We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but there are better hotels in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Everything about Mystique is fine, but I don’t think it would be my choice for a return visit to Santorini. The clientele is largely American (much more so than any other hotel we stayed at in Greece), which isn’t bad in itself, but the fact that it is a Starwood property really works against it in terms of charm – it just feels a little more corporate and a little more “cookie-cutter” than other luxury hotels in Oia. If you do choose to stay here, you should know that the steps from the hotel up to the road are more difficult than at some other hotels in the area – there are 48 very uneven cobblestone steps from the road down to reception (the steps are actually a street, as there are residences along the path between the hotel and the main road). Oh the positive side, the hotel is only about a two or three minute walk down the road to the beginning of the marble sidewalks of Oia proper, so the location works well. The resort sits in an interesting spot along the cliff – it is actually in a crook that maximizes the view of the caldera. At first I was disappointed at the fact that you don’t have the classic view of Oia that you see from several of the other hotels (the white buildings spilling down the cliff), but then I came to appreciate the advantages of the solitary view – the lack of other buildings in your line of sight makes you feel like this is the only hotel in the area. The rooms themselves are fine (great bathrooms, with huge showers and most with hottubs in the bathroom), but they seem to be arranged more for form than function (you can’t watch tv from bed, the big “rocks” that substitute for a coffee table are not stable enough to actually balance a glass on). And if you do stay here, I would advise you to NOT stay in Room 11, since it sits directly behind the pool deck and your view of the caldera from your front porch area is filled almost entirely by sunbed umbrellas. While the hotel is certainly adequate (the beds are comfortable and the rooms are large), I don’t think I would recommend it unless you were able to stay here on Starwood points. Any place that charges this much should be described in more glowing terms that “adequate.” There are much more charming hotels in Oia in the same class and the same price range.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had an Allure Suite in mystique..our flights were delayed and we arrived at midnight from Athens. Antonia greeted us with a great smile, enthusiasm and a promise of an amazing surprise (the views) the following morning which really were breathtaking. The hotel is situated a 10min walk from main strip of oia, and there are quite a few steps to get down/up from the hotel but the exercise was welcomed! We had dinner at the hotel once, and room service another time and of course daily breakfasts. I must say the restaurant was very good with good service and really Lovely views (although not of the sunset which the hotel does not get). The room
Was large, well equipped and the daily fresh fruit were a nice touch. bathroom was huge with a jacquizzi. The infinity pool is a bit small but most pools in oia were smallish. The highlight of the hotel was staff who were very friendly and full of handy hints about what to do, where to eat etc.. Thanks Antonia, Irini and Maria!
Our only complaint was the haphazard nature of the room cleaning and turndown service. Some items never got replaced once used and the placement of white sheet on the floor for turndown service only happened once..I realize these are not huge deals but when u pay around €800 per night you except a 5star service all around.
Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbournite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We just returned from a week in Santorini. This was a surprise trip for my wife's birthday and I'd been planning it for almost a year. I found Mystique through a luxury travel site. It was easy to plan trip details, mostly by emails which they always answer promptly. I knew I wanted to be in the town of Oia and looked at several options, including renting a "cave house" for the week. I must say that Santorini possesses a natural beauty unlike anything else in the world, so staying in a tent would have been spectacular! But Mystique added a new dimension to our stay. This place is special...very luxurious without being stuffy. It has tons of soul and what makes it so unique is a combination of the wonderful, genuinely friendly staff, the supreme location on the caldera, and the defining architecture/design of the hotel. The manager, Antonia, maintains the hotel at a level of polish that is only seen in a few of the world's top resorts. Maria was magnificent and looked after us as if we were family. Irini was a delight, full of energy and classic Greek hospitality. When we left, we felt as if we were saying goodbye to members of our own family. To us, it felt like special treatment but I know that they treat all guests this way. Mystique is a treasure. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K9safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Yes it's a beautiful place, yes the rooms are delightful and yes the view is outstanding - but the staff - beyond wonderful. Without exception they were delightful and attentive, from Antonia and her front of house colleagues to the porters, every single one was a joy. The hotel is lucky to have them and so were we. They made our holiday.
Being built into the cliff face space is at a premium and therefore the pool is on the small side (although nowhere near as small as one of the previous reviewers suggested) but you can't have everything and what it lacks in some areas it certainly makes up for in others - however it is not ideal for those with even slight mobility problems; there are a LOT of steps.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Designer_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Just back from the Mystique! We went to relax and were not disappointed! There are some steep steps down to the hotel (and up - every time you go out!) but we treated this as useful exercise and a price well worth paying for the stunning views. Our room was very comfortable with private terrace. We thought the service was excellent with all staff friendly and helpful. Contrary to another review, we thought the breakfasts were great! Lots of choice and everything freshly cooked and well presented and all served on the terrace looking at that fantastic view.. Dinners were very good too - although the prices meant we saved dining at the hotel restauarant for special occasions. We had a great stay and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tupaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Let me start off by saying that Mystique is a beautiful hotel - period. Perceptions, expectations and standards vary from person to person, and from country to country, with that this is my own personal account of my experiences at the hotel.

Service: Grade B. Antonia is thruly the heart and sole of this hotel, she is polite, engaging and you truely believe she wants you to have the best time you will ever have on the resort. She is a wealth of knowledge and she never steered us wrong with any recommendation she gave us. Everyone else was very polite and warm, thats very hard to find at a resort. But it missed on several points, when we made reservations reception never confirmed, never left reminders for appointment we made at the spa - I have been to many 5 star resorts and we were always left a note in our room regarding any reservation we had made, always a nice touch.

I could never tell wether or not the turn down service came, never quite the same every night - didn't understand it. They left water and a dark chocolate on the bed

Room: Grade B. We had the Spiritual Suite Room Number 2, beautiful view, nicely appointed but took a real dislike to the indoor jacuzzi,made the bathroom feel like you were in a tropical zone, they were able and supposed to turn the temp down from the outside but it never happened, we gave up on it and asked them to drain it because it started to make horrible noises at night, satellite TV was a joke, I still like to get some information from the outside world folks.

Food: Grade D. This is where it totally falls apart, a 5 star hotel should not serve this slop. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, over cooked omelets, poorly presented food for example my wife ordered a cheese platter all they did was slice up some cheese and throw it on a plate - they never even discribed what was presented, very poor. Had dinner the first night with two other couples we meet, our bill alone was over 300 euros worst meal I have ever had at that price hands down! After that we ate in Oia, and let me tell you the food was 100% better and at a fraction of the price. Ask Antonia for local restaurants trust me you won't be disappointed and you will be paying a fraction of the price. Room service was efficient, I have to give those ladies a grade of A+ the effort alone to bring you the food from the restaurant should be applauded.

We stayed at Cave Tagoo at Mykonos before we went to Mystique and the food was outstanding, if Mystique had their food this would be a terrific place to stay instead of an average grade. When I pay over $1,200/night I expect alot and for this reason I truely believe that this resort is overpriced

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fionakeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysOia, General Manager at Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and we would like to thank you for your great comments on our team.

Please allow us to make some notes on your concerns expressed.

As we would like to avoid misunderstandings, we need to note that all reservations for our guests are reconfirmed with restaurants, cruises, car rentals or anything else requested. In addition, we always deliver to our guests upon arrival, a written note with all activities booked, dates and times. The individual notes daily are indeed a nice touch and our Front Office Manager will make sure we apply this practice from now on.

Regarding the turn down service, it is the same we have been offering since the opening of the hotel in the 5 years of operation. Our maids change the towels that are left on the floor, make the bed, take out the empty dirty dishes, add any amenities missing like shampoo or shower gel etc, tidy the room and leave water and chocolate. We would truly appreciate your comments if any of those things were not done during your stay with us, as well as any further suggestions on anything extra you would like to receive.

In all rooms having Jacuzzi bathtubs, since the purpose is to have it with hot water, a little humidity is unavoidable. We always suggest to our guests having the bathroom door closed and either the window open or the fan on, working. Indeed when you requested to switch off the temperature, we did, but still 400 liters of water in the room create some sense of humidity if door is kept open.
Concerning the television channels, we do provide clear reception of CNN, BBC, Eurosport, and other European satellite channels. Usually these are adequate for our guests. Of course if we receive any request for another channel, we definitely try to set it so that our guests are satisfied and well informed.

Charisma Restaurant has received many great reviews for its food quality. Our breakfast especially, is the highlight for the majority of our guests. Regarding your 300 euro bill, this was mostly on beverages and only a part of it was on food. Many of our guests try different dishes on very large meals with a bill of 300 euro for food only and they stay very satisfied. The prices at Charisma are no higher than any other gourmet fine dining restaurant in Santorini. There are many nice traditional tavernas in Oia, but this type of food can not be compared, as it is a different concept. Of course since food as you mention is a very personal subject, we can always create dishes, that do not exist in our menus, according to our guests taste, flavors and cooking they prefer.

We truly wish we were advised of your concerns during your stay, so we could resolve any issue while you were here and make your stay even more comfortable. As we take our guests comments very seriously and we try to improve continuously, we would appreciate, if you would like, to send me an e-mail to my personal address antonia.veskou@mystique.gr, so we can discuss and receive any further suggestions you might have.

We wish we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Mystique and offer you an exceptional stay with enhanced service.

Kindest Regards,

Antonia Veskou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Initially we selected Mystique because we are SPG Platinum. The hotel looked lovely and the reviews were excellent. Upon arriving, it was obvious what a special place we were lucky enough to have chosen! The setting is intimate, the rooms are beautifully appointed, and the staff is at the level of a Ritz Carlton! Antonia runs an incredible operation. All of the employees are like family, very warm, welcoming, and discreet. Unfortunately we did not get upgraded - the hotel was at 100% capacity and I believe that there are only a couple of rooms that have the private outdoor jacuzzi, so we understand why this was not an option. But we had the most private Allure Suite (#9) - it was on the far right end of the property (facing the Caldera) and therefore we had no foot traffic in front of our suite, which we greatly appreciated. Our daily breakfast was terrific, a huge number of options, from eggs, to omelets, to fruit, crepes, yogurt, you name it. While we found the stairs to be challenging, we considered this to be our payment for eating great food - glad to work it off! So this was not unexpected, and not a problem. We did not want to dine at our restaurant at night, because we wanted to explore Fira and Oia towns, and we had fantastic meals every single night. Our favorite restaurant by far is 1500 BC in Fira - absolute luxury/decadance!!! As for Mystique, from the moment we arrived, until the last moments departing, we felt truly pampered, happy, and so very lucky to be there. Thank you Antonia, Irini, and Katerina!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJCSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.4 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#15 of 58 in Oia
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kirini Santorini
Kirini Santorini
#9 of 58 in Oia
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Oia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £389 - £1,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystique is a stylish property consisting of 39 suites and villas built exactly on Oia's most famous cliffs with dazzling views of clear blue crystalline waters towards the Volcano and the Aegean Caldera. 18 Km from Santorini Airport and 20 km from Athinios Port.All accommodations are a wondrous exploration of driftwood, a free spirited, untamed material that harness the elegance of simplicity. Enticing patterns carved into the walls. All suites open onto sea-facing terraces with relaxing daybeds. Cobblestone pathways lead to the plunge pool surrounded by sun beds for the utmost relaxation.Guests may experience an outdoor infinity-edge pool, the "Aura" Bar, the "Charisma" Gourmet Restaurant, "ASEA" the new artisan Japanese restaurant and the "Secret" Wine Cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystique Hotel Oia
Mystique Oia
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing