We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Below Expectations”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

After long hesitation and contacting experts, I decided to book at Art Maisons as a second place to stay at in our Santorini-Oia honeymoon. I was planning to surprise my wife and booked Endless Blue for its superior location and views and private terrace and jaccuzi. I was parted between Endless Blue and another house that belongs to another hotel, but I was so encouraged to book the Endless Blue based on an inner feeling and many recommendations. Booking was smooth and perfect as I was offered 5% off the rest of the balance I had to pay (70% as 30% are deposited prior to staying there) and I was also offered a rental car for free for 7 days of our stay! That sounded perfect.

One day before our check-in I received a call from the owner to tell me that they got a sewage system problem at Aspaki and that they could not work on it till the end of the season so that they don't disturb nearby residencies! I was also told that we would be moved -as the rest of Aspaki guests- to Oia Castle and that we'll stay at Eros! Although Eros is 130 euros/night higher than Endless Blue, I was disappointed due to the fact that I was booking at Aspaki just because I wanted Endless Blue in specific!

The hotel promised to help move us from our first hotel (Andronis) which they did in an excellent way by bringing our rental car close to Andronis. Yannis is their superman, my wife and I really really appreciate how this polite man is doing such a tough job by carrying big amount of luggage through all the steps leading to our suite, and he does it with a smile.

We were, then, intoduced to our suite. Lighting was better than how it seems in the website, but lights buttons were so many and all next to each other just next to the door and it was hard to find the right button. TV is placed in an incovinient position so it is impossible to watch it when in bed, but we didn't really need it. The kitchenette was fairly equipped but the coffee maker was broken. The room had two windows overlooking Therassia island and the most northern part of Oia (cannot be compared to the great views we had at our first hotel), and bathroom was 3 separate areas (toilet+shower+sink) the shower had steam system and side washers which was cool. The bed outest cover had some hair from other guests probably and by time we even wondered if sheets are daily changed! The furniture was intended to give a feeling of classic boutique hotel but in my opinion it was out dated and it would really be more suitable if it was either updated or replaced by simpler one.

Staff: They are welcoming and helpful, Yannis in specific is so polite and helpful, and the housekeeper was doing her best. We got a good guidance on what to do and where to go and a private boat trip was arranged by the hotel.

Laundry: It was of an exceptionally low price compared to all the hotels we have been to!

Pool: Dipping in the pool was the first thing we did after we checked-in. We noticed a wiered suspicious smell which made us run out of it and never use it again. It was not enough that we had to give up the wish we had about using the nice outdoors jaccuzi at Endless Blue, and it finally felt like we were not "upgraded" to Eros; we were rather "downgraded".The shower had a lighter similar smell. And we believed it is something with their drain system.

Breakfast: well, we had it only once, and then decided to buy tiropites (Greek cheese pies) from some bakery. I agree with most of the reviewers (even the most positive ones) that breakfast is anything but 5-star, especially the Thermos!

Overall, we were disappointed by the sudden late change from Endless Blue to Eros, by the unpleasant pool smell and by the hair we found on bed at our check-in which together made my wife wish to leave since day 1! We were sorry that at checking out, we were asked for our feedback and it felt like we were obliged to give a positive one but we couldn't afford that.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katsoherakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    47
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
64
475
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Say no more when it comes to the Oia Castle.. Everything is Perfect, the views are breathtaking and watching the sunset from your balcony having a beer what more could one want. The service is very welcoming. I would love to stay here again. Its so worth it!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed at Oia Castle-Honeymoon Suite for 3 nights in October 2010. The property is billed as 5-star but a more accurate description would be 5-star view, 5-star service, 3-star accommodations.

The room was spacious enough, with separate sleeping and sitting areas, and a small stairway leading to an open bathroom area. Be advised, there is no door to the bathroom area (although there is a door to the shower room). The room was clean but it's decor and accommodations do not even come close to what 5-star accommodations should be -- think shabby-chic, Greek-style second-hand furniture. The room was comfortable, but I certainly would not call it luxurious. The shower had permanent grime (and lots of it) between the discolored tiles. Although I'm sure the shower room was as clean as it could get, it sure didn't look clean. The kitchenette area was nice and appeared to be well-equipped even though our coffee machine didn't work (Yannis happily repaired it upon request).

The breakfast, thankfully, was free. Under no circumstances would I have paid money for the breakfast we received. Although plentiful (two egg dishes, fruit, cereal, yogurt, etc.), a five-star property would never have served the food we received: the fruit was bruised and obviously many weeks old, the yogurt was past it's expiration date, the thermos and flatware provided were campsite quality. I know this sounds nit-picky, but if the property is advertised as 5-star, it's owners ought to be aware of the finer details that distinguish a 5-star property.

The service was exceptional from the initial greeting to the final good-bye. Yannis and Cristina provided super A+, superstar service. And did it with a smile our entire stay.

Now, about the view. In a word: spectacular!! The honeymoon suite has a large, private deck. There is a private hot tub, banquette-type seating along the wall and more than enough space for a few lounge chairs. When you begin your day sitting on this private deck, you feel no need to explore the rest of Oia until after the sun sets. Really.

There is no restaurant with the property so all meals other than breakfast are eaten in town. The WiFi was pretty inconsistent but the ethernet connected internet worked just fine. We opted for the hotel-provided transport (shared van service) to/from the airport which I think was worth the extra money.

In sum, even though the veranda and the service are really exceptional, we would probably opt to try another one of the 5-star properties in Oia because the room accommodations of Oia Castle just did not quite measure up.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKimNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon. We had originally booked the Endless Blue suite but when we got there the hotel said the winds were too strong and it wouldn't be a good place to stay. Instead they put us in the Sunset Honeymoon Suite. The hotel staff said it was a very nice upgrade but we didn't quite see how it was so much better than the pictures of the Endless Blue Suite we originally booked. We weren't complaining though as it was still a very nice room. Then at about 5:30 we made our way back to our hotel to watch the sunset with everyone else in Santorini (Oia is the best town on the island for the sunset watching). It was then we realized why this room was such as upgrade; it's pretty much the most perfect spot on the entire island. As we sat in the hot tub watching the sun dip into the Aegean hordes of tourists were crammed on the sidewalks outside our room, in the restaurants dotting the hill, and even the castle ruins that made up the ceiling of our room! Privacy really wasn't too much of an issue though, the people crowding around the outside walls of our room couldn't see us. I should note that the hotel is made from the ruins of an old castle so it's not like a normal structure. Our bathroom, with a great steam bath and wonderful view of the town, was up a little flight of steps. And our deck was across a little walkway from our room entrance. We were there October 20th about and I thought it was a great time to go. The crowds weren't too bad and the weather was really nice, shorts and tee shirts everyday, there were even some people in the ocean. Overall I would highly reccomend Oia over the tourist overrun village of Fira and I would certainly recommend Art Maisons to anyone looking for a unique traditional upscale type of accomodation. The staff was great, overly friendly and helpful in every way. The breakfast in the morning was delicious....try the ruska, trust me. The room rate may seem a little expensive, but the addition of the free (must have to explore the island) rental car makes it a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3WeeksAYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

art maisons is actually two separate properties (same management, same concierge but two buildings in separate locations) - aspaki and oia castle. we stayed in aspaki which does not have the view of the sunset but it does have this ridiculously amazing view of the caldera and the town of oia.

the hotel is great - no matter where you stay b/c it truly is the staff that makes this place magical. from the bellman - who carried my ridiculously large and heavy bag up and down these tiny stairs by himself to to the housekeeper - who cleaned up whatever mess the hubby had just made and to the concierge - where every restaurant recommendation was spot on (wonderful food at very reasonable prices in beautiful restaurants).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Let's start with the pros: great location, very friendly staff, beautiful views.

With that being said, this place shouldn't be billing itself as a 5 star hotel, and shouldn't be charging $700+ per night for rooms. Our room wasn't terribly well-appointed or clean, the included breakfast was fairly sparse, the Internet barely functioned, and in general it didn't have the amenities or ambiance of a luxury hotel. Also, one night we were visited by several rats on our balcony.

For the prices they charge, you're better off going down the road to Perivolas, or Canaves, or Mystique, or any number of other places.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Randolph314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artmaisons, General Manager at Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
Honorable guests and Trip Adviser users,

It came with great disappointment to read such a bad comment posted on Trip Advisor and we felt compelled to offer our feedback.

We can only be surprised if indeed you were our guests that you didn’t tell us personally if something went wrong. Our guests enjoy all of our attention and we always take our time to ask about anything that might make their stay even better than expected. We would have been more than happy to assist you.

To start with the breakfast issue we can only state the obvious, we serve a diverse menu with fresh ingredients and plenty of plates that our guests can choose from at their convenience brought directly to their suite.

We provide free wireless and broadband internet connection to all of our guests. The connection on the island might very few times encounter a few failures due to the supplier but it is not something that happens often or that can not be fixed. Once again we are sorry you didn’t contact us in person for all these small matters that could have been so easily mended.

Until this moment we didn’t have any complaints about the cleaning of the suites, but on the contrary we had only compliments. Our young staff clean the suites twice a day including a turn down service.

The part of your comment that surprised us the most was the rats issue. In 10 years since we’ve been functioning under the same ownership in Santorini we’ve never seen rats or mouse on this island, therefore we find it impossible to believe that you might have spotted them in our hotel.

Once again if you were our guests allow us to apologize for all the things that made your stay with us overall unsatisfactory and we do hope that you will give us a chance to make it up to you sometime in the near future.


Best regards,

Dimitris Nikolouzos,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Art Maisons Oia Castle is an amazing gem. The staff were fantastic, attentive and helpful. The rooms are just phenomenal and full of character and charm. Our outdoor jacuzzi on our private balcony had a unspoilt view of the sunset and was a great spot to chill out and enjoy a bottle of wine inthe sun. We were shown the other rooms and they are amazing - equipped with provate terraces and swimming pools in some cases!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.5 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle

Property: Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Oia
#6 Spa Hotel in Oia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Maisons Exclusive Boutique Hotels is composed of 2 Luxury Hotels: Aspaki and Oia Castle Luxury Suites. Due to its unique location on the cape of the Caldera right in the heart of Oia Santorini, Aspaki Exclusive Hotel offers best panoramic views of the Caldera, Aegean sea,entire village with blue domes and Volcano while ensuring ultimate privacy and tranquility for our guests. A common pool and bar/restaurant is available. Oia Castle Luxury Suites is located under the Castle of Oia which is the best spot to watch the famous sunset view in Santorini.The Suites and Villas were combined with every modern-day luxury and private pools or Jacuzzis offering direct sunset views and Caldera, windmills and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels: Aspaki And Oia Castle
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels: Aspaki & Oia Castle Hotel Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing