We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Yes, the pool is too small, there are a lot of steps to climb, and the prices may appear to be steep, but we loved this place. It is in a magical setting on a clifftop just outside the centre of Oia. The rooms spill down the side of the cliff and are in a traditional Santorini style. Each room has its own entrance from the many paths which criss cross the site. Ours was full of light but I think some rooms may have smaller windows; each room is quite individual. The design and decor are superb - very understated and restful and because it is set down from the road (which runs along the cliff top) there is no sound of traffic - and nothing to disturb the astonishing view of the towering canyon like cliffs of the caldera and, of course, the blue sea and blue sky. At night, it is equally beautful particularly in moonlight.
What makes this hotel even more special are the staff - the hotel owners should be careful lest the staff are snapped up by some big city hotel - the staff here are one in a million, charming, always friendly and incredibly helpful. Although there are only a small number of rooms, there is a very high ratio of staff to guests and the level of service is superb. Having stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, I can understand why it is not just the view which justifies the steep price but also the level of service and comfort. For that reason, notwithstanding the steep price per night, I think the hotel does offer value for money.
I note that some reviewers have suggested a lack of privacy on the terraces outside each room. Our room - called an Allure suite - (and I think most rooms have this feature) had its own terrace which was private in that it had its own gate from the path (the terrace was large enough for two sunbeds and a small table and chairs) but the terrace could be seen by staff and other guests passing by on the path. The topography is such that this is inevitable and it did not bother us.
We did not eat at the hotel except at breakfast (which is cooked to order and was very good except for the bread selection which is surprsingly poor ) but it was very relaxing to return for a drink before bedtime (the bar is tiny but the service here is top class).
We did not hire a car (which would have been a cheaper option) but took taxis to Perivolos beach where the hotel has some very comfortable beds on the beach and where there is a full cafe/bar service at the touch of a button. This beach is about 25 minutes distance from the hotel but we thought it was worth going that distance for the services available at Perivolos and because this beach offers very easy and safe bathing and generally a cooling beeze (it can get quite hot in Oia during the day).
As for the steps.......... well, it is difficult to see Oia without navigating a lot of steps and the worst steps are actually outside the hotel property(on the path down from the road) which are, by times, both very deep and yet of quite different depths, and very unevenly spread out. So, care is required - but then similar care is required in much of Oia (at least on the caldera side) and I think, ultimately steps are the price you have to pay for a good view of the caldera.
We left this hotel with regret and are keen to return, if we can, next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irishguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had a excellent stay. The service was wonderful. We really enjoyed the breakfast. Staff is very well trained and very polite .If the pool was a bit bigger it would have been even better. We strongly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Damianos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Mystique has a cheesy name so i was on guard when arriving. This hotel is not ok for those with knee injuries due to the stairway you must go up and down (though I appreciated the workout) but santorini in general is not for anyone with leg injuries so whatever. The staff at mystique is extremely friendly. from Dennis schlepping your bags, god bless, to krishna, konstantina, and the other gals in reception, to everyone working in the restaurant and poolside, the staff is so extremely friendly you won't be able to not smile. The rooms are very neat. It's like living in a cave and please take that as positively a possible. One issue was the showers which flooded the bathroom constantly, but with large bathrooms far from the living area, it was no biggie. Two other issues were the pool, thought it would be and think it still should be a lot larger and the other is not having access to the ocean which I believe no hotel on the caldera side has. The ocean just sits down the cliffside teasing you as you see the yachtys out there swimming... Oy.
Oia is beautiful and the sunset truly is as amazing as all the annoying people say it is. Skeptic turned an "I get it" right here people.

The would definitely stay here again if I ever visit santorini in the future.

Room Tip: Youre cliffside in a confined area like you are all over santorini, be happy with what you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyFy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

Amazing view, staff super friendly. Any problems at all! Brekfast was delicious, the pool is not small, perfect size. Our room was very nice and the iacuzzi is fantastic and very clean. Don't miss the experience!
I got back today and I alteady miss there.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrtgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed for four nights from 9-13 July in an Allure suite. Airport transfers and arrival worked well.

The location of Mystique is breathtaking, hugging the cliffside as it does and boasting a stunning panoramic view across the ocean. It's also ideally located for the attractions of Oia, just a short walk away.

Despite its proximity to the action, the hotel is calm and peaceful and shielded from the hub-bub, traffic and crowds. Throughout, the place has a cool vibe which matches the cool cream and white colours of the property. While on the subject of cool, we loved the music playing around the pool area and the restaurant - so relaxing. Regretably this calm was shattered a few times by the screams of younger guests. We thought there was a 14+ rule here but if that's right it was not observed during our stay.

We really enjoyed breakfast at Mystique - a very civilised affair with great choices selected from an interesting menu and served to order. Food quality was good - we enjoyed meals at lunchtime here too - but service, although smiling, was not always very slick.

There were some nice touches in the suite, like a daily fruit bowl and a fun cave-like shower but in other respects we were disappointed. The bedroom area was tiny with the bed sides touching both walls. The only way to get into it was to crawl in from the foot of the bed. The living area was a fair size but contained just one sofa - there was plenty of room for another chair which would have improved comfort. There was no coffee machine or music-playing facility which surprised us. Most disappointing was the small ocean-view terrace in front of the suite which just had room for two sunbeds. It was really a tight squeeze to get around them to enter the suite and there was a very small corner jacuzzi which added little and took up valuable terrace space. Housekeeping in the suite was erratic and absent-minded. Every morning and evening something would be missed or forgotten - not a big deal ultimately, but surprising.

The biggest let-downs for us were firstly the lack of privacy between suite terraces, and then secondly the hotel pool area. Between suites there's no shielding to speak of and guests are walking right through your terrace area, or above and below it, throughout the day. And the hotel pool - it's really tiny - apparently because of restrictions associated with the location's World Heritage status although several adjacent hotels and properties have done much better pool-wise. We didn't enjoy the unattractive block of sunnbeds crammed in alongside the tiny pool. There were an insufficient number of sunbeds for the guests who wanted to use them during our stay, and the arguments we one day witnessed among other guests about space here shocked us.

We paid nearly Eur600 a night for our suite. Although Mystique has much to offer, we just didn't feel it earned this - particularly because of the pool, the lack of privacy and space, and the inconsistent service levels.

So all-in-all mixed feeleings I guesss. We were glad we stayed, but with hindsight two nights would have been enough for us to enjoy the stunning view and the cliffside living experience, and then we could have moved on somewhere with more space and privacy. Everyone is different of course, but these are things we particulalrly value. I should also say that the hotel was totally full at the time of our visit (and the village of Oia was badly over-run) - perhaps this might be a better experience outside of peak season?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MystiqueOia, General Manager at Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Mystique. We hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience Mystique is renowned for. At the same time, we were concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.
Your kind comments regarding our housekeeping department have been promptly addressed and further action has been undertaken. We also regret that you were not able to enjoy the relaxation that Caldera views offer due to the lack of privacy in your suite’s terrace. Unfortunately all hotels that are built on the cliffs have this characteristic, because of the panoramic architecture. We are sure that our front office would do their utmost to fulfill your request for a more private suite, in case you had advised them during your stay.
As you are already aware Mystique is built on a typical-island style design and especially in accordance to the local architecture and all rules and regulations applied for Oia in order to maintain its beauty .Please be certain that your comments on further enhancing the hotel’s sun deck area will be taken well into consideration for the next season.

Thank you for your excellent comments for our breakfast menu! Although, rest assured, every point you have raised in your feedback has been taken very seriously, in order to improve ourselves.

Once again, thank you for posting your feedback and thereby assisting us to further enhance the quality of our service and facilities.

We do hope that the misgivings you have experienced will not deter you from returning to Mystique in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Markos E. Tzamalis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Wonderful hotel and special thanks to the staff for the room upgrade. The view is breathtaking. We were there for 3 nights in July and the weather was very warm and the stairs were a bit of a challenge. The staff was so warm we felt like we were visiting friends especially Dora and Aggela. The reception staff was very professional and helpful with any request. We did find Oia very busy with tours more so than a few years ago but the village still holds its magic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights for our 2nd wedding anniversary. Found it absolutely amazing and on par with the luxury hotels of the world. The room itself was good but not exceptional, however, the view and service were outstanding.

We arrived early at 7am and as the hotel had availability, they put us in the room immediately. We noted an issue with the room and it was dealt with promptly and we were moved to another upgraded room. Note after looking at both the basic and the better rooms, I would highly recommend going for the better ones as they were significantly above the basic.

The location was perfect for relaxing and spending most if the time at the resort. My husband asked for some flowers on the day of our anniversary and the staff went out of their way to procure a beautiful bouquet in less than 12 hours. Also, knowing we were dining that night in the hotel, they set up a special table by the pool unprompted. All our requests were attended to with professionalism and care.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is after the best of the best in Santorini. My husband and I could not have had a more perfect wedding anniversary.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Icie_lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#14 of 56 in Oia
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#18 of 56 in Oia
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Oia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £353 - £880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystique is a stylish property consisting of 39 suites and villas built exactly on Oia's most famous cliffs with dazzling views of clear blue crystalline waters towards the Volcano and the Aegean Caldera. 18 Km from Santorini Airport and 20 km from Athinios Port.All accommodations are a wondrous exploration of driftwood, a free spirited, untamed material that harness the elegance of simplicity. Enticing patterns carved into the walls. All suites open onto sea-facing terraces with relaxing daybeds. Cobblestone pathways lead to the plunge pool surrounded by sun beds for the utmost relaxation.Guests may experience an outdoor infinity-edge pool, the "Aura" Bar, the "Charisma" Gourmet Restaurant, "ASEA" the new artisan Japanese restaurant and the "Secret" Wine Cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystique Hotel Oia
Mystique Oia
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing