when a few fresh flowers and some chocolates were left on our bed! All of Dimitris' employees were friendly and capable (thank you Margot,Marcos,Miranda and Adam!). The location can't be beat as we watched the sunset each night from our balcony. I would love to go back to Santorini and would definitely stay here again. Thank you, Dimitris, for our truly memorable stay!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eifan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

If you're like us and book vacations on your own, you're probably overwhelmed by the number of hotels in Oia, each promising the best view and location. But without a doubt, Aspaki's view and location is unbeatable - it's right in the heart of Oia, out in front on a private cliff outcropping that you can actually venture out on so that you're afforded panoramic views nobody else has in the village. No other hotel had this kind of access to the cliffs, period.

When we arrived the night of our 10th anniversary and looked out of our Atmospherico balcony for this first time, we felt like we had entered a postcard. In fact, Aspaki IS the postcard, featured on many of them as well as paintings of Oia village.

In front of you is the panoramic caldera, and to your right out the side balcony is the calendar view Santorini is famous for, the blue domes a stones throw away. You'll feel like a VIP every time you walk to Aspaki where there's a group of people either photographing or painting it.

The interior is so well done, with authentic art, furniture and decor - a nice stereo and CD player set the mood. Atmospherico has two bathrooms, the one furthest from the master with the Jacuzzi tub affording the most space and view. The other is basically a closet off the master which is good for brushing your teeth and night time pit stops. The master in Atmospherico has balconies off each side (the smaller which has the most attractive view of the village) with a window above your head that points into the Aegean sea. It's storybook.

Service was good - the mobile phone left for us is a real nice touch, although it wasn't answered one morning during the times listed, so we walked to reception to get service (8 minute scenic walk). But the rest of the time everyone was on the spot. Nicola, our "concierge" if you will, was fast and responsive - taking care of the details.

Grab this one and end the search.

  • Liked — Location, location, location.
  • Disliked — Location of reception.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank isaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2008

We cannot say enough wonderful things about Aspaki and the people who run it! Big shouts out to Nikolas, Margot, and Rocky for making our stay so amazing! We could not have asked for a better place to honeymoon in the world! Our room, Deep Blue, was lovely and well-maintained. The views are breathtaking, and the fact that we had the large patio area pretty much to ourselves was awesome! The location in Oia is absolutely perfect too -- close to everything!! We definitely plan to make a return visit and cannot recommend Aspaki highly enough to anyone considering it!

  • Liked — Location & Service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

For those who have traveled a lot, you know that every once and a while there is a place that is so surreal and unique that it will stick in your memory for the rest of your life. Aspaki is one of those places. It is arguably has the most beautiful location in one of the most beautiful towns in Europe. We spent part of our honeymoon trip to Greece in Apsaki (the Romeo and Juliet room) and our only regret is that we did not spend our entire honeymoon there.

Yes, Santorini and Oia particularly are bombarded by the fanny-pack cruise boat crowds during the day, but this hotel is conveniently located down some side streets at the end of a gated walkway, so it is a pleasant escape. At the same time, its a 30 second walk into the heart of the town. Not only that, but it has what must be the best view of the caldera. We spent much of our time on our private balcony sipping wine and enjoying the view.

The hotel staff were among the most helpful and attentive I've experienced anywhere. They gave us a cell phone that we could reach them with anytime, anywhere. They had a wonderful music collection for each room (as if each room has its own soundtrack). They were even kind enough to let us copy the CD to take home with us.

It's not cheap, but I do not consider it to be overpriced either. It's worth every penny. If there was ever a reason to splurge, this is a fine reason to. I only hope that Aspaki is still there in 25 years so that we can return for our anniversary.

  • Liked — Incredible views, privacy, en suite kitchen and refrigerator, unbelievably attentive staff and management.
  • Disliked — Front desk is a 7-10 minute walk from the actual rooms (but if you just call them they come to you)
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

My wife and I stayed at Oia Castle for 3 nights in May 2007. Santorini was the first stop for our honeymoon, so we were hoping for nice views and a relaxing atmosphere.
I had arranged for a transfer from the airport (surprisingly small, since I'm used to Hartsfield in Atlanta) and it was a breeze. The first ride up the twisty road to Oia was a little nerve-wracking but gave us a chance to peek at Fira and see the views on the east side of the island. We were met at the bus by an employee of the hotel who was nice enough to carry my wife's bag and refused a tip when we got to our room.
The room itself was very nice, with a little kitchen, and cozy bathroom (don't expect a hot bath on Santorini though, we ran out of hot water before the tub was 1/2 full. I'm sure it's because of tight water control there). We stayed in the Volcano suite which had its own little porch with a table and chairs which we used every evening to watch the sun set. The views were spectacular. The only complaint we have is, there's a little restaurant just up the hill and apparently the family that owns it lives below. Well, every night as everyone is gathering to watch the sun set, a little boy comes out on there porch and starts banging on the grill, yelling at tourists, and generally acting obnoxious. If not for him, the sunsets would have been perfect.
The only other complaint we had was the bugs. For some reason our room wasn't getting the ventilation we expected and the first night there, we hardly slept at all. Some tiny little gnats kept flying around our heads, keeping us awake (not the best way to start a honeymoon).
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone else. The staff was very friendly and available whenever we needed them. The location is excellent if you want to stay in the quieter part of the island, and you can't beat the view. Sunsets, blue sea, and a fishing village below.

  • Liked — The Sunset view, quiet at night
  • Disliked — Problem with gnats, noisy child up the hill
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtclark1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.3 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle

Property: Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Oia
#6 Spa Hotel in Oia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Maisons Exclusive Boutique Hotels is composed of 2 Luxury Hotels: Aspaki and Oia Castle Luxury Suites. Due to its unique location on the cape of the Caldera right in the heart of Oia Santorini, Aspaki Exclusive Hotel offers best panoramic views of the Caldera, Aegean sea,entire village with blue domes and Volcano while ensuring ultimate privacy and tranquility for our guests. A common pool and bar/restaurant is available. Oia Castle Luxury Suites is located under the Castle of Oia which is the best spot to watch the famous sunset view in Santorini.The Suites and Villas were combined with every modern-day luxury and private pools or Jacuzzis offering direct sunset views and Caldera, windmills and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels: Aspaki & Oia Castle Hotel Oia
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels: Aspaki And Oia Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing