We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazingly beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazingly beautiful”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

You'll get a work-out with all of the steps, but it's well worth it. The caldera views from the Mystique are simply breath-taking and has to be one of the most beautiful places in the world.

My wife and i stayed in Santorini on our honeymoon as the final stop on our trip. We loved the Mystique, it is luxurious in every way possible.

Positives:
- Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful
- The rooms are spectacular and unique to the location. We literally stayed in a luxurious cave! We loved the bathrooms.
- The breakfast was GREAT
- Typical Starwoods service. We were greeted immediately upon arrival, and although our suite wasn't ready because we arrived earlier than they expected - they provided a temporary room for us to stay in until it was ready. That was a wonderful surprise.
- The pool and day beds were great.

Negatives:
- While the service was great, there were a few issues. We arranged a semi-private sailing tour through the hotel, which was WONDERFUL. With that said, they didn't advise my wife - although we spoke to at least 3 different hotel staff members about the tour - about proper attire to wear for the tour, although everyone else on the tour was advised through their hotels. We felt certain interactions with the hotel staff were a little on the amateur side. The youthfulness of the hotel was nice, but it was noticed (and we're 31 & 27) because of lack of experience at times.
- My wife and i expected an exceptional dining experience after staying at the Grand Bretagne in Athens and the dinner at Asea and Charisma were just average. For the prices we expected to be blown away and we weren't at all. The views couldn't even make up for it. The wait staff were attentive and polite though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottp990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    79
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
44
411
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived at Mystique without any luggage. (Yes, this was the same trip where we stayed at the Vedema Resort on Santorini and also had no luggage.) Anisa Bodeci, the Front Office Manager, could not have been more helpful or generous. She arranged for us to have two different, unbelievably gorgeous rooms (including a luxurious villa with maximum privacy) and she took the time to personally look after us to make sure that our stay wasn't spoiled because of our lost luggage.

Mystique is one of the many resorts on Santorini that drip over the edge of the caldera like icing on a cake. It is superbly maintained and has an excellent, caring staff. The views across the caldera of Santorini are gorgeous. We thought the room decor was refreshing and very pleasant. We were surprised and pleased by the huge, in-room pools in the rooms we were given. The villa also had a small, outdoor pool. The main outdoor pools offered spectacular views of the caldera.

Because we felt the resort was being so generous with our rooms, we ate all of our meals at the resort. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The waitstaff were all helpful and courteous.

Yes, there are a LOT of steps to navigate at Mystique and, yes, some rooms are very close to the private paths that work their way through the resort. These are not reasons to avoid this beautiful resort. The helpful staff will do the hard work of carrying your luggage up and down the steps while you get get the benefit of some aerobic exercise! If you have limited mobility, however, this probably is not the place for you.

It is a short walk from Mystique into the centre of Oia. We felt that it was a good thing that the resort wasn't right in the centre of town as Oia gets a lot of visitors. It was just the right distance to provide proximity and yet some quiet. We greatly enjoyed hiking the donkey trail in the direction of Fira one morning. There were beautiful views all along the way.

If Mystique fits into your budget, we highly recommend this resort for its location, lovely rooms, and its very helpful and pleasant staff. We had an outstanding stay, accentuated by a spectacular full moon!

Room Tip: The lower down the cliff your room is, the more privacy you will have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveller1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

in the room the floor was never cleaned. sheets were never changed. 2x we never received our wake up calls. there is no gym or twin bed accommodation for anyone as shown on their website. the room had a jacuzzi which was cold and had scum on top of the water. a plumber and electrician came on the first day to fix the electrical outlets and jacuzzi both not working so our first day in greece was spent inside out room explaining all these issues to the repair men. there is no access to any beach or bay on the ground floor of the hotel. this is far from a 5 star hotel.the stair down to our room was not lit and I feel and scraped both knees. the same bloody sheets were on 5 days later. i had to remove my sheets for them to know that for the last 2 days we wanted new sheets.

Room Tip: we had an allure suite which is supposed to be the biggest and best but had a room w/o gym equipment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MystiqueOia, Operation Manager at Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Wendy W,

Please accept warm greetings from all of us at the Mystique!

First of all let us thank you for choosing the Mystique for your stay while in Santorini as well as for the time dedicated to write a review.

Allow me to reply to some of points raised in your kind review:

Allure suite you have booked is great suite type featuring indoor Jacuzzi, living room area as well as bedroom. Even though it is, as I said, a great suite type there are 3 more level of suite types above Allure Suite like Wet Allure Suite, Spiritual Suite and Villas , where both Spiritual suites and Villas have incorporated gym.

As of the moment of your arrival we were receiving from you information about your booking, that were in total opposite with the information we had in our files (i.e that you have booked room with private pool) and as you know, we gave our best to meet most of them (i.e like special request to have cheese platter as welcome in addition to fruit platter). Unfortunately we were not able to upgrade you into Wet Allure Suite due to limited or better say no availability in that room type. Even though there was no hotel liability, as a gesture, we have provided you with a complimentary dinner in order to make your first impression better than it was.

Regarding twin beds, as already explained to you, twin beds are subject to availability and as our hotel guests are usually couples, we have a limited number of twins in the property, but a twin accommodation has never been confirmed for your reservation.

Jacuzzi in your room was in perfect order and clean, since every day during servicing of the room we pay special attention to Jacuzzis. Furthermore we have totally emptied it and filled it up again several times during your stay.

Regarding A/C, I am very sorry that you did not find cooling power as per your expectations and it was really the first time that someone has asked for 3 fans to be placed in the room ! As you know very well, our maintenance was in your room several times on your first day in order to bring fans and install them all over the room. We do not have plumber in the hotel neither there was a need for a plumber.

Regarding sheet changing, I have already kindly explained you - during one of our many conversations – sheets were replaced even though you have not placed a card on the bed (due to participation in green program, we are leaving to our valuable guests a choice whether they wish or not the bed sheets to be changed and on which days they wish sheets to be changed). Our housekeeping associates have noticed stains on sheets and replaced them and did the same next day when again stains were noticed on sheets (and card wasn't again on the bed). Floor was regularly cleaned and our Housekeeping Manager was personally inspecting your suite, as all our suites are cleaned daily, something that is obligatory in a 5 star hotel like ours.
I am very sorry you hurted your leg but if I remember well this happened at some other location and not at the hotel.

Dear Wendy W, all of us here at the Mystique are dedicated to providing the top-notch service to our valuable guests and we are always willing and ready to make an extra mile in order to provide our guests with indigenous and memorable experience and we are sorry you did not recognize any of our efforts to meet and exceed your expectations.

Hoping we will be having a pleasure of hosting you again, I remain,

With kind regards,

Dragana Kakouratou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Mystique is without a doubt a beautiful property with fantastic vistas from anywhere on the property, but there are a few things that would make me think twice before returning.

There is a massive whirlpool tub in the bathroom that generates heat and humidity and makes getting dresswd, blow drying hair or doing much of anything extremely unpleasant. Secondly, the friendliness of the staff is spotty with some being friendly and others appearing out of place in a hotel of this quality.
The food is very good but the wine list is weak. The spa treatment I received there was the worst massage I have ever had. It was very amateurish. Finally, the steps are steep and a bit challenging, however being in shape made the climb easier. I'm sure there are some who would find them very difficult though.
Overall, the bang for the buck was not there, the Mystique, while beautiful, is way overpriced. I would like to see it improve because it is such a lovely place!

Room Tip: The rooms appear to all be similar. I cannot offer any tips in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Located on entrance of Oia area, which means you need to take a long walk to enjoy whole Oia. But maybe that's the only little negative elements of the beautiful hotel. Room is amazing with a giant bath tub. Unique cave room is romantic and the view is even more. For who wants to spend more than a few days, this may be the excellent choice.
WIFI was terrible.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Think azure blue ocean.....think white molded stone suites...and then throw in the volcanic background. Simply gorgeous. A magical hotel carved into volcanic rock. Upscale clean line beautiful rooms. Unusual and beautiful decor. The views are everywhere. This is a small hotel consisting of suites spread amongst the rocks overlooking the ocean. First class service. We had an issue with checking in because the people before us didnt want to leave. We were whisked away to another beautiful suite with their heartfelt apologies and they sent us a bottle of wine. This hotel gave us a wonderful first experience in Santorini. I highly recommend. Alert.....there are many steep steps to walk up and down to this hotel and many others alike due to the landscape of Santorini.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Ours did have an exercise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Of all the countries and cities in the world we have traveled, we can truly say The Mystique is our most favorite hotel. Between the unique location, the unique layout and the truly genuine and friendly staff, it is a place to remember. The stairs are a bit steep but if you are fit, you should try it.

Room Tip: Take the honeymoon suite. Oversized indoor Jacuzzi with windows opening over the cliffs and view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
930 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#18 of 56 in Oia
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
3.0 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Oia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystique is a stylish property consisting of 39 suites and villas built exactly on Oia's most famous cliffs with dazzling views of clear blue crystalline waters towards the Volcano and the Aegean Caldera. 18 Km from Santorini Airport and 20 km from Athinios Port.All accommodations are a wondrous exploration of driftwood, a free spirited, untamed material that harness the elegance of simplicity. Enticing patterns carved into the walls. All suites open onto sea-facing terraces with relaxing daybeds. Cobblestone pathways lead to the plunge pool surrounded by sun beds for the utmost relaxation.Guests may experience an outdoor infinity-edge pool, the "Aura" Bar, the "Charisma" Gourmet Restaurant, "ASEA" the new artisan Japanese restaurant and the "Secret" Wine Cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystique Hotel Oia
Mystique Oia
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing